Zarx264 and crashing

If you have questions about compression/encoding/converting look here.
Locked
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Org Profile

Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Krisqo » Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:18 pm

So I'm trying to convert a video using zarx264Gui and it runs along fine for a few minutes and then my whole computer shuts off. I've tried it several times with all my background programs closed and it still does it. It is upgraded to the most recent version Zarx has posted on the forums so it's not that. Any Ideas?

Code: Select all

AVISource("E:\Exports\Main Comp.avi")
ConvertToYV12()
LanczosResize(832,512)
Image

User avatar
mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
Location: Granarolo dell'Emilia (BO), Italy
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by mirkosp » Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:44 pm

Mmmmmmh... have you tried going to the bat tab, create a bat, and then run that to encode? If so, does the pc still shut down? Trying to isolate the issue, here, if it still shuts down, then it's some problem with x264 rather than the gui, and updating x264 itself might help (although I never had this issue with any of the x264 builds I used nor have I heard about it before).
If, on the other hand, the encode runs fine, then it's some issue with the gui and zarx will have to check out the code of the gui, I guess.
Image

User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Krisqo » Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:06 pm

mirkosp wrote:Mmmmmmh... have you tried going to the bat tab, create a bat, and then run that to encode? If so, does the pc still shut down? Trying to isolate the issue, here, if it still shuts down, then it's some problem with x264 rather than the gui, and updating x264 itself might help (although I never had this issue with any of the x264 builds I used nor have I heard about it before).
If, on the other hand, the encode runs fine, then it's some issue with the gui and zarx will have to check out the code of the gui, I guess.
Sorry if I'm a little tech-retarded but what and how do I make bat? I see it in the gui, but I have no idea what to do with it.
Image

User avatar
Zarxrax
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2001 6:37 pm
Location: Concord, NC
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Zarxrax » Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:39 pm

If your whole pc is shutting down that sounds like your cpu could be failing. Have you overclocked your cpu?

User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
Location: St. Pete, FL
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Qyot27 » Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:36 pm

Krisqo wrote:
mirkosp wrote:Mmmmmmh... have you tried going to the bat tab, create a bat, and then run that to encode? If so, does the pc still shut down? Trying to isolate the issue, here, if it still shuts down, then it's some problem with x264 rather than the gui, and updating x264 itself might help (although I never had this issue with any of the x264 builds I used nor have I heard about it before).
If, on the other hand, the encode runs fine, then it's some issue with the gui and zarx will have to check out the code of the gui, I guess.
Sorry if I'm a little tech-retarded but what and how do I make bat? I see it in the gui, but I have no idea what to do with it.
In essence, a .bat file is to Windows what AviSynth is to a video file. Just a series of commands stored in a script and executed - by the OS itself, in this case. The simplest ones are just regular command-line operations put on new lines so that the next operation runs after the last one is finished. This way you could have one line that encodes your audio, one line that encodes your video, and a third to mux them together into your container of choice. And all of this will be done automatically, without you needing to come back and do it yourself (in most cases, anyway).

All you have to do once you have the .bat file is double-click on it. Windows will do the rest.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog

User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:47 pm
Status: Quo
Location: New Jersey
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Scintilla » Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:41 pm

Use Task Manager or Norton System Doctor or whatever you want to check your CPU usage while the encode is running. If the CPU's being maxed out, then your system may just be failing due to overheating -- my solution for this back in the days when I had that problem was to remove the case cover (side panel).
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:

User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Krisqo » Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:11 am

Zarxrax wrote:If your whole pc is shutting down that sounds like your cpu could be failing. Have you overclocked your cpu?
Nope.
Qyot27 wrote:In essence, a .bat file is to Windows what AviSynth is to a video file. Just a series of commands stored in a script and executed - by the OS itself, in this case. The simplest ones are just regular command-line operations put on new lines so that the next operation runs after the last one is finished. This way you could have one line that encodes your audio, one line that encodes your video, and a third to mux them together into your container of choice. And all of this will be done automatically, without you needing to come back and do it yourself (in most cases, anyway).

All you have to do once you have the .bat file is double-click on it. Windows will do the rest.
Sounds simple enough. I'll give it a try tomorrow.
Scintilla wrote:Use Task Manager or Norton System Doctor or whatever you want to check your CPU usage while the encode is running. If the CPU's being maxed out, then your system may just be failing due to overheating -- my solution for this back in the days when I had that problem was to remove the case cover (side panel).
Hope not. It's a relativly new CPU. What confuses me is that it only happened when I used the zarx264gui. But when I tried VDubMod, no crash. Tossed in 4 nonstop hours of gaming on it. No crash. But I'll run the gui again tomorrow and see what I come up with.
Image

User avatar
Zarxrax
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2001 6:37 pm
Location: Concord, NC
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Zarxrax » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:19 am

Krisqo wrote:Hope not. It's a relativly new CPU. What confuses me is that it only happened when I used the zarx264gui. But when I tried VDubMod, no crash. Tossed in 4 nonstop hours of gaming on it. No crash. But I'll run the gui again tomorrow and see what I come up with.
x264 can easily max out all of the cores on a cpu. Virtualdub will only use 1 core unless you are using a codec that is multithreaded (most codecs aren't), and the games you are playing might not be utilizing all of your cpu cores fully.

To test if the problem is your cpu, i'd recommend running prime95 for a while and see if anything happens. Get the version that is appropriate for your operating system:
32bit: http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=103
64bit: http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=205

User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Krisqo » Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:06 pm

Zarxrax wrote:
Krisqo wrote:Hope not. It's a relativly new CPU. What confuses me is that it only happened when I used the zarx264gui. But when I tried VDubMod, no crash. Tossed in 4 nonstop hours of gaming on it. No crash. But I'll run the gui again tomorrow and see what I come up with.
x264 can easily max out all of the cores on a cpu. Virtualdub will only use 1 core unless you are using a codec that is multithreaded (most codecs aren't), and the games you are playing might not be utilizing all of your cpu cores fully.

To test if the problem is your cpu, i'd recommend running prime95 for a while and see if anything happens. Get the version that is appropriate for your operating system:
32bit: http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=103
64bit: http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=205
Looks like it is the CPU. Computer shut off before the any test could be completed (use the Blend test thing). Guess i gotta start saving for a new one.
Image

User avatar
Zarxrax
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2001 6:37 pm
Location: Concord, NC
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Zarxrax » Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:42 pm

Krisqo wrote:Looks like it is the CPU. Computer shut off before the any test could be completed (use the Blend test thing). Guess i gotta start saving for a new one.
The problem is that your CPU is overheating. It could be that a fan inside your PC has failed, or something like that.

User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Krisqo » Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:47 pm

Zarxrax wrote:
Krisqo wrote:Looks like it is the CPU. Computer shut off before the any test could be completed (use the Blend test thing). Guess i gotta start saving for a new one.
The problem is that your CPU is overheating. It could be that a fan inside your PC has failed, or something like that.
Just did a check of my fans (thank god for clear cases) and all my fans are running. I remember a friend said that having too many fans could cause more heat. I'm using a thermaltake V1 case. Got one intake fan in the front. One big exhaust on the side, two in the back, and one on the top. Plus the heatsink fan.
Image

User avatar
Zarxrax
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2001 6:37 pm
Location: Concord, NC
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Zarxrax » Thu Nov 05, 2009 5:01 pm

Did you check the one that's attached directly to the cpu?
Edit: nevermind, I guess you already answered that

If you just need to encode something in the meantime, you could try telling Zarx264gui to only use 1 thread in the advanced settings tab.
Oh, and you might want to try checking in your BIOS settings to make sure your cpu didn't get overclocked somehow, or maybe even try underclocking it a little bit. (search google for overclocking guides)

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Kariudo » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:35 pm

Krisqo wrote:
Zarxrax wrote:
Krisqo wrote:Looks like it is the CPU. Computer shut off before the any test could be completed (use the Blend test thing). Guess i gotta start saving for a new one.
The problem is that your CPU is overheating. It could be that a fan inside your PC has failed, or something like that.
Just did a check of my fans (thank god for clear cases) and all my fans are running. I remember a friend said that having too many fans could cause more heat. I'm using a thermaltake V1 case. Got one intake fan in the front. One big exhaust on the side, two in the back, and one on the top. Plus the heatsink fan.
Is your cpu heatsink clogged with dust?

if not, then it may be that your heatsink isn't seated properly. If you have some thermal paste, a coffee filter or glass cleaning cloth that you can sacrifice, and some rubbing (isopropyl) alcohol you can try removing the heatsink, cleaning the cpu and heatsink with the cloth/filter & alcohol and reapply thermal paste and hope you get a better fit.

Are you using a stock heatsink/fan? If so, you should probably turn your side exhaust fan around so it's feeding your cpu hsf with cool air, instead of having it fight (and probably win) against the smaller cpu fan.

If you have tons of cables dangling everywhere, you're killing the airflow in your case. Try pushing cables to the bottom of your case, or to the side the motherboard is seated on. The ribbon cables for IDE hard drives are airflow killers, if nothing else you should push these as out of the way as possible (doesn't really matter how mangled they get)
Image
Image

User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Krisqo » Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:15 am

Just got the problem fixed tonight. Turns out the thermal paste was slightly burnt which was causing my CPU temp to shoot up to about 120c when encoding. Cleaned the heat sink, added some new paste and my temps have been cut by more than half.
Image

User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:47 pm
Status: Quo
Location: New Jersey
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Zarx264 and crashing

Post by Scintilla » Wed Nov 11, 2009 7:07 am

Krisqo wrote:Turns out the thermal paste was slightly burnt which was causing my CPU temp to shoot up to about 120c when encoding.
O_o Good lord!! And the default auto-shutoff temperature in my motherboard's BIOS is 70 C, and I thought THAT was hot...
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:

Locked

Return to “Conversion / Encoding Help”