Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

For discussion on Mac software and video editing on Mac computers.

Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby HazelMystic » Sat Apr 24, 2010 8:11 am

Hey guys, this is my first time actually posting, but I am having a bit of a problem and I was hoping some of you guys could help me out. Up until this point I have been using Handbrake to rip the content from DVD's to make music vid's however when I further edit them with Clip Creator 2 and post them in iMovie the transitions between clips is choppy, and when I say transitions I don't mean special effects... there is like this lag before the next one plays and it's like iMovie will stall for a split second or longer. What's going on here?


I used to use Diva, OSEX, and Clip creator 2 all together, but now I am just stuck with Handbrake and Clip Creator 2... Any suggestions on alternative programs to use that are free? Or perhaps a way to get passed whatever is causing Handbrake to not work right with iMovie? I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!
HazelMystic
 
Joined: 24 Feb 2008

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby HazelMystic » Sat Apr 24, 2010 5:47 pm

Nobody?
HazelMystic
 
Joined: 24 Feb 2008

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby Athena » Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:50 pm

First question:

What type of Mac do you have, and what version of OS X? If you do not know, please click on the apple in your upper left hand corner, choose About This Mac, and post the information here.
Image
User avatar
Athena
I ♥ the 80's
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2001
Location: Japan
Status: Sad Girl on Mac

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby HazelMystic » Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:08 pm

I have a MacBook that I bought in 06. It's was the cheapest model then.. The OS X version: Mac OS X 10.5.3 (9D34)
HazelMystic
 
Joined: 24 Feb 2008

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby Athena » Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:09 pm

HazelMystic wrote:I have a MacBook that I bought in 06. It's was the cheapest model then.. The OS X version: Mac OS X 10.5.3 (9D34)


Okay, for processor, what does it say?
Image
User avatar
Athena
I ♥ the 80's
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2001
Location: Japan
Status: Sad Girl on Mac

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby HazelMystic » Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:14 pm

Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
Processor Speed: 1.83 GHz
HazelMystic
 
Joined: 24 Feb 2008

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby Athena » Sat Apr 24, 2010 7:23 pm

HazelMystic wrote:Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
Processor Speed: 1.83 GHz


Okay the first step is to download and install this:

http://support.apple.com/downloads/Mac_ ... mbo_Update

That brings your operating system to the last released version of Leopard. The second step is to run Software Update and install all security updates and system fixes. That is below About This Mac in the apple menu.

I then suggest you pay $29 and get an upgrade to Snow Leopard. That's next to nothing for a brand new, fully loaded operating system.

After you have at least installed 10.5.8 and run Software Update, please return to this thread and let me know.
Image
User avatar
Athena
I ♥ the 80's
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2001
Location: Japan
Status: Sad Girl on Mac

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby HazelMystic » Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:13 am

I ran my mac updates. I am ready to proceed.
HazelMystic
 
Joined: 24 Feb 2008

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby Athena » Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:30 am

HazelMystic wrote:I ran my mac updates. I am ready to proceed.


Excellent. Now, read this.

Once you have read over it, come back to me BEFORE you download anything because that is slightly outdated, and I am doing the testing to rewrite it, and helping you through the process will be a good way for me to construct the newest version of the guide. However, all of the changes are program version changes, the general concepts involved will be identical.
Image
User avatar
Athena
I ♥ the 80's
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2001
Location: Japan
Status: Sad Girl on Mac

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby HazelMystic » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:28 am

I got midway through the page and saw code, and I don't really understand that. Should I be reading for anything in particular? What are you proposing I do or download?
HazelMystic
 
Joined: 24 Feb 2008

Re: Problems with Handbrake and DIVA is no longer free :(

Postby Athena » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:36 am

HazelMystic wrote:I got midway through the page and saw code, and I don't really understand that. Should I be reading for anything in particular? What are you proposing I do or download?


Do you understand the need for AviSynth in order to clean footage? DiVA has been obsolete for years and handbrake cannot handle the type of filtering you may need to do in order to properly prepare your footage. Perhaps very recent versions are better, but even in x64 versions, I have been unimpressed with its ability to inverse telecine.
Image
User avatar
Athena
I ♥ the 80's
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2001
Location: Japan
Status: Sad Girl on Mac


Return to Mac Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron