I am just n00b or...?

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

I am just n00b or...?

Postby Kawatta-kun » Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:51 pm

Yes I never edited on After Effects, but want to start.

There's only this thing, that happens to a friend of mine too.
There's this composition, with some random vid. When I play "space", it plays the vid but there's no sound. There is no mute function on or wtv.
Tho, if I go to Composition -> Preview -> RAM preview or others (the "audio" being or not being selected seems the same), it does play audio that way. But yeah, I do not want to edit that way of course, right?

What is happening?

And this is in CS5, like it happen also at CS4.
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: I am just n00b or...?

Postby Pwolf » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:23 pm

Thats how After Effects works. AE isn't supposed to be used as the primary editing software, it's a compositor.
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.
User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
 
Joined: 03 May 2001
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\

Re: I am just n00b or...?

Postby Kawatta-kun » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:29 pm

Oh I see! Then it is normal...
Then i dunno how can editors edit just with it?

Thank you, I think for now no more doubts x).
Image Image
User avatar
Kawatta-kun
 
Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Location: Povoa de Santa Iria, Lisbon
Status: Awesomely great

Re: I am just n00b or...?

Postby Pwolf » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:32 pm

Well, it's possible to edit that way but you're giving yourself a major handicap. I think a lot of people just do it to say they have a big epeen. I've edited an entire video in AE before, but I do a lot of templates in Premiere first so I know where all my cuts are. In the end it really depends on what you are doing also. Some times it's just easier to do it all in AE then premiere.
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.
User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
 
Joined: 03 May 2001
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\

Re: I am just n00b or...?

Postby MystykAMV » Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:37 am

When I edit in AE I just opn the audio waveform or whatever is that called, then I see the bigger beats that I need, and since I made that in vegas before I know which part I'm at.
MystykAMV
 
Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Location: Hungary


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests