Sony Vegas won't load any lossless AVIs

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

Sony Vegas won't load any lossless AVIs

Postby JongWu » Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:16 am

Or any AVIs for that matter(not that there's much use for an XviD file or anything, but you see my point).

If I try to import one, or more specifically, even try to click on one while I'm in "Open" or "Import," Vegas pauses for a second, I get a "Sony Vegas has stopped working" pop-up, and then that's it. Vegas closes itself down, and I die a little on the inside.

This never used to happen on the old comp with XP that used to be my primary, but ever since I shifted to newer computer with everybody's favorite OS Windows Vista, it's just been one problem after another that I can't fix or don't have the software to fix.

Anyway, any suggestions?

Many thanks.
JongWu
 
Joined: 06 May 2007

Re: Sony Vegas won't load any lossless AVIs

Postby Enigma » Sun Feb 21, 2010 1:38 pm

Try re-installing it.
User avatar
Enigma
That jolly ol' bastid
 
Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Location: California
Status: Free

Re: Sony Vegas won't load any lossless AVIs

Postby Sora no Honou 空の炎 » Sun Feb 21, 2010 9:34 pm

There are some things that you can do to force a program to stay open. I dont remember what they are, but I had to use it when I had vista for a similar problem. Uh... if everything is the same as when you had XP, you can just downgrade (More like upgrade) back to XP, or just change your OS to something else in general (Linux?) Anyway, there may also be some problems with a codec that you have that prevents it from reading it correctly. This is just off the top of my head, but I hope it helps...
Image
User avatar
Sora no Honou 空の炎
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Status: The Sky Flame

Re: Sony Vegas won't load any lossless AVIs

Postby Begi » Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:11 pm

what version of sony vegas are you using?
User avatar
Begi
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2008
Location: Detroit, Michigan, U.S.

Re: Sony Vegas won't load any lossless AVIs

Postby Kaream » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:44 pm

Re-Install the new version of vegas
Image
User avatar
Kaream
 
Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Location: California

Re: Sony Vegas won't load any lossless AVIs

Postby tugaOwn » Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:01 am

That's a codec problem. The one i installed in order to use avi files in sony vegas (8.0 btw) was K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 5.7.0 (and an adicional AVI codec pack Lite)...

Hope it'll work on you.
tugaOwn
 
Joined: 27 Feb 2010

Re: Sony Vegas won't load any lossless AVIs

Postby Kariudo » Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:33 pm

K-Lite should be avoided in general, especially the mega pack.

Any time you install more than one codec that handles the same thing, you set yourself up for problems

As said before, reinstalling Vegas is your best bet.
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!


Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests