Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

For help and discussion about specific video editing systems like Adobe software, Windows Movie Maker, Magix, Sony Vegas, etc. Please note the subforums.

Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

Postby Kevmaster » Fri May 25, 2012 8:45 am

Image

While masking I came across one frame that looks like this. Of course I don't want that and I'm curious if anyone has ever stumbled upon a frame like this (which probably isn't called shadow frame, lol) and/or knows how to get rid of it.
I'm using Vegas 10 for the record, by the way.
Kevmaster
Eisenbahnmörser
 
Joined: 28 May 2006

Re: Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

Postby irriadin » Fri May 25, 2012 8:54 am

Make sure you've got clip resampling set to off. Right click on the clip, go to properties and it should be in there.
User avatar
irriadin
BUBBLES!
 
Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Location: PA
Status: I fight for my friends

Re: Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

Postby Kevmaster » Fri May 25, 2012 8:59 am

irriadin wrote:Make sure you've got clip resampling set to off. Right click on the clip, go to properties and it should be in there.


Just turned it off but it didn't help. The frame is still looking like that.
Kevmaster
Eisenbahnmörser
 
Joined: 28 May 2006

Re: Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

Postby irriadin » Fri May 25, 2012 9:18 am

Try setting your preview pane to "Best - Full" and see if it still looks like that. Vegas can be weird sometimes...
User avatar
irriadin
BUBBLES!
 
Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Location: PA
Status: I fight for my friends

Re: Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

Postby Kevmaster » Fri May 25, 2012 9:22 am

Image
Image

It still does and I came to another frame like this.

It's also very noticable after rendering the clip.
Kevmaster
Eisenbahnmörser
 
Joined: 28 May 2006

Re: Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

Postby Kevmaster » Fri May 25, 2012 10:31 am

Alright, I figured out how to get rid of it. I simply cut the frame out and replaced it with the earlier (which now appears twice, but considering it's only one frame it ain't noticable at all). Sometimes the easiest things take the longest to figure out :|

Thanks for trying to help, irriadin.
Kevmaster
Eisenbahnmörser
 
Joined: 28 May 2006

Re: Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

Postby irriadin » Fri May 25, 2012 10:35 am

Kevmaster wrote:Alright, I figured out how to get rid of it. I simply cut the frame out and replaced it with the earlier (which now appears twice, but considering it's only one frame it ain't noticable at all). Sometimes the easiest things take the longest to figure out :|

Thanks for trying to help, irriadin.


np, glad you fixed it :up:

(weird things like this are why I don't mask / roto in Vegas anymore :amv: )
User avatar
irriadin
BUBBLES!
 
Joined: 07 Jun 2005
Location: PA
Status: I fight for my friends

Re: Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

Postby mirkosp » Fri May 25, 2012 10:56 am

You sure it wasn't like that to begin with? Did you properly IVTC instead of just deinterlacing?
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Masking "Shadow Frame" issue

Postby Kevmaster » Fri May 25, 2012 4:23 pm

mirkosp wrote:You sure it wasn't like that to begin with? Did you properly IVTC instead of just deinterlacing?


Actually I'm not. Considering it's the transition of two MEP tracks. By now I figured it might have something to do with what the editor did to his source. At least now I know how to fix it :D

[MOD16: Locked by user request.]
Kevmaster
Eisenbahnmörser
 
Joined: 28 May 2006


Return to Video Editing Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest