After Effects / Premiere Video Output Question

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

After Effects / Premiere Video Output Question

Postby Vlad G Pohnert » Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:05 pm

I'm looking at a brand new system and upgrade to latest version of Premiere & After Effects (use CS3 right now).

I wanted to see what Video Cards people are using. With my old system, I had a Matrox RX2 video editing card so I got WYSIWYG output from the card which I really found helpful. It would be great to have a card capable of outputting via HDMI the output of AE's or Premiere's Preview

Vlad
Sakura-Con 2013 - 2014 AMV Coordinator
AX 2012 - 2014 AMV Assistant Manager
AWA Atlanta 2011-2014 VAT Programming Head
Otafest 2012 - 2014 AMV Coordinator
Animethon 11 - 21 AMV Coordinator
User avatar
Vlad G Pohnert
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Re: After Effects / Premiere Video Output Question

Postby xcanada » Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:40 pm

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/ Here is a helpful resource.
xcanada
 
Joined: 09 Feb 2010
Status: I'm a noob with video editing but i'm expert on pc

Re: After Effects / Premiere Video Output Question

Postby Pwolf » Sat Oct 27, 2012 12:36 am

I don't know if you can get something like that anymore. Since most TV/Projectors are all digital, the day of the analog output WYSIWYG preview isn't really relevant anymore. Well, as far as I know i guess. That said, my current setup, using dual monitors is to have my preview and source screen on one monitor and the rest of my timeline on the other. When I eventually get a third monitor, I will move the preview and source to their own. This is easily done by modifying premiere's workspace.
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.
User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
 
Joined: 03 May 2001
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\

Re: After Effects / Premiere Video Output Question

Postby Brad » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:36 am

I'm positive that direct output/playback cards are still very much a thing for Premiere/AE. I can't say I have direct knowledge of them and I'd also guess that many of them are set up for processing RED footage, but I'd be amazed if you couldn't find something that fit your needs.

Actually now that I think about it, in our client room at work we do a direct output of the AE comp window to a TV monitor via HDMI. I'll look into it.

EDIT: Confirmed. We're using the Black Magic Intensity Pro (internal card) http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/product ... ty/models/
Image
Ask Brad an After Effects Question! - Forum - Site
User avatar
Brad
 
Joined: 20 Dec 2000
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: After Effects / Premiere Video Output Question

Postby Vlad G Pohnert » Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:43 am

That's that potentialy helps...

Vlad
Sakura-Con 2013 - 2014 AMV Coordinator
AX 2012 - 2014 AMV Assistant Manager
AWA Atlanta 2011-2014 VAT Programming Head
Otafest 2012 - 2014 AMV Coordinator
Animethon 11 - 21 AMV Coordinator
User avatar
Vlad G Pohnert
 
Joined: 02 Jan 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests