exporting problem

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

exporting problem

Postby Scotty_was_Taken » Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:12 pm

hey im trying to export and encode my bleach video but not matter what settings i use theres a problem

when i use the high definition tv settings the shape is all wrong and theres huge spaces on the left and right of the video. if i try and change the resolution an error message states "an unknown error has occoured" great help there...

im used the windows media video 9 codec. should i have used another? im playin it in the newest media player.

so i do the wm9 NTSC and the quality is just utter crap no matter what i set the resolution to.

ive tried about 10 different configurations and either the quality is great, but its the wrong shape. or i get the right shape but the quality is terrible.

it takes my computer like 15 minutes to export the video, and waiting 15 minutes 10 times in a row gets very annoying, especially if each time the resulting video sucks. so if anyone has any tips at all that can save me a day id much appreciate it

thanks
scotty

p.s. one of the settings put the video out of timing with the audio... wth is with that???
i only like naruto so far...im new to anime... what else is good?
Scotty_was_Taken
 
Joined: 17 May 2006

Postby Purge » Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:26 pm

what program are you using?

read the "Exporting Your AMV Ready For Compression" of this guide and it might solve your prob:) http://www.animemusicvideos.org/guides/avtech/
User avatar
Purge
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Location: Under Aus

Postby Kariudo » Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:28 pm

bash, Purge beat me to it, but I have things to add too...

what program are you using?
what are the project and export settings?
what are the properties of the footage you're using (resolution, NTSC/PAL, etc)?

all I can say right now is that you should probably export using Huffyuv, or uncompressed. If neither of those are options, try exporting DV or DV-avi...pretty much whatever is avaliable (if you can't do any of this...export with the absolute highest setting you can)

you can then do your final encode in virtualdub(/mod)
following these steps
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Scotty_was_Taken » Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:12 am

heya, thanks for your help

im using premievere pro and i followed that guide purge game me to the letter. AWESOME QUALITY love it, awesome everything... EXCEPT!

now the video is half the speed it should be. i followed the guide exactly.

the file wont play in winamp, and when i play it in media player it says i need the file extentsion. shouldnt windows media player already have that file extension?

thanks for any more help you can provide
scotty
i only like naruto so far...im new to anime... what else is good?
Scotty_was_Taken
 
Joined: 17 May 2006

Postby Scotty_was_Taken » Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:14 am

sorry but i couldnt find an edit post button

i know i said the time is delayed, but if i skip ahead to halfway throughthe video, the time is in synch again when it starts but slowly falls behind. maybe my computers too slow to run it raw?

its a 3500 athlon 512 ram and some video card. gforce a6800 128 meg.

thanks again...and why no edit button?
i only like naruto so far...im new to anime... what else is good?
Scotty_was_Taken
 
Joined: 17 May 2006

Postby Purge » Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:21 am

lol - not the required info again

what codec did you use for your vid file?

If its huffyuv/lagarith/uncompresed then slow playback in media players can be expected.

You wanna do this if thats the case:

Kariudo wrote:you can then do your final encode in virtualdub(/mod)
following these steps
User avatar
Purge
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Location: Under Aus

Postby Kariudo » Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:23 am

no edit button because of the potential abuse of it.

anyway...export uncompressed RGB
premiere pro has issues with exporting...and the only thing that works consitently is uncompressed export (vdub is better anyway)

this will be a big file, ~5GB big and you will not be able to play it (in realtime at least)
your specs look fine (I assume Athlon 64 3500)

then follow the steps in the guide that you were linked to by both Purge and me
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Scotty_was_Taken » Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:21 am

i am going crazy

i expoerted it uncompressed by the way, sorry about that purge.

ok so i exporeted it, and followed all the steps which took over 1 hour to do perfectly... and i finaly think im nearly finished, and when i click save in virtual dub it says... take a guess

"virtual dub has encountered a problem and needs to close. sorry for the invconveniance" send error report?

every time it says this... i feel like this video is taking every possible turn away from completion just to completly piss me off. i duno what to do anymore im goin nuts i swear. so much wasted time. ive spent like 1 week just making the first 30 seconds of this video, and if it doesnt work im gana be a sad sad panda!

gah.
i only like naruto so far...im new to anime... what else is good?
Scotty_was_Taken
 
Joined: 17 May 2006

Postby Scotty_was_Taken » Sat Nov 04, 2006 1:40 am

again, no edit post button, but i fixed the problem. sorry :(

they really need an edit post button lol
i only like naruto so far...im new to anime... what else is good?
Scotty_was_Taken
 
Joined: 17 May 2006

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:08 am

Scotty_was_Taken wrote:ive spent like 1 week just making the first 30 seconds of this video, and if it doesnt work im gana be a sad sad panda!


You make it sound like that's a lot of time. :lol:
<- Currently been working on a video for nearly 3 months (280 hours of actual work time) and has 8 seconds of video actually placed on the timeline.

Just to make sure this is all correct, you exported uncompressed video and no audio (less hassle) and then tried to use VirtualDubMod to transcode to... what exactly? DivX? Is your codec up to date? What do your encode settings look like? 1-pass or 2-pass? When does it crash? What else do you have open at the time?
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Postby Scotty_was_Taken » Sun Nov 05, 2006 2:02 am

thanks for your help and attention you 3, now heres yet another problem

the video im makin is set to 720 x 480 and all my sources except 1 are 640x460. when i export at 720 x 480 there are big black gaps on either side of the images i use, but still show footage when i zoom in on something. so they act as a border till i make the scale of the frames bigger, then the video can be seen in that area. so its not really a border

if i export the resolution to 640x480 the videos have these real nasty lines running horisontally and the quality looks crap. ive used square pixels and source type pixels and its always the same problem... there something annoying no matter how i export... any ideas?

p.s. bashar whats the video your workin on, song and anime? cant wait to see it finished if its for bleach cause im still yet to see a bleach video i enjoy... "hence why im making one ;) "
i only like naruto so far...im new to anime... what else is good?
Scotty_was_Taken
 
Joined: 17 May 2006

Postby Kariudo » Sun Nov 05, 2006 2:22 am

do you mean that all of your sources are 640x480 except for one?
640x460 would be a rater odd resolution...
if so, then you should consider resizing the one source that isn't 640x480 (or crop it, or resize and crop)

many programs can crop/resize footage, but most of them go about this in a way that isn't too great, it would be best if you could do your resizing in/with VirtualDub(/Mod)/AviSynth

after you get that settled, you should have the project settings match your footage properties (640x480 square pixels) and export with the same settings

doing this should take care of those borders, and those lines too...could you take a screenshot of these lines and post it?
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Scotty_was_Taken » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:08 am

nah i cant take screen shots of media player footage :( it never works for me, plus i cant see the upload option

and yeah sorry, i meant 640 480

so let me see if i understand. take the clip thats 720 by 480 and reasize to 640. but its already edited in the clip with 100 edits attached. do i have to redo them all?

and even if i do resize this source, how do i change the project settings from 720x480 to 640 by 480? i liked for that option for ages and concluded it didnt exist. am i wrong?
i only like naruto so far...im new to anime... what else is good?
Scotty_was_Taken
 
Joined: 17 May 2006

Postby Kariudo » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:22 am

If I'm not mistaken, you can start a new project and import the old one into it. (that's one of the problems with premiere pro, you can't change [most of] the project setttings after set them)

so if you change the resolution in the new project and then import the old one it could solve your problems.
the section that is 720x480 might be interpreted by premiere...or just cut off (probably at one end or the other, but you may get lucky and have it cut equally on both sides...40 pixels each)

for uploading, you can use a free image hosting service like www.imageshack.us
and usually you just open your video in virtualdub(/mod) and take a screenshot of that (but it should work with WMP as well)
press the prt sc (print screen) button to take the shot, then open up paint and paste (control+v) then save as a jpg.

upload the image, copy the direct link (if the image is bigger than 800x600 you'll have to copy the second thumbnail link) and put it in img tags
Code: Select all
[img]url to image[/img]
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Scotty_was_Taken » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:53 am

[img][img]http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/2839/bleachjpgwt0.th.jpg[/img][/img]

thats the pic. this is the result i got after changing the preject settings to 640 by 480 with 640 by 480 sources...

I DONT UNDERSTAND! why would these lines appear is the project settings and the source settings are the ame resolution?[/img]
i only like naruto so far...im new to anime... what else is good?
Scotty_was_Taken
 
Joined: 17 May 2006

Next

Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests