How do you place clip in background with foreground objects?

For all help and discussion relating to visual effects in programs that are not already covered in an existing forum, such as Blender, Particle Illusion, etc., along with discussion about effects theories and techniques.

Moderator: Niotex

How do you place clip in background with foreground objects?

Postby A.D. Reis » Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:12 am

I'm trying to get a clip in the background of another clip while also have objects move in front of the background clip. I was wondering how is this done. I have already tried using a composite layer such as multiply and it doesn't give me the effect I'm looking for.

http://youtu.be/Fvs6YaPMQ4A?t=3m31s from this clip around 3:31-3:38 is somewhat what I"m looking for with background images going on in a foreground clip. I"m not sure if this is an image mask or what exactly.

I use Final Cut Express HD on a mac

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. thank you.
A.D. Reis
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2012

Re: How do you place clip in background with foreground obje

Postby Eake4 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:52 am

Nostromo lol, well I would use a motion mask on the top layer and have the background just under the masked layer. Its a technique which requires an intermediate amount of time but gives a stunning look to videos. Good luck :D
Image
User avatar
Eake4
Australian Zeus
 
Joined: 26 Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Status: Doing something useless again

Re: How do you place clip in background with foreground obje

Postby A.D. Reis » Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:49 pm

-Eake4- wrote:Nostromo lol, well I would use a motion mask on the top layer and have the background just under the masked layer. Its a technique which requires an intermediate amount of time but gives a stunning look to videos. Good luck :D

Ah I see. So basically mask each frame as it moves over the backgrounded section? I can see how that will take some time lol. thanks for the info.
A.D. Reis
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2012

Re: How do you place clip in background with foreground obje

Postby Eake4 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:31 am

You mask the first frame, and in each frame you can just change the anchor points to different places which will create more keyframes, if your not too experienced with keyframing (which i doubt)
you should learn that first (takes a few minutes lol). And yeh, just keep changing your anchor points and different frames to match your borders of the character, building etc.
Image
User avatar
Eake4
Australian Zeus
 
Joined: 26 Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Status: Doing something useless again

Re: How do you place clip in background with foreground obje

Postby Mister Hatt » Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:22 am

I don't know much about effects in FC but you can do a roto mask for the frame you want to insert it into via Mocha or any good AutoDesk effects program. You can then load that into AE or another effects specialised app, or otherwise render the mask in black/white and feed it to avisynth. Using the rotation information and any perspective stuff, you can then move the secondary clip as you normally would in a real program. If you can program at all, simple enough to write a quick Mocha parser in Perl or Ruby to generate the avisynth effects for any translations. As long as you have a good rotoscoping app, it's not that hard.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you


Return to Visual Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron