SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Announcement & discussion of Anime Music Video contests
Post Reply
User avatar
Empyreanous
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Org Profile

SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Empyreanous » Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:41 pm

Image

Welcome back to the SMASH! Anime Music Video Competition and Showcase for 2019!

Hi everyone! :D

Thank you everyone who participated in last year’s SMASH! AMV Competition, including the voting for the People’s Choice Award! We have had another successful year all thanks to you guys!

The SMASH! Anime Music Video Competition and Showcase for 2019 is back, and it is better than ever! We made a couple of changes this year, so to find out more information, keep on reading this post (or refer to the links below):

Information
Rules and Submissions Guidelines
AMV Submission Form
Image
--------

When does the competition start: NOW!
When does the competition close: Sunday, 9 June, 2019 @ 11:59 p.m. (AEST/UTC+10) (Deadline for your timezone is at the end of this post)

--------

Reviewing the entries we received last year, we decided to make some changes to the categories for this year's competition. To summarise, we have simplified the category names, while allowing for a broader range of genres to be included. We have also updated some of the category definitions (which you can find out more here).

In addition, we introduced the SMASH! AMV Showcase last year and as a result, we received a lot of entries for the showcase! We had huge crowds last year at both our competition and showcase screenings, including a lot of the audience coming up to us asking for more information about our entrants ( some of you probably noticed new fans keeping up to date with your work!). Since it was such a huge success last year, we decided to bring it back! For those who are not aware of the AMV Showcase - it is a non-competitive event where we allow you guys to submit whatever AMV you want to showcase to our Australian audience! We always end up getting large crowds at our screenings, so this might be something you are interested in if you want to gain exposure (without feeling the pressure of the competition).

To find out more information about the other changes to our competition/showcase for this year, please refer our website as well as the rules and submissions guidelines to ensure that you are fully aware of the requirements of your AMV before entering the AMV Competition and/or AMV Showcase :D

--------

That’s all for now!

For those who choose to come back and enter our AMV Competition or Showcase for this year – welcome back!

For those who are new, your participation in the competition is greatly appreciated, and thus, we will do our best to showcase your amazing work!

If you have any questions or issues, please feel free to contact us either at amv@smash.org.au, through direct messaging on the forums, or simply feel free to leave a message on this thread and we will get back to you ASAP!

We are all looking forward to receiving your entry and your participation for this year. And if you do choose to participate, then we wish you all the best and GOOD LUCK~!

- Renato, Nathan, Chrystal, Anam

Image
--------

What time is the deadline in your end? Find out below!

UTC+/0 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 1:59 p.m.
Cities include: Reykjavik

UTC+1 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 2:59 p.m.
Cities include: London, Dublin, Lisbon

UTC+2 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 3:59 p.m.
Cities include: Paris, Frankfurt, Rome, Madrid, Zurich, Johannesburg

UTC+3 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 4:59 p.m.
Cities include: Sofia, Athens, Helsinki, Bucharest, Istanbul

UTC+4 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 5:59 p.m.
Cities include: Moscow, Dubai

UTC+5 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 6:59 p.m.
Cities include: Karachi, Islamabad

UTC+5:30 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 7:29 p.m.
Cities include: New Delhi, Mumbai

UTC+6 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 7:59 p.m.
Cities include: Yangon

UTC+7 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 8:59 p.m.
Cities include: Bangkok

UTC+8 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 9:59 p.m.
Cities include: Perth, Singapore, Manila, Hong Kong, Beijing, Kuala Lumpur

UTC+9 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 10:59 p.m.
Cities include: Tokyo, Seoul

UTC+9:30 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 11:29 p.m.
Cities include: Adelaide, Darwin

UTC+10 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 11:59 p.m.
Cities include: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart

UTC+12 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 1:59 a.m.
Cities include: Auckland, Wellington

UTC-10 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 3:59 a.m.
Cities include: Honolulu

UTC-8 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 5:59 a.m.
Cities include: Anchorage

UTC-7 (Pacific Daylight Time) - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 6:59 a.m.
Cities include: Los Angeles, Seattle, Vancouver, Phoenix

UTC-6 (Mountain Daylight Time) - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 7:59 a.m.
Cities include: Calgary, Edmonton, Denver, Tegucigalpa

UTC-5 (Central Daylight Time) - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 8:59 a.m.
Cities include: Chicago, Houston, New Orleans, Winnipeg, Bogota

UTC-4 (Eastern Daylight Time) - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 9:59 a.m.
Cities include: Atlanta, Boston, New York, Washington DC, Toronto, Santiago

UTC-3 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 10:59 a.m.
Cities include: Halifax, Buenos Aires, Sao Paolo, Rio de Janeiro

--------

*EDIT (as of 22/04/2019 11:15am AEDT)
  • Changes to the deadlines accordance to different timezone
  • Updated links to direct to official website (instead of referring to the "information sheet")
Last edited by Empyreanous on Sun Apr 21, 2019 8:16 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
AMV Department
SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

User avatar
Empyreanous
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Empyreanous » Sat Apr 20, 2019 11:31 pm

EDIT: Fixed up times - sorry guys, I had to fix up the times on the post (that was my bad!)

You can check above now for the CORRECT times based on what country you are from! :D

*Edit (again, grammer)
Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
AMV Department
SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

User avatar
shorisquared
AMV History Archiver
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:44 am
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by shorisquared » Sun Apr 21, 2019 12:12 am

So is it June 9th or July 14 that videos are due?
ImageImage

User avatar
Empyreanous
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Empyreanous » Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:18 pm

shorisquared wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 12:12 am
So is it June 9th or July 14 that videos are due?
OH! I am so sorry about the confusion - when I was fixing the times I put the wrong date :oops: :oops: :oops:

The deadline is UTC+10 - Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 11:59 p.m., but the competition is officially over on Sunday 14 July 2019. I have fixed the post to reflect this information, and double checked everything else :shock:

I'm so sorry for the muck up :cry: I must of gotten too excited to put this post up, that I placed the wrong dates.

Thank you for picking it up :D
Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
AMV Department
SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

User avatar
TritioAFB
Ambassador of the AMVWorld
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:38 am
Status: Doctor
Location: Honduras
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by TritioAFB » Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:58 pm

I will promise I will return next year. SMASH! is one of the video-exclusive contests for me
Making AMVs by day, Going to Gym by Night
ImageImage

User avatar
Empyreanous
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Empyreanous » Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:03 am

TritioAFB wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2019 10:58 pm
I will promise I will return next year. SMASH! is one of the video-exclusive contests for me
We look forward to your return! :D <3

Take it easy in the meanwhile ~
Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
AMV Department
SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

User avatar
Xophilarus
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:50 pm
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Xophilarus » Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:00 pm

Aww, kind of bummed the whole contest is exclusive again because there's so many exclusive contests now. But I just say that selfishly because this was one of my fav contests to enter, and I wish I had more time to make an exclusive video for it xP. I hope to one year somehow make time for it because it would be lovely being part of the contest again. X___X I hope this year is successful for you guys as well! I may throw something into the showcase it least though~

User avatar
Empyreanous
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Empyreanous » Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:02 pm

Xophilarus wrote:
Wed Apr 24, 2019 12:00 pm
Aww, kind of bummed the whole contest is exclusive again because there's so many exclusive contests now. But I just say that selfishly because this was one of my fav contests to enter, and I wish I had more time to make an exclusive video for it xP. I hope to one year somehow make time for it because it would be lovely being part of the contest again. X___X I hope this year is successful for you guys as well! I may throw something into the showcase it least though~
Honestly, we love hearing feedback about the competition because it allows us to grow and try make it better for everyone. No opinion is too negative or selfish!

Just being a part of the community myself, I noticed that we did face a lot of negative criticism from going exclusive, and we did make some mistakes over the past two years which has affected the quality of our competition. We are not a perfect as human beings, but we want our entrants to have the best experience possible.

It was a huge decision for us going exclusive. We did consider both the negatives and positives of going exclusive. In fact, being that this is our third year going exclusive, we are still learning and gaining experience from this decision. One reason we made this decision was to allow smaller editors a chance to be noticed. It can be disheartening for a smaller individual to work really hard on a video, enter a really big competition, and get defeated by an AMV that has already won so many awards. And yes, maybe that AMV does deserve to win all those awards from other competitions. Or maybe you can argue that the editor only entered the competition just for fun (which is the case for myself). Or maybe they did it to learn something, gain exposure, win fancy prizes, etc. Regardless of the reason, we still want to give those smaller editors a chance too! :D

However, as an editor myself, I can understand that trying to create an original AMV for different competitions can be creatively straining, stressful, time-consuming and potentially can impact your mental and physical health. As we grow older, we face a lot more commitments (including studying, working, family, etc.). Some editors only have the time to make 1-2 AMVs per year, where some editors have the time to make 5-10 per year. Regardless, we never want to put anyone in a position where their health gets affected.

Also sorry for the lengthy reply! I just wanted to make sure that we are listening to you guys, but also provide some insight in our decisions. Hopefully I didn't sound like I was being negative, having a go at you or disregarding your feelings. Of course there are MANY good editors out there who deserve to win and be acknowledged for their hard work, and we would love to show off each and every one of you to our audience! We always love when you guys join, or be involved in the competition in some way :D <3

To everyone else, we are always open to suggestions and other feedback!!! We want to ensure that you guys are the number one priority! In my opinion, I am not focused on being the best competition (as I know there are far better ones), but being a supportive and enjoyable one to participate in! <3

We might go back to our old roots, but we'll see what the future holds~! :wink:
Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
AMV Department
SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

User avatar
Xophilarus
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:50 pm
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Xophilarus » Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:42 pm

You didn't sound negative towards my feelings at all! I REALLY appreciate your thoughtful response. Most regions have at least one exclusive contest, so it makes sense that you guys did that for your region as well. I also think it is awesome that one of the big reasons you guys made this decision is to help encourage smaller editors to enter, and I hope some awesome lesser-known talent is able to take advantage of it. I will definitely be watching the contest to see what comes up! Thank you so much for your reply. :dino:

User avatar
Empyreanous
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Empyreanous » Sat Apr 27, 2019 7:33 pm

Xophilarus wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 11:42 pm
You didn't sound negative towards my feelings at all! I REALLY appreciate your thoughtful response. Most regions have at least one exclusive contest, so it makes sense that you guys did that for your region as well. I also think it is awesome that one of the big reasons you guys made this decision is to help encourage smaller editors to enter, and I hope some awesome lesser-known talent is able to take advantage of it. I will definitely be watching the contest to see what comes up! Thank you so much for your reply. :dino:
Not a problem! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We really enjoy talking about these things with you, and of course take this information into consideration when we plan for the future :D

We definitely will be making some changes next year to ensure we can try be more inclusive. But nevertheless, thank you for your support! <3
Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
AMV Department
SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

User avatar
Renato
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:26 am
Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Renato » Tue May 07, 2019 8:36 am

Good morning, good afternoon and good evening all!

Renato here, the SMASH! AMV Co-ordinator! Just a friendly reminder that we are around one month away from the deadline!

We have already received some entries but if you haven't entered yet and want to take a shot at glory in Australia's only AMV competition, then please come and join us in our 13th year! :D

But if you are not the competitive type but still want to show off your epic AMV works, then come and submit your work for the AMV showcase and entertain the enthusiastic Australian audience!

And to follow on from Empyreanous' previous posts, everyone is welcome, old and new editors alike! ^_^
Image

User avatar
Empyreanous
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Empyreanous » Tue May 14, 2019 6:35 am

Renato wrote:
Tue May 07, 2019 8:36 am
Good morning, good afternoon and good evening all!

Renato here, the SMASH! AMV Co-ordinator! Just a friendly reminder that we are around one month away from the deadline!

We have already received some entries but if you haven't entered yet and want to take a shot at glory in Australia's only AMV competition, then please come and join us in our 13th year! :D

But if you are not the competitive type but still want to show off your epic AMV works, then come and submit your work for the AMV showcase and entertain the enthusiastic Australian audience!

And to follow on from Empyreanous' previous posts, everyone is welcome, old and new editors alike! ^_^
PRAISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

---
Friendly reminder, we are just under one month away from the deadline now!

Make sure you get your entries in by Sunday, 9 June 2019 @ 11:59 p.m. (UTC+10).

Image
Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
AMV Department
SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

User avatar
Empyreanous
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Org Profile

Re: SMASH! 2019 AMV Competition and Showcase **NOW OPENED**

Post by Empyreanous » Fri May 24, 2019 8:40 pm

Just over TWO WEEKS until our deadline!!!!

If you want the chance to win some amazing prizes this year or show off your amazing work - enter before Sunday 9 June 2019 11:59 p.m. (UTC +10).

Image
Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
AMV Department
SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

Post Reply

Return to “AMV Contests”