Zarx264gui 1.3

If you have questions about compression/encoding/converting look here.
Drageer5
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 6:34 pm
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by Drageer5 » Sat Dec 12, 2009 6:43 pm

My mp4 file isn't in the folder after i encode I know there have been other problems like this so i decided i'd post the info.

Starting...
x264 [info]: 720x480 @ 29.97 fps
Encoding video stream pass 1 of 1
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2
x264 [info]: profile Main, level 3.0
x264 [info]: frame I:1 Avg QP:17.00 size: 40537
x264 [info]: frame P:66 Avg QP:21.29 size: 23977
x264 [info]: frame B:132 Avg QP:23.61 size: 10425
x264 [info]: consecutive B-frames: 0.0% 0.0% 100.0%
x264 [info]: mb I I16..4: 100.0% 0.0% 0.0%
x264 [info]: mb P I16..4: 46.2% 0.0% 0.0% P16..4: 43.7% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% skip:10.1%
x264 [info]: mb B I16..4: 16.3% 0.0% 0.0% B16..8: 32.7% 0.0% 0.0% direct:20.6% skip:30.4% L0:38.3% L1:38.1% BI:23.6%
x264 [info]: coded y,uvDC,uvAC intra: 52.2% 58.8% 19.6% inter: 35.3% 36.7% 2.6%
x264 [info]: i16 v,h,dc,p: 32% 38% 14% 17%
x264 [info]: kb/s:3613.33
Unknown input file type
Error importing C:\Documents and Settings\OWNER\My Documents\Oblivion Overdose #12.avi-zarx264gui-temp.264: Requested URL is not valid or cannot be found
Finished!

My settings are the default settings as they fit the video I am working on

Thanks in advance,
Drageer

User avatar
LantisEscudo
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2001 5:21 pm
Location: Vermont
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by LantisEscudo » Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:13 am

Try renaming the file so it doesn't include a #. Odd characters like that can cause issues.

User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
Location: St. Pete, FL
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by Qyot27 » Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:55 am

Is there any ETA on when the additional features are going to be added? Even though I only use the CLI, weightp and the fact that mbtree now works with b-pyramid are really sort of invaluable. Just doing some really unrealistic testing, I can say that x264 truly frightens me. Using approximately the same level of settings I did on my latest video (that I released in February), the filesize on that video to come out of r1373 was less than half what was then - from 46 MBs to 19 MBs, for a 4-minute video. And without practically any visible loss. Granted, I sourced it from the distro encode that's also here on LOCAL, not my lossless copy or the 'master' H.264, but that's still really damn scary.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog

User avatar
Zarxrax
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2001 6:37 pm
Location: Concord, NC
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by Zarxrax » Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:36 am

I'm not sure what you mean by that. It's using build 1369, which was released a few days ago. I've also been keeping it up to date all along. (and currently updating to 1373, as I see something in the changelog that looks fairly important)

Regarding the filename issue. I'll see if I can't add a check to see if filenames contain any invalid characters. I'm not sure how plausible that will be though.

User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
Location: St. Pete, FL
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by Qyot27 » Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:39 pm

Zarxrax wrote:I'm not sure what you mean by that. It's using build 1369, which was released a few days ago. I've also been keeping it up to date all along. (and currently updating to 1373, as I see something in the changelog that looks fairly important)

Regarding the filename issue. I'll see if I can't add a check to see if filenames contain any invalid characters. I'm not sure how plausible that will be though.
Never mind, then. I'd neglected to check first and relied only on the latest comments to the thread here, and didn't know the incremental stuff had been done. Sometimes I really need to read more.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog

User avatar
Bakadeshi
Abuses Spellcheck
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by Bakadeshi » Mon Jan 04, 2010 9:42 pm

a problem I found on my sister's windows 7 PC (was helping her encode her video to upload), Directshowsource seems to cause x264gui to stop responding (IE if I add the file as an avi and let your program create the avs files, it just hangs. if I try again to open the avs file it creates, it still hangs. When I edit it and change to avisource, it works fine. Directshowsource seems to hang in virtualdub also, so it could be some problem with the version plugin i have and windows 7. Shouldn't opening an AVI in your program default to AVIsource instead of Directshowsource?

Qyot27: According to the docs, Weightp was introduced along with the preset and tune settings, so it should be in any of the builds that use them.

User avatar
mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
Location: Granarolo dell'Emilia (BO), Italy
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by mirkosp » Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:47 pm

Bakadeshi wrote:Qyot27: According to the docs, Weightp was introduced along with the preset and tune settings, so it should be in any of the builds that use them.
Nah weightp came only recently (after r1300 IIRC), preset and tune have been around since r1177.
Image

User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
Location: St. Pete, FL
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by Qyot27 » Tue Jan 05, 2010 2:18 pm

Bakadeshi wrote:Qyot27: According to the docs, Weightp was introduced along with the preset and tune settings, so it should be in any of the builds that use them.
I wasn't actually asking for myself - I use the CLI for x264, keep up with the development process near-daily, and compile my own builds on Windows and Linux. I was simply asking when those nicer features would be available for everyone that chooses to use Zarx's GUI, but I hadn't checked the newest build to see if it had been done at the time. I pretty much stuck my foot in my mouth because I'd not looked closer.

That said, the need to rely on DirectShowSource will soon be moot because input through FFmpegSource2 is in the pipeline, as part of the ability for x264 to load AviSynth's source filters directly (which was introduced within the, what, last 10 revisions or something?). Not that script input is being taken out, but x264's input system is becoming more general-purpose.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog

User avatar
Castor Troy
Ryan Molina, A.C.E
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2001 8:45 pm
Status: Retired from AMVs
Location: California
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by Castor Troy » Sat Jan 09, 2010 12:05 pm

Bakadeshi wrote:a problem I found on my sister's windows 7 PC (was helping her encode her video to upload), Directshowsource seems to cause x264gui to stop responding (IE if I add the file as an avi and let your program create the avs files, it just hangs. if I try again to open the avs file it creates, it still hangs. When I edit it and change to avisource, it works fine. Directshowsource seems to hang in virtualdub also, so it could be some problem with the version plugin i have and windows 7. Shouldn't opening an AVI in your program default to AVIsource instead of Directshowsource?

Qyot27: According to the docs, Weightp was introduced along with the preset and tune settings, so it should be in any of the builds that use them.
Maybe this could be the reason why it's not working on my win7 machine.
"You're ignoring everything, except what you want to hear.." - jbone

User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:32 pm
Status: Breathing
Location: Merrimack, NH
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by BasharOfTheAges » Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:11 pm

Zarxrax wrote:The 64bit version should be slightly faster (I saw a 4-5% increase on my system), but the main advantage of this build is in memory usage. In the old version, both x264 and avisynth had to share a single 2gb pool of memory. When encoding at HD resolutions, this could easily lead to out of memory errors.
How much more RAM should it be using? I'm running Win7(pro)x64 using the 64 bit version of x264 and my entire system (including having firefox, Pidgin, etc. up) isn't breaking 2.5GB useage. I'm encoding a 15GB uncompressed 720p video too, so it's not like the file in question is tiny.

User avatar
Zarxrax
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2001 6:37 pm
Location: Concord, NC
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by Zarxrax » Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:39 pm

BasharOfTheAges wrote:How much more RAM should it be using? I'm running Win7(pro)x64 using the 64 bit version of x264 and my entire system (including having firefox, Pidgin, etc. up) isn't breaking 2.5GB useage. I'm encoding a 15GB uncompressed 720p video too, so it's not like the file in question is tiny.
I'm not sure how much ram it should be using. Sounds like your ram usage might be on the low end, but I suppose x264 is using what it needs.
Bakadeshi wrote:a problem I found on my sister's windows 7 PC (was helping her encode her video to upload), Directshowsource seems to cause x264gui to stop responding (IE if I add the file as an avi and let your program create the avs files, it just hangs. if I try again to open the avs file it creates, it still hangs. When I edit it and change to avisource, it works fine. Directshowsource seems to hang in virtualdub also, so it could be some problem with the version plugin i have and windows 7. Shouldn't opening an AVI in your program default to AVIsource instead of Directshowsource?
Sorry, I must have missed this post before. I am aware that a few people have been having this issue, though I have no idea what might be causing it (I am on windows 7 x64 myself, and have never ran into this problem). My gui used to use AVISource for AVI files, but I changed this behavior in order to provide compatability with DV-AVIs output from Windows Movie Maker (they don't typically work with AVIsource). Because the people using WMM (believe me, there are a LOT of them) are probably the people least likely to know how to create their own AVS script, I designed it to work in their favor.

Also, because I'm not completely satisfied with the way ffms2 handles the DV AVIs, I'm not using x264's new direct file loading features yet, until I work out a solution that I am satisfied with.

User avatar
SailorDeath
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2000 4:39 pm
Location: Northwest Indiana
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by SailorDeath » Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:35 am

Noticed a small problem when encoding a videot hat had about 1 second of black at the beginning. For whatever reason it puts the audio out of sync by however many seconds of black I have at the beginning. When creating the video I have an avi created that runs for about 2 seconds that is just a black screen. I also use a wav file that is just silence as well (mostly due to the fact that premiere doesn't like having empty video/audio before the amv starts) Anyway I can fix it by just clipping the 1 second of black/silence out of the video before exporting from premiere but I figured you'd like to know just in case.
Gimme a minute, I'll make a cool one....

User avatar
Zarxrax
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2001 6:37 pm
Location: Concord, NC
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by Zarxrax » Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:10 am

SailorDeath wrote:Noticed a small problem when encoding a videot hat had about 1 second of black at the beginning. For whatever reason it puts the audio out of sync by however many seconds of black I have at the beginning. When creating the video I have an avi created that runs for about 2 seconds that is just a black screen. I also use a wav file that is just silence as well (mostly due to the fact that premiere doesn't like having empty video/audio before the amv starts) Anyway I can fix it by just clipping the 1 second of black/silence out of the video before exporting from premiere but I figured you'd like to know just in case.
My best guess is that you are using lagarith and have the "enable null frames" option checked. Using AVISource in your avs script might fix it.

User avatar
SailorDeath
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2000 4:39 pm
Location: Northwest Indiana
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264gui 1.3

Post by SailorDeath » Tue Mar 16, 2010 12:49 pm

Thanks that did the trick
Gimme a minute, I'll make a cool one....

Locked

Return to “Conversion / Encoding Help”