how to rec dvd to miniDV???????

Locked
kakopunk
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 5:58 am
Location: west oakland
Contact:
Org Profile

how to rec dvd to miniDV???????

Post by kakopunk » Sun Mar 30, 2003 6:05 am



does anybody here know how to record vhd or dvd to miniDV via miniDV vidio camera? unfortuneatley i do not have any $ nor will in the next year to buy a dvd burner. so if any of you know it would realy help me out alot. i realy need a creative ooutlet like this and i have so many good ideas. thanks for your time. my e-mail is kako@trigun.com.

User avatar
V3n0m
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 5:36 am
Location: The far side of the heat...
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by V3n0m » Sun Mar 30, 2003 6:35 am

u lost me chuck

*jumps out the window*

dvd burner... Comp>MiniDV... whats the purpose this isnt an AMV questoin as much as it is a question of what the instruction manuel says, you hook it up to your comp... wait, different recorders/DV = different instructions... Oh well ur screwed hope ya can read this ok

Consult Instruction Manual
Balance is the Universe
and universe is province
Ever Stare Directly into a SaiyanZ Eye?
http://www.saiyanz-venom.com

kakopunk
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 5:58 am
Location: west oakland
Contact:
Org Profile

miniDV

Post by kakopunk » Tue Apr 01, 2003 4:36 pm

I have consulted the manuel and it is a amv question because if i can reccord the clips i want on to miniDV then run them into premire/finalcut i can avoid going over to my freinds house all the time to use his computer for hours. not to metion save me alot of time. the manuel isnt spacific and i have read the whole thing. i thought someone here might have done this prosses and could let me know. what was the point of you responding to my question like that? having you treat me as if i was 12 isnt very helpfull. i dont understand why you felt the need to even respond if you didnt know how to do it. you must of had a bad day. You should try to be more nice to people who are asking for help.

User avatar
Mechaman
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 5:21 pm
Location: Greater Pacific Northwest
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Mechaman » Tue Apr 01, 2003 10:14 pm

You should try to be more nice to people who are asking for help.
But by the same token, it's expected that people should ask for help nicely, and in a clear and concise manner. Spouting off a long string of misspelled words, failing to outline the situation/problem exactly, and giving the impression of someone with no time for manners, does not elicit any great help from a community of people who have no major incentive to answer your questions; save for respect, politeness, and volunteering.

That being said, your question. I'm assuming that you are looking to record into DV because your friend has a Firewire card in his machine; and you have a camcorder that has a i.Link port.
I'm not terribly sure what your problem might be; hooking up output leads from your VHS/DVD source into your camera's standard video ports and pressing "play" and "record" on the source and camera respectively, should work.
What you may run into is problems with Macrovision if the DVD was encoded with it. I don't remember offhand if camcorders will honor a Macrovision signal when they do the DV conversion(I wouldn't be surprised if Sony's did). In that case, you'll have to clean the signal(using a common-or-garden Radio Shack "signal cleaner"), or regenerate the signal(with a time-base corrector), to strip the Macrovision.

kakopunk
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2003 5:58 am
Location: west oakland
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by kakopunk » Sat Apr 05, 2003 5:27 am

you are absolutly correct i should have been more spacific in my answer and not have over reacted to to the previouse response. I appologize. as for the spelling i know it's horrble but i dont know english that well. i feel really bad i am sorry for the rucus. thank you for your response and answering my question. i will give it a shot and let you know if it works. Thank you soo much and again i appologize to the both of you.

Locked

Return to “Hardware Discussion”