I'm new and I have a question

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling and cleaning up your footage with Avisynth.
User avatar
KnottyEmily
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:46 am
Location: Melbourne
Org Profile

I'm new and I have a question

Post by KnottyEmily » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:08 am

Hey, I'm currently in the process of making my first AMV. I didn't get every far before I hit a bump, lol

I'm following the guide for working with DVD footage. I downloaded all of the software and plugins, ripped my DVD footage and used DGIndex to save it as .d2v.

I then started to make the script for AVISynth, and that's where I had the problems. After writing the script, I get an error when trying to open the video through VirtualDub. My script looks like this

LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\MPEG2Dec3.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\Decomb521.dll")
MPEG2Source("C:\My Movies\Animatrix\osiris.d2v")

I get this error:

Avisynth open failure:
MPEG2Source: couldn't open file
(C:\full path of script.avs, line 3)

I'm a n00b when it comes to this stuff, so excuse me if it's a simple problem, or if this has been covered before

User avatar
KnottyEmily
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:46 am
Location: Melbourne
Org Profile

Post by KnottyEmily » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:10 am

this should probably be moved to the General Video section, sorry :oops:

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Minion » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:19 am

i nominate you for a cookie or something. using avs scripting in your first video. thats a pretty huge leap by noob standards.
and actually knowing you messed up and requesting the topic be moved.
we need more new people like you.

now to the answer. in line 3 of your script you located your file to it's exact directory. common since tells you that it needs to have the exact file path, but avisynth is funny like that. you don't need the exact path.

make sure your avs script is in the same folder as your dv2 file.
then change your script to
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\MPEG2Dec3.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\Decomb521.dll")
MPEG2Source("osiris.d2v")
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Minion » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:24 am

if all else fails, this is my base script. i start all of my scripts by modifying this one. it gets rid of interlacing too. in most cases, you don't even have to modify it. just insert file name, and use.

loadplugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\DGDecode.dll")
mpeg2source("yourfilename.d2v")
Telecide(order=1,post=2,blend=false,vthresh=30,back=1)
Decimate(cycle=5,mode=3,quality=3)
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

User avatar
KnottyEmily
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:46 am
Location: Melbourne
Org Profile

Post by KnottyEmily » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:24 am

I moved and changed the script, but I still get the same error....is there an easier way to do this?

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Minion » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:25 am

use the script in my second post. it'll work
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

User avatar
KnottyEmily
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:46 am
Location: Melbourne
Org Profile

Post by KnottyEmily » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:26 am

Minion wrote:if all else fails, this is my base script. i start all of my scripts by modifying this one. it gets rid of interlacing too. in most cases, you don't even have to modify it. just insert file name, and use.

loadplugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\DGDecode.dll")
mpeg2source("yourfilename.d2v")
Telecide(order=1,post=2,blend=false,vthresh=30,back=1)
Decimate(cycle=5,mode=3,quality=3)
I didn't use DGDecode, would I put DGIndex in there instead?

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Minion » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:29 am

dgencode doesn't do the same thing as dgindex.
leave it as dgencode.
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Minion » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:29 am

dgdecode*
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Kariudo » Sat Nov 11, 2006 2:32 am

actually, if you used dvd2avi to index your vobs then you should use mpeg2dec3.dll instead of dgdecode.dll
Image
Image

Locked

Return to “AviSynth Help”