Zarx264 problem

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling your footage. If you have questions about capturing/ripping footage, AviSynth, or compression/encoding/converting, look here.

Zarx264 problem

Postby jakkor » Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:06 am

I use latest version 1.4
First problem app show me new version available but it is not true

Image

Second Zarx264 doesn't work correct with dss2(). After encoding about 20% or other show me crash x264. Only ffvideosource work good.
jakkor
 
Joined: 25 Feb 2009

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby mirkosp » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:20 am

There is version 1.4.1, Alan just forgot to link it on the main site, I suppose.
http://amvhell.com/stuff/zarx264gui/Zarx264gui_1.41.zip
DSS2 is better than directshowsource but should still be avoided whenever possible, so I wouldn't really mind.
That said, he should be doing 1.5 since there have been a ton of new things to x264, he should really unlazy and update that gui...
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby Zarxrax » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:22 am

Whaaat? when did i make that?
I dont even remember, its probably a beta version or something.

I'll be reworking the new version update handling next time.
Also my app has nothing to do with the crashing. If dss2() doesnt work, then its a dss2() problem.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby jakkor » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:51 am

So who made 1.41?
jakkor
 
Joined: 25 Feb 2009

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby jakkor » Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:15 am

wchich is better for movie directshowsource or ffvideosource?
jakkor
 
Joined: 25 Feb 2009

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby mirkosp » Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:40 am

jakkor wrote:So who made 1.41?

He did and forgot. He's amazing like that. :rofl:

jakkor wrote:wchich is better for movie directshowsource or ffvideosource?

ffvideosource (almost) always is the best choice, and always is better than directshowsource.
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby Mister Hatt » Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:21 am

Somewhat related, stop saying ZarxGUI supports or doesn't support a particular avisynth filter. Avisynth handles filters, not a program that uses it. IIRC the only filter that Zarx doesn't support is enpipe and possibly hmd3k due to memory constraints. TYIA.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby Zarxrax » Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:06 am

DirectShowSource is the better choice in the situation when working with DV footage, usually.
Because ffvideosource will read it as interlaced, last I checked.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby mirkosp » Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:06 pm

People shouldn't be working with DV anymore in this day and age...
Image
User avatar
mirkosp
MODkip
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby Zarxrax » Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:41 pm

Ok, it seems that the version 1.41 is legit. I apparently just forgot to upload the changed webpage when i released it :p
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby jakkor » Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:52 am

Symantec endepoint protection deleted zarx264.exe in version 1.41, suspicius, dengerous file
jakkor
 
Joined: 25 Feb 2009

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby Zarxrax » Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:06 am

Well symantec is just gay then.
I recommend using virus software that doesn't suck.

http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/rep ... 314453615#
http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/rep ... 1314453509
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby Mister Hatt » Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:13 am

FFMS2 doesn't do anything, it relies on libav. If libav says it's interlaced, then FFMS2 does as well. So really you just need to build your own against a decent ver of the lib and not use someone else's ancient build if you have a problem. That said, last I looked, libav still regards all DV as interlaced because frankly it should be.
Mister Hatt
 
Joined: 25 Dec 2007
Status: better than you

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby Quu » Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:35 pm

As mister Hatt says, DV is interlaced...
DV was based around recording SD TV broadcasts (NTSC, PAL, etc) which are interlaced

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DV
"Closely following ITU-R Rec. 601 standard, DV video employs interlaced video scanning with the luminance sampling frequency of 13.5 MHz. This results in 480 scanlines per complete frame for the 60 Hz system, and 576 scanlines per complete frame for the 50 Hz system. In both systems the active area contains 720 pixels per scanline, with 704 pixels used for content and 16 pixels on the sides left for digital blanking. The same frame size is used for 4:3 and 16:9 frame aspect ratios, resulting in different pixel aspect ratios for fullscreen and widescreen video."

"All DV variants except for DVCPRO Progressive are recorded to tape within interlaced video stream. Film-like frame rates are possible by using pulldown. DVCPRO HD supports native progressive format when recorded to P2 memory cards."
Lead me not to temptation, for I have deadlines
User avatar
Quu
 
Joined: 26 Dec 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Zarx264 problem

Postby Zarxrax » Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:30 pm

Yes. Whatever.

But the issue is, almost all dv videos come from windows movie maker, because the guide told them to export as dv for whatever reason.
This interlaces their previously fine video.
If the encoder just reads it in as interlaced, then they end up with an interlaced mp4 file. Everyone loses.

Reading it in via avisynth DirectShowSource, the dv decoder will deinterlace it somehow, which at least looks better than it being interlaced.
User avatar
Zarxrax
 
Joined: 01 Apr 2001
Location: Concord, NC

Next

Return to Footage Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron