MAGIX Movie Edit 15 RAM Preview ???

For help and discussion about specific video editing systems like Adobe software, Windows Movie Maker, Magix, Sony Vegas, etc. Please note the subforums.

MAGIX Movie Edit 15 RAM Preview ???

Postby GorDon » Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:00 pm

Hi

Simple question is there something like RAM preview in MAGIX Movie Edit ?? Like "Dynamic RAM preview" in Vegas or "Render work area" in premier.

Soo I could watch my edited area smoothly without lag in audio or video??

Thanks for any helpfull answer. :)
User avatar
GorDon
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Location: Czech republic
Status: saving world

Re: MAGIX Movie Edit 15 RAM Preview ???

Postby post-it » Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:48 pm

.. only in CG and Transition Mode; everything else is "DX Media"

Magix is not a RAM hog like Vegas however, like Primier, it uses RAM Storage unwisely.

both 14 & 15 have Time-Slot programming to allow for mixxing and muxxing.
.. if you have two matching ram sticks then anything newer than XP Service Pack 3
should not be stalling in any way, shape or form.

8-)
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Re: MAGIX Movie Edit 15 RAM Preview ???

Postby GorDon » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:22 am

So I suppose that my Sempron (1.80GHz) with 1GB of shared RAM on windows 7 have no chance of a smooth preview ? :D :D
User avatar
GorDon
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Location: Czech republic
Status: saving world

Re: MAGIX Movie Edit 15 RAM Preview ???

Postby post-it » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:40 am

a 4 Cylinder cars motor will move a semi if it is replacing the 667 H.P. Diesel Engine and you are on a flat surface however;
don't forget to go around any speed-bump that is in that parking lot!

When most programs are written these days, they are designed to "take advantage" of the processors
1) Speed
2) Special Features.

A laptop "is" a working environment for WORDs but not an Editors Environment: portability has its limitations.
User avatar
post-it
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Status: Audio: bass remains; if else, 3D

Re: MAGIX Movie Edit 15 RAM Preview ???

Postby GorDon » Tue Feb 09, 2010 2:06 pm

Nicely said

I know the limitations of my laptop :) But I have another one, whose specification are in my signature(CPU-Z). That runs on WindowsXP SP3. If there is no way how to have smooth preview, then please give me advice how to work with Magix.

Koop made Euphoria in it. Is hard to imagine that he could made it without any kind of preview.
User avatar
GorDon
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Location: Czech republic
Status: saving world

Re: MAGIX Movie Edit 15 RAM Preview ???

Postby Phantasmagoriat » Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:44 pm

Bait-and-Switch is one of the greatest editing tricks for improving preview speed.
[I edited most of my earlier videos on a single core 1.6 GHz laptop with 1GB of RAM in MAGIX MEP10 with no preview problems.]

The concept is where you make 2 versions of your footage:
1.) Fast Version - Low Quality, low resolution, lossy fast codec [like MidVid.avi]
2.) Slow Version - High Quality, high resolution, lossless slow codec [like HUFFYUV.avi, or .avs scripts]

Edit/Preview with the Fast Version
Export with the Slow Version

However, if you are doing complex effects, then this trick won't help since effects must be generated
by your computer on-the-fly... so the speed of your computer determines the preview speed in that case.

~Phan
Image
Org Profile | AMVGuide | Phan Picks! | THE424SHOW | YouTube | "Galactic Escape"

"Effort to Understand; Effort to be Understood; to See through Different Eyes."
User avatar
Phantasmagoriat
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2006
Status: ☁SteamPunked≈☂

Re: MAGIX Movie Edit 15 RAM Preview ???

Postby GorDon » Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:34 am

Thanks for Answers

I will try Phan method :)
User avatar
GorDon
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Location: Czech republic
Status: saving world


Return to Video Editing Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Qyot27 and 0 guests