oh man(premiere pro)

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

oh man(premiere pro)

Postby thebattosai » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:00 pm

Hey, can any 1 help me with this problem??? PLZ?
i have premiere pro . I import a naruto episode and bring it to the source monitor. It plays....
i select what i want and then carry it to the timeline. I play the time line...and to my surprise...all i get is static and/or a blank screen...:O wats up with that...?
hey..its the battosai...alright:S
thebattosai
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006

Postby Kariudo » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:06 pm

this belongs in video software help.

to answer your question, your fansubs are encoded with either divx or xvid, which is bad for editing.
you need to re-encode your episodes (or take small clips) with VirtualDub(/Mod) and encode them with a lossless codec
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Re: oh man(premiere pro)

Postby godix » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:07 pm

thebattosai wrote:Hey, can any 1 help me with this problem??? PLZ?
i have premiere pro . I import a naruto episode and bring it to the source monitor. It plays....
i select what i want and then carry it to the timeline. I play the time line...and to my surprise...all i get is static and/or a blank screen...:O wats up with that...?


The bolded part is the problem. About six months ago one of Adobes programmers visited the site. Overall he was impressed by what he saw us doing but he did mention there are two huge problems with the AMV community. So he took it upon himself to fix those problems. A short while later Premiere was given a stealth update that will make it impossible to use Naruto or DBZ in it. I still worship the ground that guy walks on. I might suggest using WMM instead.

Or, alternatively, you could just use DVD rips instead of downloaded footage.
Image
User avatar
godix
a disturbed member
 
Joined: 03 Aug 2002

Postby thebattosai » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:08 pm

but it played be4...it worked be4 with the same eps...:S...but its not working now...

y'd it work b4?
hey..its the battosai...alright:S
thebattosai
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006

Postby Kariudo » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:12 pm

it can play in media players, but that doesn't mean it'l work in editing programs
just re-encode your fansubs or get the dvds and follow the guides
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby thebattosai » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:16 pm

re-encoding takes up SOOO much space...n i dont have much of it to spare...guess i need 2 upgrade drives:S
hey..its the battosai...alright:S
thebattosai
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006

Postby JaddziaDax » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:25 pm

choose Lagarith as your codec in Vdub, and use these buttons to mark the beginning and ending of "clips" and make small pieces...

Image

also go to stream --> Stream List --> and click the button that says disable stream... this will kill your audio...

if lagarith is still too big for your tastes (you ovbiously dont care about quality so why not?) use a MPEG4 codec its still useable and fairly decent :/
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Postby x_rex30 » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:32 pm

JaddziaDax wrote:choose Lagarith
yay! people are finally switching to this! the "must have huffyuv" instructions for meps is just silly.
User avatar
x_rex30
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2001

Postby Moonie » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:41 pm

Divx and Xvid sometimes will work in editing programs then later on it stops working.
Most of the time if you use it it will run slow, crash the program or just show a black screen.
I've made an amv completly with divx clips in the past and it was a pain >_<
Your best choice is to use an loosless codec for your clips.
so...

To get your clips to work you need to re-encode them in a program like virtualdub and use a codec like Huffyuv or Lagarith
Its best to encode only the clips you need insted of whole episodes since those codecs can make HUGE files
you can download virtual dub here
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/virt ... p?download
Since you are using downloaded episodes at some point you may get files in MKV or OGM format. For those you will need virtualdub mod to convert them
http://virtualdubmod.sourceforge.net/

I used these screenshots to show someone how to convert dvd vobs but they can be used here for this.
The screenshots are from virtualdub mod but what you are doing can be done in regular virtual dub

run virtualdub mod (or virtualdub) and open the video file wherever it is on your hard drive
Image

After it opens go to "video" then select "compression" and select a codec like Huffy
Image

You can use the buttons like shown below to select scenes you want to encode.
Once you select a scene go to "file" then save it as an avi.
Image

Thats basically what you have to do! ^_^

*drinks sake*
ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Moonie
Give me some candy!
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Garland, Tx
Status: HP:11900 Strength: 940 Gold:60000 MP:1200

Postby CodeZTM » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:42 pm

Really? I like HuffyYUV. I guess for my next project, I need to require Lagarith or HuffyYUV. Hmm... Anyway, I had the same exact problem with my MEP I just completed. Like they have already said before, you need to take the segments into VirtualDUB and re-compress them as either Lagarith or HuffyYUV (or other lossless codecs). This will get you better quality, and make things smoother.
User avatar
CodeZTM
Spin Me Round
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Status: Flapping Lips

Postby JaddziaDax » Sun Nov 05, 2006 4:08 pm

Lagarith has pretty much the same properties as huffy EXCEPT that it makes SMALLER FILES than huffy... this guy was complaining that the files are too big which is why i said to use it...

i think the problem we are going to encounter on this thread is "too many cooks in the kitchen" :/
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Postby thebattosai » Sun Nov 05, 2006 4:26 pm

thnx alot...u've all been a real help.
but 1 question....how much space do u have on ur comp???....i have about 10 gig free on my External hardrive and about 40 gig free on my C drive....
thats y i was complaining about big files....
what about you guys...? how much space u have..:S
hey..its the battosai...alright:S
thebattosai
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006

Postby CodeZTM » Sun Nov 05, 2006 4:32 pm

Careful.. This is going to start an off-topic speech. But I usually have around 181 GB of free space on my main drive (before I start getting footage), and about 70 GB of free space on my secondary drive (before I start getting footage). I suggest you go out and purchase a larger hard drive (I know, I know, money issues) if you are going to be a hard core AMV maker (or if you video edit in school for classes like I do).
User avatar
CodeZTM
Spin Me Round
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Status: Flapping Lips

Postby Kariudo » Sun Nov 05, 2006 4:41 pm

if you take small clips in virtualdub(/mod) it'l help.

I have an 80GB HD (on my laptop) and a 120GB external.
my clips for my last project took up 6GB (~340 clips, averaging 1 second each)

if you already have the files (d2v if you're using dvd footage, probably xvid avi for fansubs) then you don't need much more space for the clips.
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby thebattosai » Sun Nov 05, 2006 5:11 pm

Well...i made a decision. I'm gonna buy a new hardrive for more space but that wont b for a little while:S.
i remember someone said something about using mpeg4 but the quality isnt as good. Well i'm gona have to use mpeg4 untill the new hardrive but one question.....
i c the mpeg4 codec when i'm using vdub but its xvid. Is ther another one i can use? because wen i encode it using this mpeg 4 it dosent work in premiere.

is ther another mpeg4 codec i can use that isnt xvid :S
hey..its the battosai...alright:S
thebattosai
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006

Next

Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron