can't render as mp4?

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

can't render as mp4?

Postby carlyxjack » Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:58 pm

Somehow my english is very bad, so ididn't understand the error.
Can someone explain it to me?

Image
User avatar
carlyxjack
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2010

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby NS » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:20 pm

Don't render out of vegas to mp4 anyway, it's terrible.
ImageImage
User avatar
NS
I like pants
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Status: Pants

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby CodeZTM » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:28 pm

Yeah, export as Lagarith/Uncompressed/Huffy whatever and use Zarxgui or AMVSimple to render out your MP4, much nicer and much more forgiving quality-wise. :D
User avatar
CodeZTM
Spin Me Round
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Status: Flapping Lips

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:33 pm

Code wrote:Yeah, export render as Lagarith/Uncompressed (unless you have tons of place - Lagarith tends to be better for Vegas, btw)/Huffy whatever and use Zarxgui or AMVSimple (unless you can update your h264 build for it - which you can't) to render encode out your MP4, much nicer and much more forgiving better quality-wise. :D

Fixed |:
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby CodeZTM » Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:48 pm

Next time I'll pull out a dictionary so I make sure I don't commit the horrible sin of using similarly contextual words. :|
User avatar
CodeZTM
Spin Me Round
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Status: Flapping Lips

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:54 pm

Code wrote:Next time I'll pull out a dictionary so I make sure I don't commit the horrible sin of using similarly contextual words. :|

There's no problem in that (f.e. your use of "render => export" is excusable, as AE actually uses export, iirc - still, render in this is better) - unless you switch them where it matters, it's a little problem then, when you explain someone how you "rendered an mp4" (which is generally bad) when you actually encoded it ^^;;
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby CodeZTM » Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:57 pm

Ok, I'll just ignore my base taste in words [Ok, I'll buy the render/encode thing for Zarx/Simple], because I just scrolled down and saw in the bin with all the storage scenes that this video has MANY durarara characters making out. More importantly, Shizou and Izaya, two of my favorite characters from the series. WTFBBQSASUSE IS THIS AMV? O_O
User avatar
CodeZTM
Spin Me Round
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Status: Flapping Lips

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby GH » Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:37 pm

NS wrote:Don't render out of vegas to mp4 anyway, it's terrible.

actually, it's a nice and quick way to preview segments that don't playback correctly on sony vegas' preview window.
User avatar
GH
 
Joined: 03 Jul 2007

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:02 pm

insomniac wrote:
NS wrote:Don't render out of vegas to mp4 anyway, it's terrible.

actually, it's a nice and quick way to preview segments that don't playback correctly on sony vegas' preview window.


1) You can use RAM Preview for that (Shift + B)
2) It's better and (mainly) faster to use wmv in that case
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby GH » Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:20 pm

ram previews also playback in slow motion, without audio, result in lag (on my computer at least), and only last for 6 seconds. and i don't know about you, but mp4s render more than twice as fast as wmvs.
User avatar
GH
 
Joined: 03 Jul 2007

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:54 pm

insomniac wrote:ram previews also playback in slow motion, without audio, result in lag (on my computer at least), and only last for 6 seconds. and i don't know about you, but mp4s render more than twice as fast as wmvs.

You should update your RAM memory - I mean, I have 1GB (which is laughable today) and I get a LOT better results D:
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby CodeZTM » Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:55 pm

Or, you know, you could go to Adobe for good and not have to deal with the horror that is Vegas? :uhoh:

/runs away
User avatar
CodeZTM
Spin Me Round
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Location: Arkansas
Status: Flapping Lips

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby Nya-chan Production » Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:07 pm

Code wrote:Or, you know, you could go to Adobe for good and not have to deal with the horror that is Vegas? :uhoh:

/runs away

I doubt it would be better. Or, actually worse - from what I've tried Premiere is even a little more demanding on RAM...
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby GH » Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:08 pm

i have 1.5gb, which is also laughable, but regardless; it still continues to lag. i suppose i need a new computer entirely.
User avatar
GH
 
Joined: 03 Jul 2007

Re: can't render as mp4?

Postby NS » Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:21 pm

I hardly even use RAM preview and I make beautiful shit :amv: . play through a segment enough and eventually it'll play smoothly.
ImageImage
User avatar
NS
I like pants
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Status: Pants

Next

Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron