Exporting Rotobrushed footage from After Effects to Premiere

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.
Tarage
Org Profile

Exporting Rotobrushed footage from After Effects to Premiere

Post by Tarage » Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:00 am

This is my first time messing with After Effects and I have successfully rotobrushed a clip that I now want to put back into my Premiere timeline with what I brushed out as transparent. However, I am having a hell of a time trying to figure out how to even do this.

For whatever reason, Premiere and After Effects refuse to talk to each other, so I can't use Dynamic Link. I rendered out the footage I wanted to edit as an mpeg and got it into After Effects. From there, I rotobrushed the character and everything is rendering out great. However, I can't seem to find a good way to then put this back into Premiere. If I use make movie, I end up with an AVI with black or whatever color I pick in place of what I rotobrushed away. Because there is some feathering, if I just do a flat out chroma key, the clip has a whatever-color-I-exported-with halo around it. The way I did this before I started trying to use AE was I created masks by hand in photoshop and pasted them in frame by frame. When I did it that way, I created black/white masks. Is there a way to do that with AE? Is there a better way I should be exporting this?

Any help would be appreciated.

Shui
Shuitcake
Org Profile

Re: Exporting Rotobrushed footage from After Effects to Prem

Post by Shui » Wed Jan 14, 2015 7:35 am

Which Version are you using?
Spoiler :
fucking stealing other poeples hard work and claiming it as your own, you guys should be ashemed