FLAC audio file importer for CS4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

For help and discussion about specific video editing systems like Adobe software, Windows Movie Maker, Magix, Sony Vegas, etc. Please note the subforums.

FLAC audio file importer for CS4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Sat Dec 12, 2009 1:33 pm

I've released an installer for version 1.1, which fixes the 5.1 channel mapping problem, and the 24-bit audio problem. It looks like there's a problem with using it with CS3 for now. I'm still trying to find someone locally with CS3 so I can debug that problem.

Download Plugin (1.1)

Source Code
Last edited by Valion on Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby mirkosp » Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:59 pm

I LOVE YOU!
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby AaronAMV » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:57 pm

Wow, that's pretty damn cool. If only I used Premiere or AE :amv:
Image
User avatar
AaronAMV
eating that e. coli spinach
 
Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Location: (◔ ◡ ◔ )
Status: (◔ ◡ ◔ )

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Mon Dec 28, 2009 11:22 am

So, I'm using this with Premiere CS3 on Win7 and any time i attempt to import a FLAC file it sits at the "Import Files" dialog at 0% perpetually. It's not freezing (I can cancel out just fine) but I'm not getting any files into my project bin. Anything special I need to be doing?
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:44 pm

BasharOfTheAges wrote:So, I'm using this with Premiere CS3 on Win7 and any time i attempt to import a FLAC file it sits at the "Import Files" dialog at 0% perpetually. It's not freezing (I can cancel out just fine) but I'm not getting any files into my project bin. Anything special I need to be doing?



It shouldn't require you to do anything special. What sort of file are you trying to import? Stereo, 5.1, 16-bit, etc...
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby mirkosp » Wed Dec 30, 2009 5:06 am

He was trying to import 5.1 flacs encoded out of ac3 from dvd.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Wed Dec 30, 2009 7:23 pm

mirkosp wrote:He was trying to import 5.1 flacs encoded out of ac3 from dvd.

This. I managed to make myself 6 channels and a 2ch down-mixed wav though, so it's not a problem any more (as in i'm not using it).
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme


Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Fri Jan 01, 2010 12:35 pm

I'll try making and testing it with 5.1 files when I get home in a few days. I'm still away from my main computer, and don't have access to any FLACs other than normal stereos ones right now. (Unless someone can link me to some test files, in which case I can check it out sooner)
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby aleistercrowley » Fri Jan 01, 2010 12:53 pm

Hello

Thank you for your flac import Plugin. I really want/need a Flac Importer for Adobe premiere CS4.
I made a few Tests :

-flac 16/24bit Stereo works fine
flac 16/24Bit 5.1 has a backrpound noise in Premiere

But i think you can make it working...i can provide you samples in all Channel/Bitdepth etc configs
aleistercrowley
 
Joined: 01 Jan 2010

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby aleistercrowley » Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:01 pm

Ah..im sure the channelmapping from your Plugin is wrong because the Center Speaker Signals doesnt come out the Center Speaker

Here are two flac 5.1 Samples

http://rapidshare.com/files/328894815/f ... s.rar.html
aleistercrowley
 
Joined: 01 Jan 2010

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:15 pm

aleistercrowley wrote:Ah..im sure the channelmapping from your Plugin is wrong because the Center Speaker Signals doesnt come out the Center Speaker

Here are two flac 5.1 Samples

http://rapidshare.com/files/328894815/f ... s.rar.html


Thanks, I'll check it out.
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby aleistercrowley » Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:15 pm

Thank you

It looks like the "wrong" Mapping is :
Center Channel = Surround Left
LFE = Surround Right Channel

It should be fine when you change it
aleistercrowley
 
Joined: 01 Jan 2010

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Fri Jan 01, 2010 4:09 pm

aleistercrowley wrote:Thank you

It looks like the "wrong" Mapping is :
Center Channel = Surround Left
LFE = Surround Right Channel

It should be fine when you change it


I'm still trying to get the file since rapidshare is being a pile of crap, but what you posted matches up with the channel maps I found. It looks like FLAC's standard ordering is L, R, C, LFE, LS, RS, while Premiere uses L, R, LS, RS, C, LFE. I'll upload a new test version in a couple hours. :)

EDIT: Here is it: http://www.valion.net/flacimporter/FLAC%20Importer%20-%20ChannelmapTestfix.rar I still don't have the audio files to test it, but hopefully that fixes the mapping problem. Just copy that plugin over the existing one.
One thing to note is that Premiere is pretty dumb about knowing when an audio file has changed. Unless you go delete the conformed file it makes when you imported the file, it'll keep using it, even though the underlying audio changed. You can get around this (poorly) by renaming the audio file and re-adding it to the project.
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby aleistercrowley » Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:35 am

Thanks

Yeah, the fix works :)
Channelmapping is correct now

I will test a few bigger FLAC Files in 24Bit and varius Channel Configurations like 6.1 and 7.1, should work cause FLac can hold 7.1 Channles.

Nice work!

Here are the Sampels on Megaupload
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=I139FNUD
aleistercrowley
 
Joined: 01 Jan 2010

Next

Return to Video Editing Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests