Avi's for windows moviemaker

For help and discussion concerning the Windows Movie Maker software.

Avi's for windows moviemaker

Postby Kani_Senpai » Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:08 pm

not sure if this should go here, but here goes.

whenever i try to use an avi in windows mmaker, it says it doesnt have the correct codec, and that's all it says.

does anyone have a solution to this?
(im entirely new at this, but oh well)
Kani_Senpai
 
Joined: 12 Nov 2006
Location: Canada

Postby Purge » Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:15 pm

you going to have to discover what codec the file has. But one usual fix is to convert to a lossless codec (eg. huffyuz,lagarith).

You should read the how-to-guides on the website as well
http://www.animemusicvideos.org/guides/
http://www.animemusicvideos.org/guides/avtech/
User avatar
Purge
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Location: Under Aus

Postby Full Metal Sempai » Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:26 pm

In order to find a solution to this problem you'll have to tell us which codecs are installed in your pc and what codec the file has.
If for example,you don't have Xvid installed in your pc and try to insert an Xvid episode in WMM then of course there will be a problem.

Also,another idea would be to use VirtualDubMod to convert the video file to another codec,like Purge said.
User avatar
Full Metal Sempai
 
Joined: 17 Mar 2005
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby Autraya » Sat Nov 25, 2006 8:28 am

dunno if I'm barging in with a wrong answer here buut...
I use whatever plugins/codecs were included in the AMVapp, K-Lite code pack and the Combined Community Codec Pack (esp to play Decoy & Pwolf's latest stuff).
Is this the same as WMM? I've never had a problem inporting into WMM, but I write the AVIsnth to AVI before I do it (and I can't remember from Read ErMaC & AbsoluteDestiny's Friendly AMV Guides if WMM only likes RGB32?)
:wink:
new banzors in the making :p
User avatar
Autraya
Zero Punctuation
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Location: Terra Australis
Status: old

Postby Autraya » Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:31 pm

Aaaww crap, i forgot to mention (it was 1 am over here and I'm sick, with sleep came reflection and better spelling)
Do NOT use WMM with the CCCP code pack installed, the haali media splitter splits and splits and splits for about 30 + iterations before your machine crashes (well it took about 120 on mine but 30 on others I know, and much giggling on my part 'cause they didn't believe me) complete with flashing lights and loud BEEPs.
So I always uninstall the codec before opening my project in WMM.
new banzors in the making :p
User avatar
Autraya
Zero Punctuation
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Location: Terra Australis
Status: old

Postby Scintilla » Sun Nov 26, 2006 2:03 pm

Can't you just set the Haali Media Splitter to not split AVI files (have it split only MKVs and MP4s)?
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:
User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Status: Quo

Postby sirvayza » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:52 pm

CCCP plays well with my WMM, no problems here. yet. :roll:
User avatar
sirvayza
 
Joined: 26 Aug 2006


Return to Windows Movie Maker

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron