Frame Rate Question!

This forum is for video and audio help and discussion.

Frame Rate Question!

Postby Cosmos Studio » Tue Jul 16, 2002 1:29 pm

Hey,
I'm new to ripping DVD's, but I recently completed a whole DVD rip, I used DVDtoAVI to convert those files to an editible format in Premiere (with less hassle anyways), so now I have a nice playable format with a frame rate of 29.97, which I didn't think would cause a problem. Now, I don't know much about frame rates, but I figured higher meant better quality. Anyways, to my point, when I use these files with a high frame rate in Premiere, it simply doesn't want to work. Very very slowly (to the point W-XP is saying "not responding"), I finally figured out that with a file about 23.9 (whatever ^^ ...) frame rate, it wasn't being slow at all. Now, to my actual question, would it hurt anything to take these files from 29.97 down to 23? And also, could I simply work with files encoded to 23 and then when exporting them out of Premiere (as the amv) and move them back up to 29.97? Any help on this issue would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
~Cosmos
User avatar
Cosmos Studio
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2001

Postby Zarxrax » Tue Jul 16, 2002 4:19 pm

Read ermacs guide, it explains all about that sort of thing. If thats not enough, check out the video guides over at doom9.org, im sure they will have more than you even want to know.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Postby Cosmos Studio » Tue Jul 16, 2002 5:58 pm

Yep, I've looked around, but I can't find this question's answer exactly, could some one please give me a straight answer?
Thanks,
~Cosmos
User avatar
Cosmos Studio
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2001

Postby Zarxrax » Tue Jul 16, 2002 8:38 pm

The answer is in the guides. I cant simply answer your question, because to fully answer it, it would take the length of a good guide, and as some are already written, Im not going to write another just for you. I can tell you that everything you think you know about framerate is flat out incorrect, so forget it and read a guide.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Postby jbone » Tue Jul 16, 2002 8:43 pm

As Zarxrax said, you need to learn about the mechanics of video in order to understand what you want to ask - because you're not asking the right question.

Read through the guides to learn the process of doing things - *not* to find an answer to a question. It is through the process of learning that you will find your answers.
User avatar
jbone
 
Joined: 12 Jan 2002
Location: DC, USA
Status: Single. (Lllladies.)

Postby Cosmos Studio » Tue Jul 16, 2002 10:49 pm

Okay, I'll continue reading then. Thanks for the help ^^
~Cosmos
User avatar
Cosmos Studio
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2001

Postby Zarxrax » Wed Jul 17, 2002 7:34 am

To be more specific though, what you want to learn about is:
1. How NTSC video is field-based, and how the fields work.
2. How to perform Inverse Telecine (IVTC) To reconstruct the original frames from the given fields.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Postby turboneko » Wed Jul 17, 2002 8:48 am

Oh well...

The framerate is not usually an indicator of quality unless it is under 24 fps (frames per second). There are generally three framerates you will encounter more often:

1) 29.97. It's the framerate of NTSC video. NTSC is used in USA and Japan so, anything coming from these places, will be at this framerate.

2) 25. It's PAL and is used in Europe. If you live in US you probably won't see this thing in your life :P

3) 24. This is the actual rate at which movies are shot and projected in the cinemas. Since you will agree that 24 is different from 29.97 and 25 there should be a "trick" to make all this things coherent between them.

At this point I would suggest you to read a little bit about inverse telecine to understand what this process is about.

The best suggestion I can give you is, if your footage was first shot at "Film" framerate (24 fps), to inverse telecine it before editing in Premiere: this will give you the best quality possible.

I still have to understand why Premiere was hanging while you were using 29.97 footage.... hmmm....
You should never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.
User avatar
turboneko
 
Joined: 23 Feb 2001
Location: Foxboro, MA

Postby Cosmos Studio » Wed Jul 17, 2002 10:00 am

That helps a bunch, thanks so much! As for Premiere not liking the 29.97fpm, I have no idea what's wrong. More than likely it's because I'm on a cheapo computer that's about 700mhz and 260mb RAM, most editors recommend 1.3ghz or better *sigh* ...Anyways, thanks for the help ^^
~Cosmos
User avatar
Cosmos Studio
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2001

Postby jbone » Wed Jul 17, 2002 10:30 am

Cosmos Studio wrote:That helps a bunch, thanks so much! As for Premiere not liking the 29.97fpm, I have no idea what's wrong. More than likely it's because I'm on a cheapo computer that's about 700mhz and 260mb RAM, most editors recommend 1.3ghz or better *sigh* ...Anyways, thanks for the help ^^
~Cosmos


Nope, that's not it. Many people edit with things agin to a P2-450 with as little as 128MB RAM. Hells, your computer's just a little slower than mine, though I have more RAM.
User avatar
jbone
 
Joined: 12 Jan 2002
Location: DC, USA
Status: Single. (Lllladies.)

Postby Cosmos Studio » Wed Jul 17, 2002 3:52 pm

I have no idea then. LoL ...My computer just doesn't like me suppose. I've tried installing video cards in it three times now (three totally diff. cards) and they all messed up my system and I gave up after three weeks of trying (per card). ^^;
~Cosmos
User avatar
Cosmos Studio
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2001

Postby jbone » Wed Jul 17, 2002 4:25 pm

It's not a function of your video card, either. The things your seeing are in the video itself; no amount of video hardware will change the data encoded within the video.
User avatar
jbone
 
Joined: 12 Jan 2002
Location: DC, USA
Status: Single. (Lllladies.)

Postby Cosmos Studio » Wed Jul 17, 2002 10:19 pm

Yeah, I know that. I was making the fact that my computer hates me. I don't have a video card because this cheapo computer won't take one ^^;
~Cosmos
User avatar
Cosmos Studio
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2001

Postby jbone » Wed Jul 17, 2002 10:32 pm

You obviously have a video card, or else you wouldn't be able to see enough on your computer screen to post here in the forum. :-D
User avatar
jbone
 
Joined: 12 Jan 2002
Location: DC, USA
Status: Single. (Lllladies.)

Postby TaranT » Thu Jul 18, 2002 2:44 am

Swapping video cards takes some care, and a complete OS rebuild is usually a good idea.

Whatever it is with your PC, Cosmos, you can learn more about this framerate cra...uhhh...stuff by reading Adobe's Technical Guides. They're here:

http://www.adobe.com/support/techguides/premiere/main.html

******
TaranT
 
Joined: 16 May 2001

Next

Return to Video & Audio Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron