After Effects and Premiere CS5

Discussion and help related to Adobe video software goes here. e.x. Premiere, After Effects, Photoshop, etc.

After Effects and Premiere CS5

Postby TriGGiT » Thu Nov 18, 2010 9:33 am

Ok so quick question it is not possible and there is absolutely no way for a person with a 32-bit version of windows to get and install After Effects CS5 and Premiere CS5, cause they will only work on windows 64-bit version.

correct?

Or is there a way around this problem dor 32-bit users?
User avatar
TriGGiT
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: After Effects and Premiere CS5

Postby Nicho Void » Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:28 pm

I'll check when I get home what directory they installed to (64x program files or 32x program files), but if I recall correctly, my install disc only gave me the 32/64 question for Photoshop. The rest only had one install choice.
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Nicho Void
 
Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Location: St. Paul, MN

Re: After Effects and Premiere CS5

Postby Panky » Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:11 pm

Nope, AFAIK CS5 only had a x64 version to it (hence dividing most of the people that were using it). But it's an upgrade that they consider necessary.

I don't think there's another way around but getting a x64 processor.
User avatar
Panky
 
Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Location: some place called Kokomo...
Status: dozing...

Re: After Effects and Premiere CS5

Postby TriGGiT » Thu Nov 18, 2010 6:46 pm

well that sucks, now us 32 bit users will be stuck with AE and Premiere CS4 till they release CS6 or something or till they decide to make a 32 bit version for these 2 softwares, gow knows when that will be.
User avatar
TriGGiT
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: After Effects and Premiere CS5

Postby Panky » Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:01 pm

I'm afraid to say that they won't be releasing any more x32 versions, at least for those 2 programs. They took a risk using the x64 architecture (well, risking the clientbase) so I don't think they will make any newer version with x86 anymore.
User avatar
Panky
 
Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Location: some place called Kokomo...
Status: dozing...

Re: After Effects and Premiere CS5

Postby Pwolf » Fri Nov 19, 2010 2:14 pm

There's no way around it. 64bit is the way to go, it's where we are headed.

Most people who''ve purchased a computer in the last 5 years probably already have a 64bit processor but are still running a 32bit OS. Windows 7 x64 is a great OS and you can get the upgrade version for less then $100. if you're already going to throw down a lot of money for CS5, mind as well put down a little extra for Windows 7 and some more RAM (if you're gona run 64bit, make sure you have more then 4gb).
ImageImage
ImageImage
Like the AMV .Org App? Think about donating to help me make it better.
User avatar
Pwolf
Friendly Neighborhood Pwaffle
 
Joined: 03 May 2001
Location: Some where in California, I forgot :\

Re: After Effects and Premiere CS5

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:22 pm

Yea, there's pretty much no reason to not be running a 64bit OS these days. If you're running a processor that's only 32bit you shouldn't be worrying about buying brand new software that costs more than a whole new system with OS installed.
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme


Return to Adobe Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron