windows movie maker doesn't display gif after I installed a

For help and discussion concerning the Windows Movie Maker software.
kelly123
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:45 pm
Org Profile

windows movie maker doesn't display gif after I installed a

Postby kelly123 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:54 pm

windows movie maker doesn't display gif after I installed a program.
I unistalled it, I deleted all the registry entries that included the name of that program , I reinstalled windows movie maker, but nothing helped! any clues?

User avatar
Autraya
Zero Punctuation
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 12:52 am
Status: old
Location: Terra Australis
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Autraya » Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:37 am

Did it display them for you prior to installing that program?

Have you got a HQ export of that segment that you can just re-import and use? So it's footage not a image file any more.

What's the error it gives you?

You know I cant really remember if I ever used .gif in wmm x_x I never had a problem with jpeg and png but I wasn't big into storing .gif on my computer sooo, I'm not sure if they should work of not *sigh*
new banzors in the making :p

kelly123
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:45 pm
Org Profile

Postby kelly123 » Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:31 am

Yes it displayed just fine before I installed that program,now they are like black images. When I try to import gif it says the file is not valid or corrupted.
What is a HQ export?

User avatar
Autraya
Zero Punctuation
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 12:52 am
Status: old
Location: Terra Australis
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Autraya » Thu Jul 03, 2008 7:49 am

HQ= High Quality so DV_AVI or best settings in WMM
new banzors in the making :p

User avatar
Purge
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:18 am
Location: Under Aus
Org Profile

Postby Purge » Thu Jul 03, 2008 8:35 am

you should of tried using a system restore point

kelly123
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:45 pm
Org Profile

Postby kelly123 » Thu Jul 03, 2008 9:51 am

I've tried the system restore,it didn't help.

User avatar
Purge
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 9:18 am
Location: Under Aus
Org Profile

Postby Purge » Thu Jul 03, 2008 9:37 pm

then i would suspect the gif file/s you are trying to use


you could try converting the gif to avi using a filter that can load gif files in avisynth or go oldskool and use graphedit to convert but they can be a bit of a learning curve if you've never used them before.

kelly123
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:45 pm
Org Profile

Postby kelly123 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:07 am

I converted some of them to avi with Bannershop Gif Animator, but they act differently than gif in wmm, I have serious time issues.


Return to “Windows Movie Maker”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests