FLAC audio file importer for CS4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

For help and discussion about specific video editing systems like Adobe software, Windows Movie Maker, Magix, Sony Vegas, etc. Please note the subforums.

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby aleistercrowley » Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:45 am

I cant edit my posts here ?

About the Samples :

Its strange ! Bot Flac files are playing 100% fine outside Premiere in any Player.
But theres a backround noise in Adobe Premiere! But i have tested a few other full Size flac Files and theres no Noise in Premiere.
So maybe Premiere has Problems with some Files so the Samples have this noise.
I get this noise in Premiere with some other Files ( avs import)..maybe its the Plugin or maybe Premiere..

PS My English is bad, SRY!
aleistercrowley
 
Joined: 01 Jan 2010

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:06 pm

aleistercrowley wrote:I cant edit my posts here ?

About the Samples :

Its strange ! Bot Flac files are playing 100% fine outside Premiere in any Player.
But theres a backround noise in Adobe Premiere! But i have tested a few other full Size flac Files and theres no Noise in Premiere.
So maybe Premiere has Problems with some Files so the Samples have this noise.
I get this noise in Premiere with some other Files ( avs import)..maybe its the Plugin or maybe Premiere..

PS My English is bad, SRY!



I finally got the sample files earlier today, and noticed it had a background hiss in the 24-bit version of the file when played through Premiere, but was fine in Winamp. After messing around with it for awhile, I made an 8-bit version of the 16-bit file, and it sounded the same as the 24-bit file with the background hiss!

After that, I narrowed it down to one of the Adobe conversion functions, that converts 24-bit samples to their internal format. It seems like it's bugged, and reducing the quality of any 24-bit sample down to 8-bit. I made a workaround that no longer uses that function, and the hiss seems to be gone. Let me know if this works for you:

http://valion.net/flacimporter/FLAC%20Importer%201.1%20Alpha%202.rar

Same warning about needing to delete .cfa and .pek files and/or renaming and reimporting the files as last time. :)

Edit: Just realized you mentioned imported avisynth files having the same problem. The avisynth importer plugins (both mine and the videoeditortoolkit one) use that same problematic 24-bit conversion function, so that would explain it. I'll try to update my avs plugin later to see if it fixes that problem.
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby aleistercrowley » Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:01 am

It works! :)
Yes, i think its the same Problem with your avs Plugin

What i generally dont like in Premiere is the internal Conversion to 32Bit! It takes so long.
When i want to export a 5.1 Project in Premiere or directly with MediaEncoder (to AC3 with Surcode Dolby Digital encoder) Adobe makes its internal Conversion to 32Bit first. It takes very long sometimes on big Files.

Is there a Way to disable it ? Theres no Option to disable it, but maybe a Plugin/Function Tweak could do it?
Thats why i prefer Sony Vegas! Vegas doesnt convert the Audio so the whole Process is "a lot faster".
aleistercrowley
 
Joined: 01 Jan 2010

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:54 am

aleistercrowley wrote:It works! :)
Yes, i think its the same Problem with your avs Plugin

What i generally dont like in Premiere is the internal Conversion to 32Bit! It takes so long.
When i want to export a 5.1 Project in Premiere or directly with MediaEncoder (to AC3 with Surcode Dolby Digital encoder) Adobe makes its internal Conversion to 32Bit first. It takes very long sometimes on big Files.

Is there a Way to disable it ? Theres no Option to disable it, but maybe a Plugin/Function Tweak could do it?
Thats why i prefer Sony Vegas! Vegas doesnt convert the Audio so the whole Process is "a lot faster".


There's a flag that plugins can set to stop the pre-processing, but it's basically system-wide, so it can't be set per file. I have a flag in my avs plugin to choose it, but I really, really hate the way that app works, which is why I didn't include one in this plugin. Working on a better version of it for the FLAC and AVS plugins now. :)

That said, here's a version with avoidAudioConform permanently set to true :) http://valion.net/flacimporter/FLAC%20Importer%201.1%20Alpha%202-DC.rar
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby PPNSteve » Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:36 pm

Just popping in to say THANKS for this plugin.. (hopefully it works) now I don't have to convert my flacs to wave to use them :)
User avatar
PPNSteve
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Location: Somewhere in Ilex Forest

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby PPNSteve » Tue Jan 05, 2010 5:08 pm

Well It doesn't work in CS3 on WinXP

Crashes Premiere when I attempt to import a flac file. :(

Any suggestions/fixes?
User avatar
PPNSteve
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Location: Somewhere in Ilex Forest

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:49 am

PPNSteve wrote:Well It doesn't work in CS3 on WinXP

Crashes Premiere when I attempt to import a flac file. :(

Any suggestions/fixes?



Can you tell me exactly what type of file you're opening (channels, bits, etc), and how it crashes? I'll try to find a computer with CS3 on it to test with.
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby PPNSteve » Wed Jan 06, 2010 3:28 pm

Valion wrote:
PPNSteve wrote:Well It doesn't work in CS3 on WinXP

Crashes Premiere when I attempt to import a flac file. :(

Any suggestions/fixes?



Can you tell me exactly what type of file you're opening (channels, bits, etc), and how it crashes? I'll try to find a computer with CS3 on it to test with.


Length: 105 seconds
Channels: 2
Bits per sample: 16
Sample Rate: 44100 Hz
File Size: 10556832 bytes
Average bitrate: 802 kbps
Compression Ratio: 56%

How: go to import file, select the flac desired, when I click Open, I get "a serious error has occurred, premiere has to close down.. etc."

[img]http:www.ppnstudio.com/images/premiere_error01.png[/img]
[img]http:www.ppnstudio.com/images/premiere_error02.png[/img]

Event Log: Faulting application adobe premiere pro.exe, version 3.2.0.0, faulting module dialogs.dll, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x000ba415.
User avatar
PPNSteve
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Location: Somewhere in Ilex Forest


Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Emotive » Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:11 am

Has anyone tried running this on Premiere Pro 2? I'm too kvlt to get the newer ones.
Image
User avatar
Emotive
...the Meditant
 
Joined: 04 Nov 2006

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:25 am

I've uploaded a new installer with 1.1, which fixes the channel mapping problem and the 24-bit problem. I'm still looking for a place to debug the plugin on CS3.

Emotive wrote:Has anyone tried running this on Premiere Pro 2? I'm too kvlt to get the newer ones.


It actually should work in CS2 (definately not anything ealier, though), but similar to CS3, I don't have any way to easily test it.
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Emotive » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:26 am

Valion wrote:I've uploaded a new installer with 1.1, which fixes the channel mapping problem and the 24-bit problem. I'm still looking for a place to debug the plugin on CS3.

Emotive wrote:Has anyone tried running this on Premiere Pro 2? I'm too kvlt to get the newer ones.


It actually should work in CS2 (definately not anything ealier, though), but similar to CS3, I don't have any way to easily test it.

I'm referring to premiere pro 2, not CS2. Guess I'll try anyway..
Image
User avatar
Emotive
...the Meditant
 
Joined: 04 Nov 2006

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS3/4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Valion » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:41 am

Emotive wrote:
Valion wrote:I've uploaded a new installer with 1.1, which fixes the channel mapping problem and the 24-bit problem. I'm still looking for a place to debug the plugin on CS3.

Emotive wrote:Has anyone tried running this on Premiere Pro 2? I'm too kvlt to get the newer ones.


It actually should work in CS2 (definately not anything ealier, though), but similar to CS3, I don't have any way to easily test it.

I'm referring to premiere pro 2, not CS2. Guess I'll try anyway..


Sorry, meant Pro 2.0. Premiere CS2 doesn't actually exist. :D
User avatar
Valion
 
Joined: 29 Aug 2001

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby Emotive » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:53 am

Hmm. It actually instantly closes the program when I try to import a flac.
Image
User avatar
Emotive
...the Meditant
 
Joined: 04 Nov 2006

Re: FLAC audio file importer for CS4 Premiere/AE/Soundbooth

Postby PPNSteve » Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:10 pm

any update on this?
did you find a cs3 to test with yet?
User avatar
PPNSteve
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Location: Somewhere in Ilex Forest

Previous

Return to Video Editing Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests