Frames not playing correctly

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

Frames not playing correctly

Postby geowil11_3 » Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:10 pm

'lo everyone, I have been working in SV9 for a while the past few days and there is an odd problem that I am not able to seem to fix. If I preview or render a video in "Best" display mode there is one section of my video where some frames are not played. They get over written by the previous frames some how.

I have tried everything including re-grabbing the video for that part and remaking it entirely, but this always happens. What is more strange is that if I play through it once, stop the playback while in loop mode then press play again the frames show correctly, but it I let it loop without stopping before or after the frames work, they stop showing correctly again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7-9Eit1orc

exact spot in VS9:

Image

frames are there, they just refuse to play normally :(

Any ideas?
geowil11_3
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2004

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby Nya-chan Production » Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:21 pm

Do you use preview (Shift + B)? YOur problem sounds like it isn't loaded into memory and so the PC just can't keep up.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby geowil11_3 » Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:59 pm

Nya-chan Production wrote:Do you use preview (Shift + B)? YOur problem sounds like it isn't loaded into memory and so the PC just can't keep up.


Alright, that helped for the preview, it plays it correctly each time now regardless. However the rendered file still doesn't want to show those frames... :?

If i separate the frames between where this part starts and the clip before it they play in the rendered file >.<

Been trying to fix this for about 4 hours now D:

Thanks for the suggestion tho :up:
geowil11_3
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2004

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby Nya-chan Production » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:35 pm

geowil11_3 wrote:
Nya-chan Production wrote:Do you use preview (Shift + B)? YOur problem sounds like it isn't loaded into memory and so the PC just can't keep up.


Alright, that helped for the preview, it plays it correctly each time now regardless. However the rendered file still doesn't want to show those frames... :?

If i separate the frames between where this part starts and the clip before it they play in the rendered file >.<

Been trying to fix this for about 4 hours now D:

Thanks for the suggestion tho :up:

Do you render to lossless avi? (lagarith or huffyyuv) - it shouldn't do such a thing :<
And if you do - you have to encode the avi afterwards (probably in ZarxGUI), because your player can't playback lossless video that fast.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby geowil11_3 » Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:56 pm

Nya-chan Production wrote:
geowil11_3 wrote:
Nya-chan Production wrote:Do you use preview (Shift + B)? YOur problem sounds like it isn't loaded into memory and so the PC just can't keep up.


Alright, that helped for the preview, it plays it correctly each time now regardless. However the rendered file still doesn't want to show those frames... :?

If i separate the frames between where this part starts and the clip before it they play in the rendered file >.<

Been trying to fix this for about 4 hours now D:

Thanks for the suggestion tho :up:

Do you render to lossless avi? (lagarith or huffyyuv) - it shouldn't do such a thing :<
And if you do - you have to encode the avi afterwards (probably in ZarxGUI), because your player can't playback lossless video that fast.


No, I am rendering it to mp4 via Sony AVC (SD Internet 30P Preset for testing purposes).

Strange thing is later on in the video I have a section that has 177 individual frames and it renders those just fine. Beginning to think the rip of my Eva 1 dvd was bad or something since, even if I remake that section from the mpg file, this always happens.
geowil11_3
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2004

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby Nya-chan Production » Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:53 pm

I recommend reading this: http://www.animemusicvideos.org/guides/avtech3/

You'll get basics of ripping, rendering and encoding there - just pick whatever you need and skip the basics for the start ;x
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby Mastamind » Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:54 pm

You'd have to check those individual frames to make sure they're actually there and confirm there were no errors with ripping. And if you're using a default template for rendering, there's bound to be some conflicts, differing frame rates between your project and export might be the source of your troubles. Check that your project and media files have the same framerate as the output. I'd also advise you to not compress to mp4 through vegas as it's pretty crappy, do what Nya-chan suggested instead :up:
Image
User avatar
Mastamind
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2009

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby Nya-chan Production » Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:58 pm

Nya-chan Production wrote:You'll get basics of ripping, rendering and encoding there - just pick whatever you need (basics and skip the basics rest for the start ;x

Oops :uhoh:
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby geowil11_3 » Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:05 am

Interesting, I just tried rendering it as uncompressed avi and those frames that were not playing are totally taken out of the video now, causing the audio to no longer sync with the video :shock:
geowil11_3
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2004

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby geowil11_3 » Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:08 am

geowil11_3 wrote:Interesting, I just tried rendering it as uncompressed avi and those frames that were not playing are totally taken out of the video now, causing the audio to no longer sync with the video :shock:


Still do not see the reason for turning off the edit button D:

I just watched it through entirely and its really messed up lol. The video is sped up in a lot of places and some of the fades don't work now as well x.X

I will try re-ripping the dvds into lossless and see what happens.
geowil11_3
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2004

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby geowil11_3 » Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:20 am

geowil11_3 wrote:
geowil11_3 wrote:Interesting, I just tried rendering it as uncompressed avi and those frames that were not playing are totally taken out of the video now, causing the audio to no longer sync with the video :shock:


Still do not see the reason for turning off the edit button D:

I just watched it through entirely and its really messed up lol. The video is sped up in a lot of places and some of the fades don't work now as well x.X

I will try re-ripping the dvds into lossless and see what happens.



-_-;

thought I should add that I did compress it once in Vdub then in ZarxGui.
geowil11_3
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2004

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby Mastamind » Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:25 am

I forgot to ask, are you using the files ripped straight from the dvd's? Vegas works a lot better with those lagariths, so it's worth re-encoding your source with that. Read up on that section in the guide Nya posted for various tips and techniques.
Also, is the video all messed up immediately after exporting from vegas or only after running it through zarx+vdub?
Image
User avatar
Mastamind
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2009

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby geowil11_3 » Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:35 am

Mastamind wrote:I forgot to ask, are you using the files ripped straight from the dvd's? Vegas works a lot better with those lagariths, so it's worth re-encoding your source with that. Read up on that section in the guide Nya posted for various tips and techniques.
Also, is the video all messed up immediately after exporting from vegas or only after running it through zarx+vdub?



Yeah, i am ripping straight from the dvd's (I also rencoded to lagarith this time around).

The video is messed up after it gets run through zarx or vdub. Although when I play the uncompressed version there is still some buggy stuff in it, but the compressed versions are definitely worse.
geowil11_3
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2004

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby Mastamind » Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:45 am

Try reinstalling those programs then, or get a newer version. Heck, reinstall Vegas as well if the problem persists even after you work with corrected footage and/or settings. Hopefully working with the lossless avi's will fix it though, as I recall I had many problems as well when working directly with the .vobs.
Image
User avatar
Mastamind
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2009

Re: Frames not playing correctly

Postby geowil11_3 » Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:27 am

Mastamind wrote:Try reinstalling those programs then, or get a newer version. Heck, reinstall Vegas as well if the problem persists even after you work with corrected footage and/or settings. Hopefully working with the lossless avi's will fix it though, as I recall I had many problems as well when working directly with the .vobs.


Alright, I have the lossless avi's made, de-interlaced it and everything with the avs script. First thing I noticed is that the quality was not any better then my original rip, while the size was 3 GB larger (I used Magic DVD Ripper on the first ones), while scanning through it in Vegas. The de-interlacing stuff did not work (I am guessing because the original Eva Series dvds are hybrids).

So I put the newer footage in for the crap that was not working. Rendered as avi uncompressed and the same thing happened as before, audio was incorrectly rendered.

Switched back to Sony AVC (same settings as previously) and the audio was good. I also noticed that the spot that was farking up before plays correctly now :D

So I am guessing that something happened to the first rip file (they had been sitting on my g drive for a few months and its recently had a few sector problems).

So that problem is fixed, although thanks for the link to that guide, while ultimately didn't do me too much good was interesting going through that whole process.
geowil11_3
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2004


Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron