More precise control?

For help and discussion concerning the Windows Movie Maker software.

More precise control?

Postby DarkAngelYahriel » Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:47 am

Is there a way to get more precise control from Movie Maker? I prefer the precision control of a program like VirtuaDub where I can edit clips down to the frame, not just a general area on the timeline. -_-

It's probably just my settings or something... if you can't tell, I'm a newb at MM.
User avatar
DarkAngelYahriel
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Status: frustrated Mac video editor

Postby Kariudo » Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:34 am

WMM can't get down to the frame-by-frame level, IIRC it can go down to 2 frames...but that still doesn't help when your cut needs to be on the frame in-between

I'd just stick with clipping using vdub or vdbmod
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby DarkAngelYahriel » Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:39 am

VDubMod would be fine for clipping, but I'm trying to do my movie editting to/with the audio track...

is there another program that offer that kind of precision, without a whole lot of bells and whistles?
User avatar
DarkAngelYahriel
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Status: frustrated Mac video editor

Postby juu-chan- » Wed Oct 17, 2007 1:55 pm

WMM 6.0 is more precise than WMM 2.0.
You can cut a clip every 0.04 seconds instead of 0.08.
If you are saving your video with 25 frames per second (with VirtualDubMod) the cuts will be frame acurate.

And if I remember correctly VirtualDubMod isn't more precise than 0.04 seconds, too.
juu-chan-
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2006

Postby Kariudo » Wed Oct 17, 2007 2:20 pm

vdub works on the frame-by-frame level...so if the video had a framerate of 120fps you would still be able to go to every frame.

NTSC footage isn't 25fps either, you could make your footage run at 25fps but it would really screw up any interlacing that the video has. going from 30-25 would make your footage a bit slower, going from ~24 to 25 would speed it up a bit

as for other editing programs...your best bet is to try some and see if you like it
software list thread
Image
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby juu-chan- » Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:01 pm

Kariudo wrote:vdub works on the frame-by-frame level...so if the video had a framerate of 120fps you would still be able to go to every frame.


Ok, then the videos I worked with probably had 25fps.

Kariudo wrote:NTSC footage isn't 25fps either, you could make your footage run at 25fps but it would really screw up any interlacing that the video has. going from 30-25 would make your footage a bit slower, going from ~24 to 25 would speed it up a bit


The footage I used was PAL with 25fps.
And what I meant was not changing how many frames are shown during one second (of all the frames your video has), but how many fps will really be shown. (don't know how to say this less complicated)
The way I meant it, the video won't be faster (or slower), but it will be missing frames (or will have more frames).
And if there was interlacing I would first deinterlace the videos I'm using, then I would make the amv and change the framerate before I compress the video with vdub.
juu-chan-
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2006

Postby DarkAngelYahriel » Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:59 pm

Thanks for the software link. I knew it was in here SOMEWHERE, but for some reason, it's really hard to find. =/ It should be linked from the FAQ or How-To section.

Here's to finding something with frame-level control!
User avatar
DarkAngelYahriel
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Status: frustrated Mac video editor

Postby CrackTheSky » Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:18 am

Kariudo wrote:WMM can't get down to the frame-by-frame level, IIRC it can go down to 2 frames...but that still doesn't help when your cut needs to be on the frame in-between

Haven't read the rest of the thread, but it is possible to get WMM to cut down to one frame. You need to reduce the clip to two frames and then put the marker in the middle of the frame on the timeline and use whatever hotkeys WMM uses for splitting clips.
User avatar
CrackTheSky
Fancy Balls
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Status: Maybe editing?

Postby DarkAngelYahriel » Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:28 am

that seems like a lot more trouble than it's worth. I'm just going to try some of the other free video software listed.
User avatar
DarkAngelYahriel
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Status: frustrated Mac video editor

Postby CrackTheSky » Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:49 pm

Rendering out clips to use just so you can get them down to the exact frame takes a LOT more time than just doing it in WMM.
User avatar
CrackTheSky
Fancy Balls
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Status: Maybe editing?

Postby Purge » Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:06 pm

CrackTheSky wrote:Haven't read the rest of the thread, but it is possible to get WMM to cut down to one frame. You need to reduce the clip to two frames and then put the marker in the middle of the frame on the timeline and use whatever hotkeys WMM uses for splitting clips.


is that even possible? how does making it 2 frames length help?
User avatar
Purge
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Location: Under Aus

Postby CrackTheSky » Fri Oct 19, 2007 12:17 am

Purge wrote:
CrackTheSky wrote:Haven't read the rest of the thread, but it is possible to get WMM to cut down to one frame. You need to reduce the clip to two frames and then put the marker in the middle of the frame on the timeline and use whatever hotkeys WMM uses for splitting clips.


is that even possible? how does making it 2 frames length help?

Oh, well, I suppose you're right. Dunno why I thought that part was necessary, but using the cutting hotkeys does work to get clips down to one frame, I'm *almost* positive.
User avatar
CrackTheSky
Fancy Balls
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Status: Maybe editing?

Postby lynit » Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:51 am

Oh, well, I suppose you're right. Dunno why I thought that part was necessary, but using the cutting hotkeys does work to get clips down to one frame, I'm *almost* positive.

I can confirm that wrong.
It IS possible though to get it to one frame. I usually just did achieved this by splitting the clip twice, then merging afterwards.

And yeah, definitely get Vegas or Premiere if you want more precise control over frames =o
<Stirspeare> Otohiko: You guys sure love dongs.
User avatar
lynit
 
Joined: 21 Oct 2004
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

Postby DarkAngelYahriel » Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:08 pm

*is a precision perfectionist*

So which is better? Premier or Vegas? I remember using Premier 6 *waaay* back (I still ran a '98), and liked it, but of course early versions like that are all but dead now. =(
Something that will run smoothly on the 1.86GHz, 512Mb RAM laptop that I have? *_*
User avatar
DarkAngelYahriel
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Status: frustrated Mac video editor

Postby DarkAngelYahriel » Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:24 pm

Edit to above post:
Vegas > Premier. Vegas (Platinum) requires less system resources than the mega-powerhouse that is Premier.
User avatar
DarkAngelYahriel
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Status: frustrated Mac video editor

Next

Return to Windows Movie Maker

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron