Masking/Compositing in AE

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

Re: Masking/Compositing in AE

Postby Ematheo » Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:40 pm

Okay so I'm trying to learn how AE works but I'm stuck. I've spent hours and hours on rotoscoping but I read somewhere that you should do the masking on a diffrent layer than your footage, so I did.
But now when I want to cut out this character and place a diffrent footage behind, I can't do that because my mask is on this solid grey layer. :? Is there any way I could apply the mask on the footage I want to cut? I'll cry for days if I have to do the masking again. >_<
lurvtuss
User avatar
Ematheo
 
Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Location: Sleepsville

Re: Masking/Compositing in AE

Postby Haeresis » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:26 pm

ViciousFairy wrote:Okay so I'm trying to learn how AE works but I'm stuck. I've spent hours and hours on rotoscoping but I read somewhere that you should do the masking on a diffrent layer than your footage, so I did.
But now when I want to cut out this character and place a diffrent footage behind, I can't do that because my mask is on this solid grey layer. :? Is there any way I could apply the mask on the footage I want to cut? I'll cry for days if I have to do the masking again. >_<


You should be able to just copy and paste the mask from one layer to another.
User avatar
Haeresis
 
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Status: drifting into thoughtless awareness...

Re: Masking/Compositing in AE

Postby Ematheo » Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:25 pm

Haeresis wrote:
You should be able to just copy and paste the mask from one layer to another.


Strange.. I tested copy,paste like a dozen times before but now when you said that it actually works.. I must be tired >.<
Well thanks a bunch! :D
lurvtuss
User avatar
Ematheo
 
Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Location: Sleepsville

Re: Masking/Compositing in AE

Postby Iron Solari » Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:32 pm

Ematheo wrote:Okay so I'm trying to learn how AE works but I'm stuck. I've spent hours and hours on rotoscoping but I read somewhere that you should do the masking on a diffrent layer than your footage, so I did.
But now when I want to cut out this character and place a diffrent footage behind, I can't do that because my mask is on this solid grey layer. :? Is there any way I could apply the mask on the footage I want to cut? I'll cry for days if I have to do the masking again. >_<


You could do it the classic way with the Pen tool and lots of paths. It's tedious, but it always gets the job done. Then you can just feather away the edges to make it look smoother.
"Some guy stuck a butter knife covered in peanut butter into my DvD player because he said it was hungry."
-Anonymous
User avatar
Iron Solari
OSHMKUFA2010
 
Joined: 11 Oct 2012
Status: I can't believe it's not butter.

Re: Masking/Compositing in AE

Postby chaosgod357 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:20 am

Ematheo wrote:Okay so I'm trying to learn how AE works but I'm stuck. I've spent hours and hours on rotoscoping but I read somewhere that you should do the masking on a diffrent layer than your footage, so I did.
But now when I want to cut out this character and place a diffrent footage behind, I can't do that because my mask is on this solid grey layer. :? Is there any way I could apply the mask on the footage I want to cut? I'll cry for days if I have to do the masking again. >_<



Hmm Make the Gray the Transparent color selection... or change the grey to a color not in your char to make that transparent ( before u try too much other tedious work )
ChaosGod Productions
TheOrg: http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members ... id=1096519
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/ChaosGodProductions
<3 AMV Editors Don't Die We Multiply!!
User avatar
chaosgod357
 
Joined: 15 Oct 2012
Location: Always running away but no matter how far I go there I am
Status: It is what it is

Previous

Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests