Premiere 2 frame jumping

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

Premiere 2 frame jumping

Postby SrgtWilco » Sat Oct 28, 2006 12:14 am

I'm having some trouble - whenever I try to edit cinematic movies (standard TV shows seem to work fine) I run into a problem where a few millisecond frames will jump a little ways forward in the timeline, which makes the shot look like it's going through some sort of spasm when I play it back (for instance, in the scene in Akira where the gang drives out of the alleyway, it looks like their bikes go foreward, then somehow jump back a few feet, then go forward again, then jump back, etc.) If anyone can tell me how I can fix this, I would greatly appreciate it.
User avatar
SrgtWilco
 
Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Location: Northeast Illinois

Postby Purge » Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:47 am

i think you using xvid or divx. Post more info on the file type
User avatar
Purge
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Location: Under Aus

Postby BauziOLD » Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:53 am

This was the same case, when I was working with MPEG (I think it was 1 and not 2). Same problem.
Use losless Codecs such as http://lags.leetcode.net/codec.html (Lagarith) and you should not have such problems with footage.
ImageImageImage
Image
User avatar
BauziOLD
 
Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Location: Austria (uhm the other country without kangaroos^^)

Postby SrgtWilco » Sun Oct 29, 2006 11:37 am

-Bauzi- wrote:This was the same case, when I was working with MPEG (I think it was 1 and not 2). Same problem.
Use losless Codecs such as http://lags.leetcode.net/codec.html (Lagarith) and you should not have such problems with footage.


Okay; I've downloaded the installer for lagarith but when I try to open it I get the "to open this file, windows needs to know what program created it" message.
User avatar
SrgtWilco
 
Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Location: Northeast Illinois

Postby Kariudo » Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:35 pm

right click the files that you unziped until you find one that has an "install" option (the .inf file)
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby SrgtWilco » Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:11 pm

Kariudo wrote:right click the files that you unziped until you find one that has an "install" option (the .inf file)


Okay, I'm looking in the folder but none of them are labeled .inf
User avatar
SrgtWilco
 
Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Location: Northeast Illinois

Postby Krisqo » Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:12 pm

It does not say .inf after the file name. These should be the contents of the install. I pointed out the said file.

Image
User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)

Postby Scintilla » Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:24 pm

Krisqo wrote:It does not say .inf after the file name.

Well, it will if you have "Hide extensions of known file types" disabled in Windows's* Folder Options. I don't know why this is on by default; having it off makes things so much easier.


* I feel perfectly justified constructing the possessive this way in this case, because Windows here refers to a single program, not the plural common noun "windows".
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:
User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Status: Quo

Postby Kariudo » Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:42 pm

kinda off topic...but wouldn't it be Windows' for the possesive?
(sometimes I think that English rules are stupid...and give up all hope for the language...this is one of those times)

and even if you didn't have the file extensions...if you followed my instructions, you would have gotten it (eventually...60 seconds top). Only 1 file has the install option when you right click it
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Scintilla » Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:09 pm

Kariudo wrote:kinda off topic...but wouldn't it be Windows' for the possesive?
(sometimes I think that English rules are stupid...and give up all hope for the language...this is one of those times)

Well, I already explained my reasoning briefly, but this gives me a good opportunity to rant further, so:

This is one of my biggest gripes with English spelling in the past ten years or so: suddenly everyone thinks it's okay to form possessives for SINGULAR nouns that end in S with just an apostrophe (examples of such incorrect behaviour: James', Charles', Hans', Nils', etc.)

In reality, the only time you can just tack on an apostrophe and be done with it is when your noun is PLURAL and ends in S.
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:
User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Status: Quo

Postby Kariudo » Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:17 pm

Scintilla wrote:In reality, the only time you can just tack on an apostrophe and be done with it is when your noun is PLURAL and ends in S.

I see, the way I was taught to use it was to replace phrases that would otherwise be akward to pronounce, such as Smiths's...so I thought that this rule was used whenever you had s's or z's, etc...
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Willen » Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:33 am

Having trouble playing back videos? I recommend: Image
User avatar
Willen
Now in Hi-Def!
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Location: SOS-Dan HQ
Status: Melancholy


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron