Drive designation errors

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.

Drive designation errors

Postby The Wired Knight » Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:17 am

Ok so this problem is a bit bizzare.

I'm working on three AMVs simultaniously - I store all the work files on an external hard drive. Now when I captured two of the videos for whatever reason the drive thought it was E:. About a month later I captured the third but the drive thought it was F: all of a sudden. Now I've got two videos where the source footage that doesn't work beause all the scripts and d2v files are associated with E: while the drive always reads F.

I've tried adjusting this in device manager with no luck (attempting to manually change drive designation). Does anybody know a workaround for this? I can't simply recapture everything because I've allready edited the videos and being one frame off in making the d2vs or scripts screws up the entire video.
BANG

Intellectual Property, Real Estate & Probate Attorney.
User avatar
The Wired Knight
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2001
Location: Right next door to you
Status: Attorney At Law

Re: Drive designation errors

Postby Kariudo » Mon Mar 30, 2009 2:16 am

edit the .d2v files in a text editor like notepad

the paths to the vobs are near the top, so you just change them to whatever new path they're at.
I don't know if you need to have "use full paths" enabled in dgindex or not to do this.

I've used this method to move vobs and their d2v files from my desktop to my laptop and back again
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Re: Drive designation errors

Postby The Wired Knight » Mon Mar 30, 2009 2:29 am

Allready tried that, this is the odd result.



I change them then when I open the project Premiere asks me where the avs files are. I tell it, then Premiere just crashes "sorry premiere has experienced an error..." that junk then it closes. The edited avs and d2vs dont' have any problem opening in virtualdub at all. Hell if I create a new project in Premiere I can even use them as edited, but the old project just won't accept them anymore. (Though oddly enough if I skip previews I can import them all in but it won't restore them to their proper locations.
BANG

Intellectual Property, Real Estate & Probate Attorney.
User avatar
The Wired Knight
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2001
Location: Right next door to you
Status: Attorney At Law


Return to Video Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests