Just trying to get started...please HELP

heraldtalia
Org Profile

Just trying to get started...please HELP

Post by heraldtalia » Sat Feb 01, 2003 12:39 pm

Hi. I'm just trying to get started with making AMVs from DVD and don't know where to even begin. I know we need to get a DVD-Rom drive, but when I pulled up Best Buy and Circuit City online, all the specifications were way too technical for me. (I'm ashamed to admit that I know next to nothing about technical computer terms, hardware and software.)

Can anyone please tell me what kind of DVD-Rom drive I should get to capture video for use in AMVs? I'm totally new to this and completely lost (in case you can't tell), so if you would please "dumb down" your answer for me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance for the help.

D.Co
Org Profile

Post by D.Co » Mon Feb 03, 2003 3:46 am

WEll most any dvd rom drive will be able to rip a dvd onto your hard drive given the proper ripping software. There are some dvd drives that are better than others but barring you buying a broken drive most any you buy will work to rip DVDs.

You don't really capture the video in the traditional sense of taking video off a analogue stream of some sort. What you really do when you rip a dvd is copy (after decrypting) the movie files off the DVD disk onto your hard drive.

Anyhow don't worry about being new or not understanding anything technical about digital shit. You'll learn that in time. May I reccomend reading the guides (espcially Ermacs and absoluteDestinies guide ato all things audio and video) that are on this site as well as dicking around www.Doom9.org. You'll learn all that you need to know and then some there.[/img]

sopranosomega
Org Profile

Post by sopranosomega » Tue Feb 04, 2003 12:13 pm

I would stick with that for now heraldtalia.