Video Information


  • Member: Beowulf
  • Studio: Hype-Odermic Studios
  • Title: Dead To The World (The Story Of The Antichrist)
  • Premiered: 2005-09-10
  • Categories:
  • Songs:
    • Marilyn Manson Antichrist Superstar
    • Marilyn Manson Antichrist Superstar (live)
    • Marilyn Manson Count to Six and Die
    • Marilyn Manson Fundamentally Loathsome
    • Marilyn Manson GodEatGod
    • Marilyn Manson Great Big White World
    • Marilyn Manson Inauguration Of The Mechanical Christ
    • Marilyn Manson Irresponsible Hate Anthem
    • Marilyn Manson Kinderfeld
    • Marilyn Manson Mechanical Animals
    • Marilyn Manson Mr. Superstar
    • Marilyn Manson The Reflecting God
    • Marilyn Manson The Reflecting God (live)
  • Anime:
  • Participation:
  • Comments: **This video would be rated R for violence, brutality, gore, brief nudity, adult language, and overall adult content. This video isn't intended for anyone under 17 years old. This is my disclaimer.**

    #Lyrics to the video can be found here:

    Dead To The World (the story of the antichrist), was released on September 10th.

    You should download this video if:

    1. You've liked anything I've ever made.
    2. You've hated everything I've ever made.
    3. You've seen it all.

    My 13th video, an action/horror/character profile. This video is a story about weakness, alienation, and the abuse of power. It is an interpretation of Marilyn Manson's "Story of Adam" which is told over his albums Antichrist Superstar, Mechanical Animals, and Holywood respectively. I worked on this video for the better part of two years. It is by far my best video to date and my most successful creative undertaking yet.

    Story Summary: A young man feels weak and disconnected from the world. He turns his isolation into rage and grows into something more powerful than he could ever imagine.

    I started working on this video immediately after I completed Hail To The Thief. I've always been a huge Marilyn Manson fan and have wanted to make a video with his music for as long as I can remember. In the winter of 2003, I discovered the over arching story told in all 3 albums and was fascinated. I immersed myself in the music, I read all the lyrics cover to cover, I went to countless fan web sites with their own volumes of interpretations on what the story meant. I spent two months doing research and compiling ideas. This video attempts to tell in 25 minutes, my version of the story.

    The intent of this video was originality. I wanted to make something original. I wanted to make something I had never seen before. I wanted to challenge people's views of what a music video is and what a music video can be. I wanted to create something larger than life, something that could grab a jaded audience by the balls and not let them go until its over. But most importantly, I wanted to see the end product.

    As for the actual product itself, the story is split up into 3 cycles with each cycle having 3 parts for a total of 9 short videos. One of the big technical challenges of this video was making all these different songs flow together seamlessly. Sometimes this is accomplished with just a fade in the audio but other times there are creative ways of transitioning that are employed to keep things fresh. Pacing was also a big issue in this video. I wanted to take the audience on a journey of ups and downs that would eventually spiral out of control into a climax. The pacing and arrangement of the segments were tinkered with for 18 months until a final track list was decided.

    Another very important and more pertinent aspect of the video are the lyrics. This story is told through the lyrics and as such, they are integral to the progression of the video. On certain parts of the video, Manson's unintelligible vocals (as well as his ridiculous vernacular) make the lyrical impact of the segment very hard to absorb. I urge everyone to please read all the lyrics.

    This video will require many, many, MANY, viewings to soak in all the information. Don't feel urged to figure it all out, and don't feel like you need to form an opinion after you see it. There is a lot of meat on this file so please give it a chance. Try to watch it on its own terms and have as little expectation as possible. This isn't an anime music video as you've come to expect them. I know its very long, but the minutes fly bye, trust me.

    I tried out tons of new things in this video. Different editing styles, different effects, and most of all, sound editing. I messed with audio levels, used live versions of the songs, played audio backwards, added subliminal messaging, and added sound effects. It was a ton of fun and a great learning experience. Text also plays a large part in the video and I tried out various ways of incorporating it which was a lot of fun.

    I would love to hear what everyone thinks about this video. Your interpretation of the story is just as important as mine and I'd be very interested to hear what everyone gets out of it.

    *Winner of "Best Horror/Terror" in the 2005 Viewer's Choice Awards
    *Nominated for Best Horror in the Professional Contest at AWA 11
    *Nominated for Best Overall in the Professional Contest at AWA 11
    *Nominated for Best Artistic Endeavor in the Professional Contest at AWA 11

Opinions (60)

  • Orig
  • Visual
  • Sound
  • Synch
  • Lip
  • Effects
  • Effort
  • Re-View
  • Overall
  • 10.00
  • 9.88
  • 10.00
  • 9.92
  • 9.77
  • 10.00
  • 9.25
  • 9.88