Sony Vegas 10

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Thu Nov 11, 2010 4:09 pm

So I am trying this one out now.

If anyone is using it too tell me, is it normal that he doesn't load AVI files??
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Cannonaire » Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:54 pm

I use Vegas Movie Studio 10 (Platinum? I dunno, it was the ~$100 one).

It loads avi files fine for me, but I only ever use lossless (UTVideo, Lagarith, HuffYUV, or uncompressed). I don't know how much you know about video stuff, so I'll just say a few things that may help. Avi is just a container for video/audio information. Whether an avi opens in Vegas is entirely related to what codecs are used by the audio and video streams. If you're using something encoded with, say, Xvid, chances are it will load but it won't be good for editing. Others may not load at all.

I have had a few instances where it simply refuses to load a file encoded with a certain codec, so in those cases I just use another kind of lossless. It's very rare that this happens, but I've had to use lagarith for a single clip rather than UTVideo like the rest of the clips which work fine in my project. Who knows what's going on here, but re-encoding with VirtualDub produces the same problem, go figure.

Hope this helps, guess I got a little wordy. :oops:
Let me know if you need any help. I'm not the most experienced, but I tend to learn the programs I use quickly.
Image Think millionaire, but with cannons. || Resident Maaya Sakamoto fan.
User avatar
Cannonaire
 
Joined: 05 May 2010
Location: Oregon
Status: OVERLOAD

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:47 am

I do know some of the things you said ^^.

It's about Sony vegas pro 10.
It loads lagarith (even if it slows the programs when choosing file) and even h264/aac from AMV's encoded with Zarx. It does load too Mpeg. Even for containers, I think they all load.
But not loading AVI? I guess all avi's I have are all about XviD/mp3 encoded.
No that I edit with them actually, but I think it does not make much sense in the program =/ .
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Nya-chan Production » Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:54 am

Maybe they just put out a support for XviD since it's fairly old, or they switched to lossless mostly, or some library is different and behaves weirdly on your PC.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:08 am

"or some library is different and behaves weirdly on your PC." What i'm afraid of, but I don't understand quite well the concept of library there ^^ escuse me? :'3

If someone has the same issue say it here.
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Nya-chan Production » Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:16 am

This complex programs use their libraries to work, and these libraries work with the codecs and Windows core. And in new version they might be different which can result in behaving differently.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby HalOfBorg » Fri Nov 12, 2010 6:35 am

I have been trying Vegas Pro 10 (new PC has 6 cores, might as well use them), and I can import Xvid files no problem. And I had no idea it can use MP4 files - works as well. Cool.

Maybe you simply need to re-install your codec pack? I use K-Lite all the time (install lagarth as well). Others here will probably tell me how wrong that is.

Might be bad idea to make codec changes if you are in the middle of a project.
Help HalOfBorg fight his cancer - http://www.gofundme.com/21ygdk

ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
User avatar
HalOfBorg
 
Joined: 14 May 2008

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:13 am

HalOfBorg wrote:I have been trying Vegas Pro 10 (new PC has 6 cores, might as well use them), and I can import Xvid files no problem. And I had no idea it can use MP4 files - works as well. Cool.

Maybe you simply need to re-install your codec pack? I use K-Lite all the time (install lagarth as well). Others here will probably tell me how wrong that is.

Might be bad idea to make codec changes if you are in the middle of a project.


Is it the 64bit version?
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby HalOfBorg » Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:53 am

Our windows 7 is the 32 bit so no.
Help HalOfBorg fight his cancer - http://www.gofundme.com/21ygdk

ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
User avatar
HalOfBorg
 
Joined: 14 May 2008

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:54 am

I've now re-instaled, in this order, CCCP newer version and AMVapp, all is the same.

Will try 32bit version of Sony Vegas?

Cause please explain to me, what are the advantages of 64bit anyway x') in this particular case .
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby post-it » Sat Nov 13, 2010 3:39 pm

Kawatta-Kun wrote:... please explain to me, what are the advantages of 64bit anyway...
there is no advantage with 64 bit unless its Parallel Drop Processing .. .. which windows is not!
E.O.L.
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Sat Nov 13, 2010 3:54 pm

post-it wrote:
Kawatta-Kun wrote:... please explain to me, what are the advantages of 64bit anyway...
there is no advantage with 64 bit unless its Parallel Drop Processing .. .. which windows is not!
E.O.L.


Say wat? x)
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Cannonaire » Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:42 pm

I didn't realize there was a 64bit version of Vegas 10. I would think it would also benefit from having access to more memory.
Image Think millionaire, but with cannons. || Resident Maaya Sakamoto fan.
User avatar
Cannonaire
 
Joined: 05 May 2010
Location: Oregon
Status: OVERLOAD

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby Kawatta-kun » Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:38 pm

Cannonaire wrote:I didn't realize there was a 64bit version of Vegas 10. I would think it would also benefit from having access to more memory.


Since the 9th version there is ^^ .
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: Sony Vegas 10

Postby post-it » Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:43 pm

Kawatta-Kun wrote:
Cannonaire wrote:I didn't realize there was a 64bit version of Vegas 10. I would think it would also benefit from having access to more memory.
Since the 9th version there is ^^ .
I remember 9 having a 32 & 64 but I never saw any advantage to either one while encoding. The advantage with 64 came when you were playing-back in real-time with transitions .. other than that, I could not tell what the advantages really were!
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Next

Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests