SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen II. (WINNERS REVEALED)

This forum is for the announcement and discussion of anime music video contests.
User avatar
Empyreanous
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Org Profile

SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen II. (WINNERS REVEALED)

Postby Empyreanous » Sat Jun 17, 2017 7:05 am

    Image


    RESULTS ARE OUT!
    Congratulations to everyone and thank you all for your participation!


    The SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition is officially over and we are now pleased to reveal all the results thus far! I'd like to say a big thank you to everyone that participated and entered this year! This year was a big year for us as we went through a lot of changes to our competition, but we stayed strong! And we couldn't have done it without you all! With that being said, here are the results for this years competition!

    SMASH! 2017 ANIME MUSIC VIDEO COMPETITION RESULTS:

    Action:
    WINNER: "Future Rail" by Egnaro
    Runner up: "We Are" by Epitome
    Third (Finalist): "Protium 3.0" by TritioAFB

    Drama:
    WINNER: "Reach" by SliceofLife
    Runner up: "Where We Are" by Javis COE
    Third (Finalist): "Amor Fati" by AnimeMashup and AngelDragoon

    Romance:
    WINNER: "Medicine" by Pocky Amv, nøtaku, MadStu, watashi.ae, Zobix, dekufx
    Runner up: "Sword Art Online - Cannon" by Alan Ko & "Follow the Light" by Heshan

    Fun:
    WINNER: "Hapless" by Joy's AMV
    Runner up: "That's My Grill" by MentalFate
    Third (Finalist): "Paid Salary" by shorisquared

    Upbeat:
    WINNER: "That's My Grill" by MentalFate
    Runner up: "Paid Salary" by shorisquared
    Third (Finalist): "Can't Stop the Anime" by numbuh0051

    Category X:
    WINNER: "Complex Mechanisms" by Unlucky
    Runner up: "Match Point" by Miki and Jeff
    Third (Finalist): "Kizumonogatari" by Ergo

    People's Choice Award:
    WINNER: "Memories" by Fruity

    Judges' Choice Award:
    WINNER: "Hapless" by Joy's AMV

    Best Technical:
    WINNER: "Future Rail" by Egnaro

    True Blue Award:
    WINNER: "Future Rail" by Egnaro

    SMASH! AMV of the Year 2017
    WINNER: "That's My Grill" by MentalFate

    Congratulations to everyone!!!! We'll be in contact with the winners over the next following days. For now, we'll see you all in 2018! ^_^

    **Competition Info:
    Spoiler :
    A new era for SMASH! AMVs, same loving spirit,
    (just the right amount)


    Hi again folks! It's been a while!

    Thanks to all those who participated in last year's AMV competition, as well as the Blitz AMV Tournament. Because of you guys, we have become quite a popular event at SMASH! and at the end of each screenings session, we've had a number of people speak to us on who you guys are, how to make epic AMVs like that, etc. :rofl: You guys are the life and blood of the AMV competition! From Shin to Centurione, from l33tmeatwad to drewaconclusion, and to all the other editors out there, you folks have kept the Australian anime fans quite entertained with your epic works!

    The SMASH! Anime Music Competition is back for 2017, but this time, after taking on some feedback, as well as looking towards the future, we decided to start a new era for the competition; a fresh start. Maybe call it, "The Rebirth of the SMASH! AMV Competition".

    To find out more information, click on the links below:

    Main AMV Page
    Rules and Submissions Guidelines
    Submission form
    Our Video AMV site

    When does the competition start: NOW!
    When does the competition close: Sunday, August 6, 2017 @ 11:59 p.m. (AEST/UTC+10) (Deadline for your timezone is at the end of this post)

    --------

    So, are you curious to know what the changes are compared from the last ten years? We've listened to your feedback and adjusted to the current AMV environment. Here are some of the following changes:

    Introducing a new award: SMASH! AMV of the Year - This was a long time coming and after the amazing amount of people who voted in last year's SMASH! AMV of the Decade, we decided to finally put this in and give glory to the one who makes the best AMV at SMASH! for the year 2017!
    The Blitz AMV Tournament has been discontinued :( - While we did enjoy running it, we noticed that it took the editors a lot of time to get their videos done. As such, we decided to close it down.
    ONLY ONE (1) AMV SUBMISSION! - For the sake of originality, for this year, you can submit only one AMV, so more time to focus on one, and not just put in three (although if you do that, you must be a superhuman)
    Your AMV MUST NOT have been entered in previous SMASH! AMV competitions, nor have competed in any other previous competitions - To preserve the fairness and originality of the competition, we decided to implement this rule, as we'd like to see all editors battle it out in Australia's biggest AMV competition! :D
    Japanese made animations from games and other shows, manga artworks AND Japanese style animation not produced in Japan are NOW ALLOWED to be used in your AMV! - We decided to be a bit flexible and let you expand your creativity!
    Videos can now be made up to 6 minutes - We are giving you that extra minute to showcase your AMV. However, make sure you keep us entertained throughout the AMV!
    Crucially, the way we judge AMVs - Every year, we strive to make sure we choose the best AMVs out there and this year is no exception. However, we will be sure to judge your AMV based on a number of factors such as your originality, creativity, technical abilities, video and music integration, along with following the rules. There will be finalists revealed before the SMASH! event period so you can see who will stand out the most amongst the others!

    These are some of the many changes and additions that we offer in the SMASH! AMV Competition! Again, please look at the rules and submission guidelines to make sure you know what to do when entering the competition!

    --------

    That's all there is to it!

    For those who decide to come back and enter in the AMV competition, Welcome back! :mrgreen:

    For those who are new to this, your participation in this competition is greatly appreciated, and we will do our best to show your works to the Australian public (and the world too). :D

    If you have any questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on amv@smash.org.au, via PM here in the forums or just simply message in this thread and we will get back to you ASAP!

    Well what are you waiting for? Get cracking and come and join Australia's biggest AMV competition! And for those who enter, I wish you Good Luck and all the best!


    - Renato, Nathan, Eake and Anam

    --------

    What time is the deadline in your end? Find out below!

    UTC+/0 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 1:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Reykjavik

    UTC+1 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 2:59 p.m.
    Cities include: London, Dublin, Lisbon

    UTC+2 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 3:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Paris, Frankfurt, Rome, Madrid, Zurich, Johannesburg

    UTC+3 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 4:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Sofia, Athens, Helsinki, Bucharest, Istanbul

    UTC+4 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 5:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Moscow, Dubai

    UTC+5 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 6:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Karachi, Islamabad

    UTC+5:30 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 7:29 p.m.
    Cities include: New Delhi, Mumbai

    UTC+6 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 7:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Yangon

    UTC+7 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 8:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Bangkok

    UTC+8 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 9:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Perth, Singapore, Manila, Hong Kong, Beijing, Kuala Lumpur

    UTC+9 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 10:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Tokyo, Seoul

    UTC+9:30 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 11:29 p.m.
    Cities include: Adelaide, Darwin

    UTC+10 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 11:59 p.m.
    Cities include: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart

    UTC+12 - Monday, 7 August 2017 @ 1:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Auckland, Wellington

    UTC-10 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 3:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Honolulu

    UTC-8 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 5:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Anchorage

    UTC-7 (Pacific Daylight Time) - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 6:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Los Angeles, Seattle, Vancouver, Phoenix

    UTC-6 (Mountain Daylight Time) - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 7:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Calgary, Edmonton, Denver, Tegucigalpa

    UTC-5 (Central Daylight Time) - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 8:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Chicago, Houston, New Orleans, Winnipeg, Bogota

    UTC-4 (Eastern Daylight Time) - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 9:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Atlanta, Boston, New York, Washington DC, Toronto, Santiago

    UTC-3 - Sunday, 6 August 2017 @ 10:59 a.m.
    Cities include: Halifax, Buenos Aires, Sao Paolo, Rio de Janeiro
    Last edited by Empyreanous on Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:45 am, edited 29 times in total.
    Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
    AMV Department
    SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

    User avatar
    TritioAFB
    Ambassador of the AMVWorld
    Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:38 am
    Status: Doctor
    Location: Honduras
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II

    Postby TritioAFB » Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:11 pm

    I prefer it his way. Not fair to see the same amv winning everything from january to december
    Making AMVs by day, Going to Gym by Night
    ImageImage

    User avatar
    xDieguitoAMV
    Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:52 am
    Location: Argentina
    Contact:
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II

    Postby xDieguitoAMV » Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:58 pm

    Awesome guys, love the new changes. Best of luck! :up:

    User avatar
    Empyreanous
    Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
    Location: Sydney, Australia
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II

    Postby Empyreanous » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:25 pm

    Thanks guys! Looking forward to some amazing entries this year :D
    Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
    AMV Department
    SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

    User avatar
    Renato
    Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:26 am
    Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Contact:
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II

    Postby Renato » Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:04 am

    Hi folks, Renato here, am just busy going around the place but I'm still helping running this competition!

    Thanks for the kind comments and if the schedule fits, hope you guys enter! I would say this year is like a 'transitional' period into running the competition differently but we hope for the best! X3

    For those who haven't entered yet, why not come and join! :D Any questions and queries are welcomed and answered in a timely manner!
    Image

    User avatar
    Empyreanous
    Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
    Location: Sydney, Australia
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II

    Postby Empyreanous » Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:23 pm

    Just a friendly reminder that there is now ONE MONTH left until the deadline! Make sure you get your entries in before 6th August for your chance to show off your amazing creativity and skills!! :D
    Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
    AMV Department
    SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

    Black-Jake
    Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:24 pm
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II

    Postby Black-Jake » Thu Jul 06, 2017 11:52 am

    Hi , first of all im new in this forum , and i found many amazing amv's that made me want to make one ! , i actually finished my first Might Guy amv and i was wondering if i can join this contest if my video is more than 300 mb ? it's actually around 375 mb so :@ . Thank u !

    User avatar
    Empyreanous
    Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
    Location: Sydney, Australia
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II

    Postby Empyreanous » Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:22 pm

    Black-Jake wrote:Hi , first of all im new in this forum , and i found many amazing amv's that made me want to make one ! , i actually finished my first Might Guy amv and i was wondering if i can join this contest if my video is more than 300 mb ? it's actually around 375 mb so :@ . Thank u !


    First of all, welcome to the forums! I'm glad you have found an interest in AMVs :D

    Regarding your file size, it is perfectly fine to submit your AMV with that file size, as long as it follows our other rules!

    I hope this answers your question. We are looking forward to receiving your entry! ^_^
    Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
    AMV Department
    SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

    User avatar
    Empyreanous
    Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
    Location: Sydney, Australia
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II

    Postby Empyreanous » Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:57 am

    About 3 weeks to go now until the deadline! :D
    Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
    AMV Department
    SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

    User avatar
    Empyreanous
    Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
    Location: Sydney, Australia
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II

    Postby Empyreanous » Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:32 am

    Hey guys! Just updating to let you guys know there is about two weeks until the deadline! Make sure you get your entries in before 6th August for your chance achieve glory and to win a prize in this years competition! So get around to completing those unfinished AMVs if you still haven't already!! :D
    Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
    AMV Department
    SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

    User avatar
    Empyreanous
    Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
    Location: Sydney, Australia
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II (7 DAYS TO GO)

    Postby Empyreanous » Sat Jul 29, 2017 7:54 pm

    ONE WEEK TO GO!!!! If you have any unfinished AMVs or an already completed AMV that you think is worthy for this year's competition, start finishing them up and/or make those adjustments so you can submit before 6th August. Make sure you tell your friends too! Anyone who enters has a chance to win an amazing prize, achieve recognition and become apart of SMASH!'s Hall of Fame!
    Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
    AMV Department
    SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

    User avatar
    Renato
    Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 2:26 am
    Location: Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
    Contact:
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II (7 DAYS TO GO)

    Postby Renato » Sun Jul 30, 2017 5:55 am

    One more thing, let us know if you have any problems regarding your submission! This tends to be the period where we get a lot of queries so let us know as soon as possible! :P
    Image

    Javis COE
    Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 3:36 am
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II (4 DAYS TO GO)

    Postby Javis COE » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:53 pm

    Found out about the contest just as I was finishing up on an AMV, have entered it today :)

    User avatar
    Empyreanous
    Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
    Location: Sydney, Australia
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II (4 DAYS TO GO)

    Postby Empyreanous » Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:59 pm

    Javis COE wrote:Found out about the contest just as I was finishing up on an AMV, have entered it today :)


    We are glad that you found interest with us :D Looking forward to see how you do!
    Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
    AMV Department
    SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)

    User avatar
    Empyreanous
    Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:30 am
    Location: Sydney, Australia
    Org Profile

    Re: SMASH! 2017 AMV Competition - Gen. II (1 DAY TO GO)

    Postby Empyreanous » Fri Aug 04, 2017 7:44 pm

    JUST UNDER 48 HOURS TO GO!!!

    Got that unfinished project that has potential to be a great finished video? Maybe an older video that hasn't been entered in a competition yet? Or maybe you are feeling like a challenge to make a video in less than 48 hours - granted you probably wouldn't sleep but it could be worth it if you end up winning something!! All the options and more! We don't want to stop you from entering at all!! Your AMV has a chance to premiere in the big screens at the SMASH! convention! Or you can be apart of our Hall of Fame!

    So what are you guys waiting for... ENTER NOW!
    Assistant AMV Co-ordinator
    AMV Department
    SMASH! (Sydney Manga and Anime Show)


    Return to “AMV Contests”

    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests