AMV Software Lists

The old Video Software Help forum, left visible as an archive.
User avatar
post-it
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 5:21 am
Status: Hunting Tanks
Location: Chilliwack - Fishing
Org Profile

Postby post-it » Sun Oct 17, 2004 5:11 pm

Divx, Xvid and Div3 - 4 - 5 - 6 are not supported ( I guess Angel-Potion too )

just suffer with ( Avid Xpress Studio - mojo ) or send the .avi through VurtualDub
and make it a raw ( uncompressed ) video first. - it worked fine after un-compressing 8-)

BAMV Productions Founder
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:02 am
Location: Laputa
Org Profile

Postby BAMV Productions Founder » Mon Oct 18, 2004 9:15 am

Ahh i got it workin, thanx. Too bad that the "auto producer" part slipped my mind. :D
click.. clickity... click.. click..*pause* *sigh**sigh* click..

User avatar
BoB_Xygene
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 3:55 pm
Org Profile

Postby BoB_Xygene » Tue Oct 19, 2004 3:11 am

I'm afflicted not to see the fewest canopus editing software, they are the most awarded editing soft/hard company.

trythil
is
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 5:54 am
Status: N͋̀͒̆ͣ͋ͤ̍ͮ͌ͭ̔̊͒ͧ̿
Location: N????????????????
Org Profile

Postby trythil » Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:57 pm

ardour:

http://ardour.org/

I don't know much more about this (going to play around with it soon) but it seems like a pretty nice multi-track audio tool.

girhen
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 2:37 pm
Org Profile

Postby girhen » Sun Nov 28, 2004 10:52 pm

ok...I'm dumb. Can someone tell me if there is a FREE video editor that can handle 2 clips at once (1 being partially transparent, the other being opaque behind the other) that works for windows. Thanks

User avatar
post-it
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 5:21 am
Status: Hunting Tanks
Location: Chilliwack - Fishing
Org Profile

Postby post-it » Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:10 pm

girhen wrote:... a FREE video editor that can handle 2 clips at once ...
not going to find one - I've looked!

Any time, there are more than one video line at a time being used, a lot of
memory is being waisted. .Everyone but the top $$$ editers are only
single line editers today.. Someone, i think, said that if you are using WinXP
that Windows Media Producer 2 still uses the two line method.

:roll:

User avatar
Corran
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 7:40 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Corran » Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:14 pm

girhen wrote:ok...I'm dumb. Can someone tell me if there is a FREE video editor that can handle 2 clips at once (1 being partially transparent, the other being opaque behind the other) that works for windows. Thanks


Avisynth can do that. ;)

User avatar
Corran
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 7:40 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Corran » Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:17 pm

BTW I'm not trying to be snide. Avisynth can indeed do it but it requires scripting knowledge and time to learn how to do it... It also isn't the most convienient way considering it isn't done in a gui.

User avatar
Kalium
Sir Bugsalot
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, Michigan
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Kalium » Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:21 pm

Corran wrote:BTW I'm not trying to be snide. Avisynth can indeed do it but it requires scripting knowledge and time to learn how to do it... It also isn't the most convienient way considering it isn't done in a gui.

In anything computer-based, the most powerful tools is always scripting or a command-line.

User avatar
post-it
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 5:21 am
Status: Hunting Tanks
Location: Chilliwack - Fishing
Org Profile

Postby post-it » Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:24 pm

... Avisynth has a GUI, I'm testing it right now! ... its a Beta, and has crashed
on me 18 times so far, but they are getting there :shock: :? 8-) :oops:

User avatar
SS5_Majin_Bebi
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 8:07 pm
Location: Why? So you can pretend you care? (Brisbane, Australia)
Org Profile

Postby SS5_Majin_Bebi » Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:58 pm

post-it wrote:... Avisynth has a GUI, I'm testing it right now! ... its a Beta, and has crashed
on me 18 times so far, but they are getting there :shock: :? 8-) :oops:


Wow, should be ready by next millenium then.

Wait, you said it crashed alot... have Microsoft taken over the rights to AVISynth now or something? :lol:

User avatar
Corran
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 7:40 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Corran » Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:48 am

post-it wrote:... Avisynth has a GUI, I'm testing it right now! ... its a Beta, and has crashed
on me 18 times so far, but they are getting there :shock: :? 8-) :oops:

Avisynth has a number of GUIs. The problem is though that they tend to be only for general video processing.

Zarx recently asked that a timeline based gui be made for avisynth at Doom9. I hope someone does it. I would try if I knew more about programming but I only know enough for really simple programs. :(

User avatar
Tetris
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 8:48 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Tetris » Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:12 am

I can only afford one. What does everyone recomend Combustion or After Effects?

User avatar
post-it
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 5:21 am
Status: Hunting Tanks
Location: Chilliwack - Fishing
Org Profile

Postby post-it » Sat Dec 04, 2004 10:29 am

Tetris wrote:... Combustion or After Effects?
- you do realize that these are "both" to be used "after" your AMV is complete!
. With that said, I prefer After Effects - haven't found Combustion to be useful.

- just my opinion

User avatar
Tetris
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 8:48 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Tetris » Sat Dec 04, 2004 5:47 pm

post-it wrote:
Tetris wrote:... Combustion or After Effects?
- you do realize that these are "both" to be used "after" your AMV is complete!
. With that said, I prefer After Effects - haven't found Combustion to be useful.

- just my opinion


Im aware. I already have premiere pro. Im looking for something to add spiffy effects to my vids. Thanks for your reply, I was kind of leening in that direction already now Ill definetely get after effects.


Return to “Video Software Help Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests