Roto

For all help and discussion relating to visual effects in programs that are not already covered in an existing forum, such as Blender, Particle Illusion, etc., along with discussion about effects theories and techniques.

Moderator: Niotex

Roto

Postby -MD » Sun Aug 19, 2007 7:56 am

I want to do alittle rotoscoping for my distant futer vid...umm how do I go about that? o.0 The reason I want to rotoscope...keying isn't working for this one.... :?
User avatar
-MD
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Location: Misery
Status: (◕ω◕)

Postby CrackTheSky » Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:56 am

What program are you editing in?

You can always use something like Photoshop or, for a free alternative, The GIMP or Paint.NET and use the pen tool to mask out the characters/objects onto a transparent background and import a bunch of still images.
User avatar
CrackTheSky
Fancy Balls
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Status: Maybe editing?

Postby -MD » Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:12 am

Premiere
User avatar
-MD
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Location: Misery
Status: (◕ω◕)

Postby Bakadeshi » Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:51 pm

Premiere has horid builtin masking tools, you'll have to do it in an external application and assemble it in Premiere.

You have 2 generally accepted options. THe first one is what CrackTheSky suggested, using an external image application to edit each frame by hand to remove the backgrounds and assemble them in Premiere using the alpha channel int he PSD files to keep the removed backgrounds transparent. The other option is to just draw white over the images you want to keep and use the Track Matte effect in Premiere to use those white "masks" as a mask to tell it to only show the footage that that white area covers. There is excellent documentation on all the Adobe tools on the adobe website, just search for Track Matte for examples on how to use the tool on their site.

The other method, If you have a copy of or can get your hands on After Effects, That has a much better bezier masking tool in it than what is offered in Premiere, which will allow you to mask aswell without having to do it frame by frame with images.

Both can be just as time consuming to get looking good, and is usually just a matter of personal preference which is better.
User avatar
Bakadeshi
Abuses Spellcheck
 
Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA

Postby Bauzi » Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:23 pm

I recommend the pen tool:
http://www.animemusicvideos.org/guides/PenToolGuide.pdf
You can find it in software like After Effects, Photoshop, Gimp or Sony Vegas.

If you want to do real complex and complicated effects with paths and vectors, there is no way around the pen tool.
Image
Image
User avatar
Bauzi
 
Joined: 21 May 2004
Location: Austria (uhm the other country without kangaroos^^)
Status: Under High Voltage

Postby -MD » Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:41 pm

Wow, choices o.O Thanks alot for all of the suggestions. I'll try most of them and see what happens. I have to learn this stuff while I have the chance (school coming up). Again much thanks for all of the suggestions :D
MD
User avatar
-MD
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Location: Misery
Status: (◕ω◕)

Postby ZephyrStar » Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:28 am

I find frame by frame in photoshop to be the fastest way, of course, this might be because I've gotten really fast with photoshop. It's all in the shortcut keys...learn them, learn them well. Usually what I'll do is make a .tga sequence of my video, load up the sequence in photoshop's browser (so I can see all my frames I'm working with at one time) open the one I'm needing to edit, use quickmask to "paint out" what I want to delete, exit quickmask, delete, save, rinse, repeat. Then I use AE to load my .tga sequence with transparency.
Image
User avatar
ZephyrStar
Master of Science
 
Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Location: The Laboratory
Status: Master of Science

Postby -MD » Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:31 am

Yea, I'm going with the frame by frame deal. It take alot of time 0.o but I'm pretty sure it will be worth it in the end :)
User avatar
-MD
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Location: Misery
Status: (◕ω◕)

Postby Bauzi » Wed Aug 22, 2007 5:30 am

I think best way is to keyframe your vector mask in AE and just change the position of the anchors with every new frame. Works really good.

Of course if there is a huge change of motion in it, you might have to split the video layer and work with a different vector mask.

AE for the win.
Image
Image
User avatar
Bauzi
 
Joined: 21 May 2004
Location: Austria (uhm the other country without kangaroos^^)
Status: Under High Voltage

Postby Kitsuner » Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:32 am

Image
User avatar
Kitsuner
Maximum Hotness
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Status: Top Breeder

Postby Autraya » Thu Aug 23, 2007 3:22 am

...
Willie I already answered this question over AIM :?
new banzors in the making :p
User avatar
Autraya
Zero Punctuation
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Location: Terra Australis
Status: old

Postby -MD » Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:46 am

Autraya wrote:...
Willie I already answered this question over AIM :?


:shock: Yes and No :(
User avatar
-MD
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Location: Misery
Status: (◕ω◕)

Postby lister007 » Sun Aug 26, 2007 6:07 am

the best way is in photoshop imo, you can export vector paths from illustrator into after effects as well which can sometimes be really handy, a combination of this and keying in after effects usually does the job....time and effect is the key though.. :?
Spatchcock..........A dressed and split chicken for roasting or grilling on a spit.
Bring it
Image
Berserk or crazy...??? (image shack sucks will have a banner for this too when it doesn't!)
User avatar
lister007
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Location: Great Britain, um the country with the best flag;)


Return to Visual Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests