Problems

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

Re: Problems

Postby kickass331 » Wed Apr 28, 2010 4:15 pm

lossless really isn't necessary. 8MBPS MPEG-2 is fine for SD 4:3, 10 for 16:9, 12 for upscale, 22 for 720p, 36 for 1080p, and for 60fps, just double it.
If you make an AVS, framecast into vegas with makeAVIs, it will let you encode to MPEG-2 with Vegas, I have found this is the best for source material. It also allows you to render a clip and preview it by using the timeline, so you can test the footage and see if you need to up the bitrate.
ImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
kickass331
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Status: Infamous

Re: Problems

Postby Nya-chan Production » Wed Apr 28, 2010 5:34 pm

GTFO MY VEGAS SUBFORUMS, OKAY?

Or at least STOP confusing people. mpeg-2's MIGHT be better in some cases but lossless is always lossless and thus ALWAYS better choice considering it's some 500MB/minute which is a joke for editing AMVs topping (for most editors) 5 minutes.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Problems

Postby kickass331 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:49 am

Nya-chan Production wrote:GTFO MY VEGAS SUBFORUMS, OKAY?

Or at least STOP confusing people. mpeg-2's MIGHT be better in some cases but lossless is always lossless and thus ALWAYS better choice considering it's some 500MB/minute which is a joke for editing AMVs topping (for most editors) 5 minutes.

at 500 mb a minute, it's 10gb an episode, I edited FLCL, 6 episodes, and the total space for the source was 8gb. everybody said I had exceptional quality. so FYI, yes, I do appreciate your sentiment that lossless is perfect etc. However, DVDs are natively mpeg-2, and once you index the vobs, you are left with an MPEG-2 source d2v, encoding it in lossless is a waste of space, and I collect lots of fansubs and hentai and do not have an external hard drive. Why buy an external hard drive, when you can just more efficiently utilize your internal hard drive, ass?
ImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
kickass331
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Status: Infamous

Re: Problems

Postby Nya-chan Production » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:56 am

I suppose you never heard of file mounting or subclipping, then.

I'd also appreciate if you stopped using profanities from now on. Thanks.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Problems

Postby kickass331 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:34 pm

Nya-chan Production wrote:I suppose you never heard of file mounting or subclipping, then.

I'd also appreciate if you stopped using profanities from now on. Thanks.

even if you subclip, you still have to index. If you decide you don't like a clip, you have to go back and redo it. Why constantly make clip after clip, if you can have the whole episode and simply load it into your editing program. And, since the dvds don't change, if you lose your source files, you can just replace them. This means this project file can be carried to a new PC if you lose your data, and still work. Also, it allows you to create clips on the fly, just by previewing the source file then dragging to timeline, easy as pie. And file mounting sounds like a throwback to daemon tools, I am not familiar with it.
ImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
kickass331
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Status: Infamous

Re: Problems

Postby Mastamind » Thu Apr 29, 2010 4:00 pm

Editing directly with the vobs...?
It's much more comfortablt to edit with lossless avi's. They're usually faster to work with and of course you can have them deinterlaced and filtered if necessary. Keep in mind that if you're working directly with the dvd's files, they're likely going to be interlaced and in need of cleaning up, and running them through avisynth+virtualdub should fix that easily.
Image
User avatar
Mastamind
 
Joined: 09 Sep 2009

Re: Problems

Postby kickass331 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:08 pm

Mastamind wrote:Editing directly with the vobs...?
It's much more comfortablt to edit with lossless avi's. They're usually faster to work with and of course you can have them deinterlaced and filtered if necessary. Keep in mind that if you're working directly with the dvd's files, they're likely going to be interlaced and in need of cleaning up, and running them through avisynth+virtualdub should fix that easily.

nope. dgindex-›avisynth->makeavis->vegas->mpeg-2->amv->h264
ImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
kickass331
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Status: Infamous

Re: Problems

Postby Nya-chan Production » Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:52 pm

kickass331 wrote:nope. dgindex-›avisynth->makeavis->vegas->mpeg-2->amv->h264

subclipping:
dgindex-›avisynth->avi clips->vegas->amv->h264
filemounting:
dgindex-›avisynth->mounted avis->vegas->amv->h264

I still feel you are doing unnecessary job
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Problems

Postby NeoQuixotic » Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:03 pm

kickass331 wrote:nope. dgindex-›avisynth->makeavis->vegas->mpeg-2->amv->h264

Wait, wtf? Why in the world would you recompress to MPEG-2 again and then to H.264? Ever heard of generation loss? As far as editing VOBs with directly, that will only be viable in very certain circumstances. The source would have to be very clean and progressively encoded on the DVD, which is very rare.
Insert clever text/image here.
User avatar
NeoQuixotic
Master Procrastinator
 
Joined: 01 May 2001
Location: St. Louis Park, MN
Status: I haz job!

Re: Problems

Postby kickass331 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:55 pm

NeoQuixotic wrote:
kickass331 wrote:nope. dgindex-›avisynth->makeavis->vegas->mpeg-2->amv->h264

Wait, wtf? Why in the world would you recompress to MPEG-2 again and then to H.264? Ever heard of generation loss? As far as editing VOBs with directly, that will only be viable in very certain circumstances. The source would have to be very clean and progressively encoded on the DVD, which is very rare.

yes I have heard of it, it's because of quantization and qpels, also the matrix used. I wouldn't re-encode to mpeg-2 if vegas had a reliable timecode while framecasting. Framecasting on every computer I have resulted in both skipping and inaccurate timeline.
ImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
kickass331
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Status: Infamous

Re: Problems

Postby kickass331 » Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:56 pm

kickass331 wrote:
NeoQuixotic wrote:
kickass331 wrote:nope. dgindex-›avisynth->makeavis->vegas->mpeg-2->amv->h264

Wait, wtf? Why in the world would you recompress to MPEG-2 again and then to H.264? Ever heard of generation loss? As far as editing VOBs with directly, that will only be viable in very certain circumstances. The source would have to be very clean and progressively encoded on the DVD, which is very rare.

yes I have heard of it, it's because of quantization and qpels, also the matrix used. I wouldn't re-encode to mpeg-2 if vegas had a reliable timecode while framecasting. Framecasting on every computer I have resulted in both skipping and inaccurate timeline.

also crashing, generation loss is only significant on audio sources. I always do FLAC or other lossless when I rip CDs.
ImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
kickass331
 
Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Location: West Chester, PA
Status: Infamous

Previous

Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron