Waiting to buy a high end computer

This forum is for help with and discussion about your video hardware.

Waiting to buy a high end computer

Postby Macha88 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:01 pm

Should I wait for another few months to upgrade my computer?
Currently my specs are:
3.0 Ghz HT Pentium 4
2.5 GB DDR266 RAM
ATI x1650Pro 512MB RAM
160GB Internal EIDE 8mb Cache 7200rpm, 500 GB internal SATA 300 16mb Cache running at Sata150 speeds as thats all my mobo supports. and an external 250 GB lacie USB.
Premiere Pro 1.5 runs painfully slow.

Seeing as 2008 seems to be full of new technology like intels nehalem processor
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/in ... i=3101&p=2
8 cores emulating 16 threads O_O, More compatibility with multiple threads in software, DDR3 RAM, NVIdia 9 series http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GeForce_9_Series . hopefully all this will push down current technologies prices ^_^ or be affordable itself...
so,
should I wait?
or should I build a system for around $1400 now with quad core, 8800 GTS/3870, 4 gigs of ram and keep my old hdd?
Macha88
 
Joined: 26 May 2006

Postby Kariudo » Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:29 pm

A few months probably won't make that big of a difference (especially with q6600's going at under $300), and you could probably upgrade now for much less than $1400


core2quad q6600 $275
corsair xms2 4GB $90
MSI mobo $100
powercolor 3870 $250
ocz psu $110

$825 total

that should be more than enough, unless you're one of the people who wants to run crysis on max
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Joe88 » Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:59 am

should not have a problem with that since not even 3 8800GTX ultra's in tri-sli can even run it max at max res also... :lol:
User avatar
Joe88
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Location: NYC

Postby Kariudo » Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:16 am

maybe the 9800GX2 in quad sli will be able to run it :roll:
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:34 pm

I was under the impression it required a physics card to run on very high.
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Postby Joe88 » Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:11 pm

Kariudo wrote:maybe the 9800GX2 in quad sli will be able to run it :roll:

well only a 30% increase of performance over an ultra
the name is misleading, its probably just two 8800 on one PCB
its either that or their architecture is not that good for these types of cards (if you remember the 7950GX2, could barely keep up with a 7800GTX, and people blew about about $1200 for 2 of these to get quad-sli only to be owned by single card setups
now as far as the other side of the competition and the 3870-X2, they did have luck in the past with the x1950 Pro DUAL , it did beat the 7950GX2 to a pulp but came out way to late (march of last year, after the 8800GTX were out)
now we will wait and see who can make the better dual GPU board being released at the same time now...

BasharOfTheAges wrote:I was under the impression it required a physics card to run on very high.

physics card are really gimmick
people think that they will get major FPS if they install the card, and in actuality they get like 1 more FPS for only $150 price tag, not even worth it if it was $25
not to mention that almost no games can use the card
User avatar
Joe88
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Location: NYC

Postby BasharOfTheAges » Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:33 pm

Joe88 wrote:
BasharOfTheAges wrote:I was under the impression it required a physics card to run on very high.

physics card are really gimmick
people think that they will get major FPS if they install the card, and in actuality they get like 1 more FPS for only $150 price tag, not even worth it if it was $25
not to mention that almost no games can use the card


Oh, I know they're a joke - I was just saying I thought the game wouldn't even ungrey the highest settings unless it saw a physics card installed. Not that it needed one or anything.
User avatar
BasharOfTheAges
Just zis guy, you know?
 
Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Location: Merrimack, NH
Status: Extreeeeeeeeeme

Postby KyoMatsu » Fri Mar 14, 2008 3:54 pm

I got crysis, i run it at medium laglessly with my specs

2 gig ddr2 667 mhz ram
Core 2 Duo e6750 2.66 ghz.
Geforce 8600GT 256 mb
KyoMatsu
 
Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Location: Canada, Ontario


Return to Video Hardware Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest