Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

For discussion on Mac software and video editing on Mac computers.

Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Dar » Tue Mar 08, 2011 12:26 pm

So recently my windows laptop died, and i am now in the process of transitioning from editing with sony vegas on windows to editing with premiere/after effects cs5 on a macbook :<

My main question is - which video format is best for editing on a mac with cs5? In the past i converted absolutely everything to lagarith avi files, but somehow i feel like there should be a better option now that i've upgraded?

Also - is everything in the AMVapp compatible with a mac? (mainly vdub/avisynth)

At the moment, i have some footage in the mkv format i'd like to use... should i be throwing this in avisynth and making huge lagariths straight away?
Image
Image
User avatar
Dar
yuri addict
 
Joined: 30 Jan 2008
Location: orlando
Status: NEEDS MOAR YURI

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Dar » Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:14 pm

Oh also... i have access to linux on another laptop and i've got WINE on there if my only option is to convert with avisynth using a windows environment.

I'd prefer not to have bootcamp on my mac at all :<
Image
Image
User avatar
Dar
yuri addict
 
Joined: 30 Jan 2008
Location: orlando
Status: NEEDS MOAR YURI

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Mister Hatt » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:20 am

Lagarith can only be run on windows or via wine. Encoding on linux is a really bad idea unless you absolutely know what you are doing. I'd say dump your stuff to huffy or a raw planar format in a mov container and go from there. As for avisynth, well running it in wine is messy as all hell and you'd need to be prepared to use both the commandline extensively, and half your plugins not working. Remember, you can run wine on OSX too (sorta) and linux is probably not in your best interests. Check out the mac forum for more advice. Also obligatory pimping of Kionon and his mac skills.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Dar » Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:48 pm

Mister Hatt wrote:'d say dump your stuff to huffy or a raw planar format in a mov container and go from there.



Ok how do i do that :D
Image
Image
User avatar
Dar
yuri addict
 
Joined: 30 Jan 2008
Location: orlando
Status: NEEDS MOAR YURI

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby mirkosp » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:08 pm

Actually, just follow this guide for avs and vdub under crossover.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Dar » Sun Mar 13, 2011 12:52 pm

mirkosp wrote:Actually, just follow this guide for avs and vdub under crossover.



asdfghjkl; i dont want windows on my mac or anything ;_;
Image
Image
User avatar
Dar
yuri addict
 
Joined: 30 Jan 2008
Location: orlando
Status: NEEDS MOAR YURI

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Kariudo » Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:19 pm

crossover isn't windows any more than wine is...it's just an emulator (well...kinda an emulator)
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Mister Hatt » Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:24 pm

So nothing like an emulator at all? It's an alternative win32 API, same as wine.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Kariudo » Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:01 pm

It emulates the API, so yeah...it is something like an emulator
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Mister Hatt » Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:19 am

No, it doesn't emulate anything. It's a completely different code base that does the same thing in a different way. That is not emulation. Wine has it's own way of doing things which doesn't always match Microsoft's nor does it attempt to replicate it like an emulator would. Some parts of it are even superior to Microsoft's implementation of the Win32 API.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Premiere CS5 on a Mac.

Postby Kariudo » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:10 pm

meh, semantics.
It replicates the API enough to allow executables to run on a non-native system. As far as I'm concerned, that qualifies as emulation.

Hardly matters though, the point is that crossover != windows
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!


Return to Mac Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron