x264 Settings... Help Needed

If you have questions about compression/encoding/converting look here.
User avatar
Kira_Douji
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by Kira_Douji » Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:23 pm

MPEGStreamClip was using the x264 Quicktime codec... And I just played it back in QT

The x264 commandline I'm trying to use is download from http://wipple.m25.coreserver.jp/?cat=6
I put it in a folder, sat in that folder and made a call to it... and got the results above. (IE: "x264", "open x264", "sudo x264"... pretty much every tip/trick I found as to why it might not be getting noticed aaaand nothing.)

Just tried directly copy-pasting your suggestion as well in case I was typing it wrong and nada.
ImageImage

User avatar
Kira_Douji
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by Kira_Douji » Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:02 pm

Okay, playback in that artifacts in QT does NOT artifact in VLC... OR Movist.

Okay sonofab!tch.

The Question:
----------- do I want to bother with making the encodes play nice with QT?
ImageImage

TheRyuu
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 5:33 pm
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by TheRyuu » Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:34 pm

Kira_Douji wrote:The Question:
----------- do I want to bother with making the encodes play nice with QT?
No because quicktime sucks.

Have you tried

Code: Select all

./x264 *rest of command line here*

while in the directory of the binary.

User avatar
Kira_Douji
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by Kira_Douji » Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:42 pm

TheRyuu wrote:
Kira_Douji wrote:The Question:
----------- do I want to bother with making the encodes play nice with QT?
No because quicktime sucks.

Have you tried

Code: Select all

./x264 *rest of command line here*

while in the directory of the binary.
1. PRAISE PRAISE (why didn't anyone else ever suggest this on the tens of forums I plundered?!)
2. Re: QT - Mainly concerned with playback by other people. You don't think it's prevalent enough to warrant worry? (Of course I don't mind making a 'hi def' version that's just FCPX's h264 export which, though larger than 100MB does play everywhere)
ImageImage

User avatar
Kira_Douji
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by Kira_Douji » Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:14 pm

More Fun~!

TRY 1

Code: Select all

Kaiba-Corp:MP4 Seto$ ./x264 --preset veryslow --tune animation --deblock -1:-2 --aq-strength 0.8 --psy-rd 0.7:0.2 --output "test.mkv" "TEST UNCOMPRESSED.mov"
ffms [info]: 1280x720p 0:1 @ 24000/1001 fps (vfr)
audio [info]: opened libavcodec's ac3 encoder (192.0kbps, 32bits, 2ch, 48000hz)
resize [warning]: converting from yuv422p16le to yuv420p16le
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 FastShuffle SSE4.2
x264 [info]: profile High 4:4:4 Predictive, level 5.0, 4:4:4 8-bit
Segmentation fault
TRY 2

Code: Select all

Kaiba-Corp:MP4 Seto$ ./x264 --crf 20 --preset veryslow --tune animation --output "Test.mp4" "TEST UNCOMPRESSED.mov"
ffms [info]: 1280x720p 0:1 @ 24000/1001 fps (vfr)
audio [info]: opened libavcodec's aac encoder (192.0kbps, 16bits, 2ch, 48000hz)
resize [warning]: converting from yuv422p16le to yuv420p16le
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 FastShuffle SSE4.2
x264 [info]: profile High 4:4:4 Predictive, level 5.0, 4:4:4 8-bit
Segmentation fault
I feel like I'm missing something dreadfully obvious~
ImageImage

User avatar
mirkosp
The Absolute Mudman
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by mirkosp » Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:41 am

QT has a lot of playback issues and unsupported basic features, which is why it fails playing that encode. You'd have to limit the settings, if you wish to support it. Imho it's just not worth it: it's better to get people to use better players, on OSX there are mplayer osx extended and mplayer2, there's not even the need to use vlc, nevermind qt.

Re: segmentation fault... perhaps see if lowering the rc-lookahead helps? Just a random guess, though. :\

Code: Select all

./x264 --preset veryslow --tune animation --rc-lookahead 40 --deblock -1:-2 --aq-strength 0.8 --psy-rd 0.7:0.2 --output "test.mkv" "TEST UNCOMPRESSED.mov"
Image

TheRyuu
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 5:33 pm
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by TheRyuu » Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:58 am

mirkosp wrote:it's better to get people to use better operating systems
ftfy

As far as the segmentation faults are concerned, maybe the binaries just don't like you. You could try compiling them yourself if all else fails.

User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
Location: St. Pete, FL
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by Qyot27 » Fri Jul 22, 2011 1:54 pm

The segfault is probably due to colorspace and bit depth issues, because I'm fairly sure I duplicated it on Windows (it doesn't report a Segmentation fault, it just makes x264 crash after reporting the exact same things).

You need to use the --vf option to convert to a colorspace/bit depth x264 understands. So see if one of these fixes it:

--vf resize:csp=yv12:8
--vf resize:csp=i444:8 --output-csp i444



Alternatively, re-render from the NLE and make sure it outputs in a colorspace/bit depth that won't get choked on.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog

User avatar
Kira_Douji
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by Kira_Douji » Fri Jul 22, 2011 2:08 pm

Mirk - Yeah, I do have other players, it's just that they can't integrate as well as QT. Really wish I could tell QuickLook to run through something else (movist/mplayer etc...) This would probably solve the majority of my irritation.

Ryuu - I'm sorry, I fail to see the point of your post?

Qyot27 - Helpful as always, I'll try that. It was previously in:

Code: Select all

Color space                      : YUV
Chroma subsampling               : 4:2:2
Bit depth                        : 10 bits
Compression mode                 : Lossless
So I figured it'd be okay - I forgot about the YV12. Whoops. :sweat: I'll see if changing it helps.
ImageImage

User avatar
Kira_Douji
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Org Profile

Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed

Post by Kira_Douji » Fri Jul 22, 2011 2:47 pm

Update:

The colorspace tag resolved everything :) It's got me looking for a YV12 codec for the system...

As for the rest - CLI and MPEGStreamClip methods are both working, I have a better understanding of what had caused me some confusion before (mainly QuickTime, of course >>) and I appreciate all the help you've all given. <3

Now, I'm just curious if any of their QuickTime upgrades in Lion fix any of this mess. :x
ImageImage

Locked

Return to “Conversion / Encoding Help”