Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

This forum is for video and audio help and discussion.

Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby |Sangino| » Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:23 am

Guys,How you been doing??!
I recently made some short AMV.Just 30 sec. or less (not a big deal anyways:P).But now I want to EVOLVE and want to make full length AMV's.I have made my footage,cleaned it up etc. etc. and it came up 8 GB a video...Now when I open the video in Adobe Premiere PRO it doesn't open full length(example is a 10:30 min video) but just a miserable 2:20 min video.Do you guys have any idea on how to make Premiere to open the whole video??!If yes please help.....I'm so desperate right now. :'-(>>>


Have a good day,
|Sangino|
Image
User avatar
|Sangino|
 
Joined: 30 Nov 2011
Location: Albania,Tirane
Status: Shut the FUCK up get UP!

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby mirkosp » Tue Jun 12, 2012 6:17 am

For some reason, Premiere seldomly gets duration and/or framerate wrong with big lossless files, I don't quite get why either. It's one of the reasons why lossless clips are suggested too: keeps the duration of the single clips on the short side. You can use virtualdub to automatically make clips every X frames so you can have shorter clips automatically if that's fine with you.
Another solution (albeit not too nice) is actually loading the lossless through avisynth (assuming you have the avs plugin installed), because that does solve the issue too (you are loading a small file in premiere and the frameserving is left to avisynth, which can handle those big files just fine).
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:26 am

I've never had Premiere get duration wrong - After Effects does what you're describing if you have footage with frame-rate mismatches to the project file (i.e. 23.976, 23.98, and 24 are all different)... Also, sometimes it just doesn't like 23.976 at all. Premiere handles it like a champ though.

OP - clarify which version of Premiere you're working with. There's been like 8 major release (boxed) versions of "Premiere Pro" sold in the past 9 years.
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby |Sangino| » Thu Jun 14, 2012 6:29 am

BasharOfTheAges wrote:I've never had Premiere get duration wrong - After Effects does what you're describing if you have footage with frame-rate mismatches to the project file (i.e. 23.976, 23.98, and 24 are all different)... Also, sometimes it just doesn't like 23.976 at all. Premiere handles it like a champ though.

OP - clarify which version of Premiere you're working with. There's been like 8 major release (boxed) versions of "Premiere Pro" sold in the past 9 years.


So,what you are basically saying is that this error might be a FRAME RATE error/mismatch??Because now I have updated from 4.0.0 to 4.2.1 (because I like cs4 not 5 :uhoh: )....
Maybe is just the 23.976... :(
Image
User avatar
|Sangino|
 
Joined: 30 Nov 2011
Location: Albania,Tirane
Status: Shut the FUCK up get UP!

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby M'o'l » Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:31 am

Did you try to make that imported scene longer on timeline? D:
GO MAGIC CARP USE SPLASH ATTACK.
User avatar
M'o'l
Strawberry Pie
 
Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Status: Problem, Officer?

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Thu Jun 14, 2012 7:48 am

|Sangino| wrote:
BasharOfTheAges wrote:I've never had Premiere get duration wrong - After Effects does what you're describing if you have footage with frame-rate mismatches to the project file (i.e. 23.976, 23.98, and 24 are all different)... Also, sometimes it just doesn't like 23.976 at all. Premiere handles it like a champ though.

OP - clarify which version of Premiere you're working with. There's been like 8 major release (boxed) versions of "Premiere Pro" sold in the past 9 years.


So,what you are basically saying is that this error might be a FRAME RATE error/mismatch??Because now I have updated from 4.0.0 to 4.2.1 (because I like cs4 not 5 :uhoh: )....
Maybe is just the 23.976... :(

Possibly. As I said, I've seen the frame rate mismatch bug that sounds a lot like you're describing in After Effects CS3 and CS5. I never ran CS4, nor have I ever seen the bug in Premiere at all. I imagine they reuse code modules across the two though, and if it's a bug in the portion of the code that does the importing or handling of the file object within the program's view, it'd make sense to be present in Premiere in some form as well.

On the other hand, it could be something other than a bug. An actual frame rate mismatch could do the same thing. Is your project set to exactly the same frame rate as the file you're importing? Are you telling Premiere to interpret it differently? Are you using VFR video?
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby |Sangino| » Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:58 am

Milk Or Life! wrote:Did you try to make that imported scene longer on timeline? D:


Yes,I tried!!No results at all! :|

Is your project set to exactly the same frame rate as the file you're importing? Are you telling Premiere to interpret it differently? Are you using VFR video?


Yes,the framerate is set the same...I don't know how to tell PPro how to interpret... :(

And finally what is a VFR video??! :sweat:
Image
User avatar
|Sangino|
 
Joined: 30 Nov 2011
Location: Albania,Tirane
Status: Shut the FUCK up get UP!

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:10 am

|Sangino| wrote:And finally what is a VFR video??! :sweat:

Variable frame rate. It shouldn't be an issue if you're using properly prepped footage... If you're trying to load in distribution encoded (lossy) stuff like fansubs or the like, then you'd have something to worry about.
Another Anime Convention AMV Contest Coordinator 2008-2014 & Head of the AAC Fan-works Theater - follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AACFanTheater
:sorcerer: :sorcerer: |RD: "Oh, Action!" (side-by-side) | |
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby |Sangino| » Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:16 am

If I encounter such a problem is there a way for me to fix that??! :uhoh:

Sorry,but I'm at my learning stage you see... :book:
Image
User avatar
|Sangino|
 
Joined: 30 Nov 2011
Location: Albania,Tirane
Status: Shut the FUCK up get UP!

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby Mister Hatt » Thu Jun 14, 2012 12:28 pm

Most fansubs don't use VFR and if they do, you can demux the timecodes. Then split your video into different chunks for each time block (just use trim() and some clips from avisynth for this) so that each clip has it's own framerate. Next, when working on your video, use dummy blocks of cropped frames so that sync isn't lost. When you encode, replace each split part with the correct frames and write a timecodes file for your new sequence. Probably more complicated than you'd expect but if you know exactly how your sync should be, then it's relatively simple. Maybe have a different timeline for each framerate so you know sync works. I would suggest this only for people VERY familiar with avisynth and mkvmerge.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby |Sangino| » Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:34 am

As Mister Hatt says most Fansubs doesn't use VFR,,,Anyways thanks for the tuto.. :up: I still can't figure out what might cause this problem in PPro CS4...
Here I posted a screenshot of what the problem consists:

Image

If someone can help...ASAP please
Image
User avatar
|Sangino|
 
Joined: 30 Nov 2011
Location: Albania,Tirane
Status: Shut the FUCK up get UP!

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby EvaFan » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:23 am

Assuming you don't need the audio, have you tried importing just the video stream?
"The people cannot be [...] always, well informed. The part which is wrong will be discontented, in proportion to [...] the facts they misconceive. If they remain quiet under such misconceptions, it is lethargy, the forerunner of death to public liberty. What country can preserve its liberties, if it's rulers are not warned [...] that this people preserve the spirit of resistance? The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time, with the blood of patriots and tyrants."-Thomas Jefferson
User avatar
EvaFan
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Location: Somerset, KY
Status: (*゚▽゚)o旦~ ー乾杯ー♪

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby Mister Hatt » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:45 am

So the fact that this is a bad fansub aside, that doesn't look like VFR to me given the framerate is correct and the framecount is not. It simply isn't reading the later frames. Could be the audio is borking it though. I've seen some VfW tools which will cut out video when the audio ends, and your duration seems vaguely like an AMV duration with the whole song muxed in. See what happens when you just feed it the video only. Open the AVI in vdub, go Audio->none, Video->direct stream copy, and hit File->Save AVI. Then load the resulting AVI in Premiere.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby Pwolf » Wed Jun 20, 2012 12:20 am

The quick (relatively) and easy solution is to convert your source to 24fps. I'm pretty sure this is a known issue with all versions of Premiere Pro CS (haven't tested CS6) with 23.976fps sources. I've seen it come up in conversation many times and have been able to reproduce it in testing. I've never encountered the problem myself while working on a project because I always change the rate of my sources to 24 since Adobe products have always had problems with 23.976.
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.
User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
 
Joined: 03 May 2001
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\

Re: Adobe Premiere PRO doesn't show the full video length

Postby |Sangino| » Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:59 am

Mister Hatt wrote:So the fact that this is a bad fansub aside, that doesn't look like VFR to me given the framerate is correct and the framecount is not. It simply isn't reading the later frames. Could be the audio is borking it though. I've seen some VfW tools which will cut out video when the audio ends, and your duration seems vaguely like an AMV duration with the whole song muxed in. See what happens when you just feed it the video only. Open the AVI in vdub, go Audio->none, Video->direct stream copy, and hit File->Save AVI. Then load the resulting AVI in Premiere.


Yay!!Removing the audio did the trick :bzz:
But what if I need audio?!I guess Pwolf's rate conversion to 24fps is the best solution!
Anyway,thank you very much!!You have helped me alot...!!

ADOBE Products really have an issue with the 23.976 fps! :evil:

And one last thing:
does
Code: Select all
assumeFPS(24)
code in AviSynth make the frame rate 24fps?!
Image
User avatar
|Sangino|
 
Joined: 30 Nov 2011
Location: Albania,Tirane
Status: Shut the FUCK up get UP!

Next

Return to Video & Audio Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest