Cannot RIP AIR dvd

A forum for assistance with capturing or ripping footage from various media sources.
Cloudius
Org Profile

Cannot RIP AIR dvd

Post by Cloudius » Thu Sep 02, 2010 12:32 pm

I want to make an Air amv, but I can't find a DVD ripper that 1. is free, and 2. will read my dvd and rip it. I've got windows Vista, and it's the AIR complete series disc 1 of 2. Can anyone guide me on what I can do to accomplish this? Thanks! I'm totally new with this and know NOTHING about this kind of thing so dummify the steps so much that a 3 year old could do it please. Otherwise I will be asking a bajillion questions and I don't joke when i say bajillion. Here are a few if you answer them anyway:

Does ripping take the footage off the DVD, or just make a copy of it on my PC?
After I rip a dvd, can I still use it to watch on a regular DVD player?
What is the ifo file on the disc? Are these important?
Shouldn't there be only 1 vob file on the disc for each episode? So why are there about 5 or 6 per "title"?
How can I find out what title I need to rip to get the episodes I want?

mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Org Profile

Re: Cannot RIP AIR dvd

Post by mirkosp » Thu Sep 02, 2010 12:35 pm

Read <a href=http://www.a-m-v.org/guides/avtech31/>ErMaC & AbsoluteDestiny's Friendly AMV Guides Lovingly Overhauled Largely by Zarxrax</a>.

Kariudo
Twilight prince
Org Profile

Post by Kariudo » Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:25 pm

Cloudius wrote:Does ripping take the footage off the DVD, or just make a copy of it on my PC?
It's making a copy. Ripping is the process of taking the content on a dvd and removing encryption/copy protection so you can use the footage in other programs.
Cloudius wrote:After I rip a dvd, can I still use it to watch on a regular DVD player?
Yep, ripping doesn't do anything to the dvd physically. The dvd won't know you did it, and neither will any dvd player.
Cloudius wrote:What is the ifo file on the disc? Are these important?