Is there an easier way to compress and encode vids?

If you have questions about compression/encoding/converting look here.
Grey Mountain
Org Profile

Is there an easier way to compress and encode vids?

Post by Grey Mountain » Tue Jul 08, 2003 6:01 pm

:shock: I'm so confused with the whole do-this- or- do- that- but- this- is- better- so- do- this- but- then- that- is- the- way- and- then- to- do- this- that- and so on :x you know what i mean! :roll: the "A&E's Technical Guides to All Things Audio and Video" guide. it's sooooo tedious just trying to follow! is there anyother guide that will make it straight foward and easier? :? personally, it would be great if someone could just breifly outline what i should do, and then i'll look it up on the guide itself! what the heck do i have to download? it's really getting to me that there are sooo many recomendations but yet i have no idea how to use them!
sorry minna-san :cry: (everyone) but i'm a beginner !
GREY MOUNTAIN***

Arctyc
Org Profile

Post by Arctyc » Tue Jul 08, 2003 6:16 pm

Get AMVapp from the A&E guide page.

Other than an editing program like Premiere, FCP, WMM, etc., it's just about the only thing you'll need. (I can't remember, is the ripper proggie not included in that package?)

A&E's guide is really good. The sections you want in-order for basic instructions are:

The Getting Video Section

The Getting Audio Section

The Pre-Editing Preparation Section

Edit Here (There are sections in the guide for this as well.)

The Pre-Compression Preparation Section

The Compression Section

That'll run you through the whole process. Yes, the options can be confusing, but once you gain some experience with them, you realize that they come in handy sometimes when you want an alternate option. Especially because what you need to do depends quite a bit on which software you're using in the process.

If you can let us know what you're running with, maybe we can simplify things a bit.

Grey Mountain
Org Profile