AVS in Vegas 4.0

The old Video Software Help forum, left visible as an archive.
Locked
x_rex30
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2001 4:30 pm
Org Profile

AVS in Vegas 4.0

Post by x_rex30 » Thu Mar 17, 2005 12:55 am

I'm trying to get Vegas 4.0 to play AVS files. Anyone know how to get it to do this? Thanks in advance! ^_^

User avatar
AMVfreak
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 2:43 pm
Location: LalalalaBoinkBoink, bouncing in my head.
Org Profile

Post by AMVfreak » Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:06 am

Lurid Enchantment - ICYCLOUD
urban suite - TRYTHIL
大切な思い - BAKADESHI
Expansion - RESK

x_rex30
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2001 4:30 pm
Org Profile

Post by x_rex30 » Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:52 am

b) Vegas Video - there is a plugin developed at debugmode.com to import avs footage into Vegas. I have not tested this, however so you are on your own :)
If someones tested it, I'd like to get there feedback. Thanks anyways though, I'm already aware of the plug-in, I'd like to know more about the playback though, and maybe if theres a more comprehensive guide for it. Thanks! ^_^

x_rex30
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2001 4:30 pm
Org Profile

Post by x_rex30 » Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:58 am

On a side note, I know I should just test it out but right now AVI and other video playback is not working in it. Maybe until I get it all up and running again, I could get some more feedback on it. ^_^ Any more comments on this is very appreciated.

User avatar
bum
17747114553
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 9:56 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by bum » Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:10 am

http://www.debugmode.com/frameserver/

Or try wax, which is a plugin for vegas that can import avs file. But it can get kinda messy.

x_rex30
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2001 4:30 pm
Org Profile

Post by x_rex30 » Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:36 pm

bum wrote:http://www.debugmode.com/frameserver/

Or try wax, which is a plugin for vegas that can import avs file. But it can get kinda messy.
Have you imported it before? :?

User avatar
bum
17747114553
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 9:56 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by bum » Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:51 pm

Nope. I've never had a need for avisynth besides the occasional script I use with vdm. If your having problems with wax or frame server get on the sites forums.

User avatar
NeoQuixotic
Master Procrastinator
Joined: Tue May 01, 2001 7:30 pm
Status: I haz job!
Location: St. Louis Park, MN
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by NeoQuixotic » Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:45 pm

I use Vegas 5 with AVS in it by using makeAVIS. Scroll down in the guide that AMVfreak linked to to the title "Frameserving Avisynth to Programs without .avs Support". For whatever reason, I have to set it to 'Force' RGB24 for it to work. I tried a newer version of FFDShow and nothing worked so I'm using a build from Jul 18, 2004, it was in the last version of the AMVapp. The new AMVapp uses a 2005 build, so I'm not sure if that works.
Insert clever text/image here.

User avatar
NeoQuixotic
Master Procrastinator
Joined: Tue May 01, 2001 7:30 pm
Status: I haz job!
Location: St. Louis Park, MN
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by NeoQuixotic » Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:22 pm

Update:
I just installed a FFDshow build from March 3, 2005 and when I output my file in makeAVIS, Vegas will read it just fine in the YV12 colorspace. It also works just fine with ConvertToRGB32() at the end of the script. If you want to use AVS files in Vegas I would go with this build of FFDshow or maybe the one in the newest AMVapp. I got it from the FFDshow homepage, the main page is borked so heres a link, Daily FFDshow builds.

Should I keep it in the YV12 or use RGB32? I remember reading a thread about colorspaces. I think it suggested that RGB32 is faster for processing since it is 32 bit as are most PC processors. I might be wrong but if anyone knows please speakup.
Insert clever text/image here.

User avatar
AbsoluteDestiny
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 1:56 pm
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by AbsoluteDestiny » Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:40 am

Yes I believe milan did some tinkerig of makeavis recently. I'm going to update the amvapp once there is a new build from the current cvs (as that wil include a bunch of new ffmpeg stuff).

As for colorspace I prefer to do the conversion to RGB before the program does it but really it's up to you.

Locked

Return to “Video Software Help Archive”