Need help with filmstrip effect

For all help and discussion relating to visual effects in programs that are not already covered in an existing forum, such as Blender, Particle Illusion, etc., along with discussion about effects theories and techniques.

Moderator: Niotex

Need help with filmstrip effect

Postby Animated » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:03 am

So, the thing is that I want to show a filmstrip that is rolling vertically on the screen, and in it's blank spots I want to include videoclips. What's the easiest way to make the videoclips keep up with the moving filmstrip? I guess that parenting the clips to the strip would work fine, but when I use the Offset effect on the strip, the clips don't move along with it. It seems like there's an easy solution for this, so... help would be much appreciated :sweat:
Image
Image
User avatar
Animated
Drama Text Cop
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Status: Texty :3

Re: Need help with filmstrip effect

Postby Eake4 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:11 am

1. Find an image of the film strip
2. Create a new composition with the dimension of the film strip
3. put your video file or whatever you want on the blank spaces in after effects with position tool (you might want to use mask tool to fit it in exactly)
4. Pre-compose the film strip together all the layers you put on the blank spaces and change settings of video project back to what your working with (probably 720p since it's you)
5. use the position tool to move the pre-composed layer :ying: AKROSS :ying: the project
6. Enjoy

additional note: you might want to turn on motion blur to make it look nicer

Shortcuts mentioned:
Precompose: (crtl+shift+c)
Position: p
Setting composition settings (right click, change comp settings)
Mask tool: g
Image
User avatar
Eake4
Australian Zeus
 
Joined: 26 Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Status: Doing something useless again

Re: Need help with filmstrip effect

Postby Animated » Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:18 am

WORKS LIKE A CHARM <3
Image
Image
User avatar
Animated
Drama Text Cop
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Status: Texty :3

Re: Need help with filmstrip effect

Postby FarmXD » Wed Oct 23, 2013 2:04 pm

Eake4 wrote:5. use the position tool to move the pre-composed layer :ying: AKROSS :ying: the project



You killed me. I just....died xD
Image
Image
User avatar
FarmXD
Farmer Farm wants to battle!
 
Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Location: Santiago, Chile.
Status: Pressing F5


Return to Visual Effects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron