I am just n00b or...?

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:19 pm
Status: Awesomely great
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Contact:
Org Profile

I am just n00b or...?

Postby Kawatta-kun » Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:51 pm

Yes I never edited on After Effects, but want to start.

There's only this thing, that happens to a friend of mine too.
There's this composition, with some random vid. When I play "space", it plays the vid but there's no sound. There is no mute function on or wtv.
Tho, if I go to Composition -> Preview -> RAM preview or others (the "audio" being or not being selected seems the same), it does play audio that way. But yeah, I do not want to edit that way of course, right?

What is happening?

And this is in CS5, like it happen also at CS4.
Image Image

User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 4:17 pm
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I am just n00b or...?

Postby Pwolf » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:23 pm

Thats how After Effects works. AE isn't supposed to be used as the primary editing software, it's a compositor.
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.

User avatar
Kawatta-kun
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:19 pm
Status: Awesomely great
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I am just n00b or...?

Postby Kawatta-kun » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:29 pm

Oh I see! Then it is normal...
Then i dunno how can editors edit just with it?

Thank you, I think for now no more doubts x).
Image Image

User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 4:17 pm
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I am just n00b or...?

Postby Pwolf » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:32 pm

Well, it's possible to edit that way but you're giving yourself a major handicap. I think a lot of people just do it to say they have a big epeen. I've edited an entire video in AE before, but I do a lot of templates in Premiere first so I know where all my cuts are. In the end it really depends on what you are doing also. Some times it's just easier to do it all in AE then premiere.
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.

User avatar
MystykAMV
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:17 am
Location: Hungary
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: I am just n00b or...?

Postby MystykAMV » Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:37 am

When I edit in AE I just opn the audio waveform or whatever is that called, then I see the bigger beats that I need, and since I made that in vegas before I know which part I'm at.


Return to “Adobe Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests