i need help with WMM

For help and discussion concerning the Windows Movie Maker software.

i need help with WMM

Postby axcx » Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:33 am

please no one in rockmanamv could solve my problem so I came here. I'm new around here but i've been making amvs since the start of this year i belive. So here is the deal:
-my movie maker closes strangely and with no aparent reason when i put the clip in the timeline. i've restarted my pc several times, also reinstalled movie maker, restored defaults and nothing works.

the facts are:
-i'm using avi clips
-i have the DivX, Xvid and Codec Community Pack installed.
-i'm working with WMM 2.0

(if this is the wrong section to post this forgive me)
I NEED HELP PLEASE!
wiiiii
check my shared DA account: http://randomguys.deviantart.com
User avatar
axcx
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Location: Here

i need help with WMM

Postby ShiroNekoHime » Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:43 am

I've been having that same glitch. I think there's a limit to clips and pics you can put on, so when you reach the limit it will x out. I suggest combining clips to save room or deleting unnecessary pictures/clips.
ShiroNekoHime
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2007
Location: My own world

Postby Moonie » Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:51 am

Make sure your clips are encoded with a lossless codec like Huffy or lagarith.
If your clips are encided in Xvid or Divx (or some other lossy codecs), they wont work well in video editing software.
Even if they seem to work fine at first, they can cause some major problems later.
ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Moonie
Give me some candy!
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Garland, Tx
Status: HP:11900 Strength: 940 Gold:60000 MP:1200

Postby Moonie » Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:53 am

moonie211 wrote:Make sure your clips are encoded with a lossless codec like Huffy or lagarith.
If your clips are encided in Xvid or Divx (or some other lossy codecs), they wont work well in video editing software.
Even if they seem to work fine at first, they can cause some major problems later.


Also the "Windows Movie Maker" section is probably the right place for this.
Don't worry, a mod will move it to the right place
ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
User avatar
Moonie
Give me some candy!
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Garland, Tx
Status: HP:11900 Strength: 940 Gold:60000 MP:1200

Re: i need help with WMM

Postby Rapture** » Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:59 am

ShiroNekoHime wrote:I've been having that same glitch. I think there's a limit to clips and pics you can put on, so when you reach the limit it will x out. I suggest combining clips to save room or deleting unnecessary pictures/clips.

That's right. You probably just overfilled it's allowed capacity.

And Moonie got a good point too. If removing unnecessary items won't fix it,try out lossless codecs.
:D I like laughter ;DD
ImageImage
User avatar
Rapture**
 
Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Location: Vilnius , Lithuania

Re: i need help with WMM

Postby axcx » Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:20 pm

Rapture** wrote:
ShiroNekoHime wrote:I've been having that same glitch. I think there's a limit to clips and pics you can put on, so when you reach the limit it will x out. I suggest combining clips to save room or deleting unnecessary pictures/clips.

That's right. You probably just overfilled it's allowed capacity.

And Moonie got a good point too. If removing unnecessary items won't fix it,try out lossless codecs.


wow quick replies thanks guys... the other option would be as you say use another codec... so that means CONVERT every single episode of sonic underground. if that's the only solution... i'll do it... but it will take a loooong time. can i change codecs another way?
wiiiii
check my shared DA account: http://randomguys.deviantart.com
User avatar
axcx
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Location: Here

Re: i need help with WMM

Postby Rapture** » Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:49 pm

axcx wrote:
Rapture** wrote:
ShiroNekoHime wrote:I've been having that same glitch. I think there's a limit to clips and pics you can put on, so when you reach the limit it will x out. I suggest combining clips to save room or deleting unnecessary pictures/clips.

That's right. You probably just overfilled it's allowed capacity.

And Moonie got a good point too. If removing unnecessary items won't fix it,try out lossless codecs.


wow quick replies thanks guys... the other option would be as you say use another codec... so that means CONVERT every single episode of sonic underground. if that's the only solution... i'll do it... but it will take a loooong time. can i change codecs another way?

There's no real need to convert EACH episode. You could just create clips for the scenes you'll use. In other words : Use Virtual Dub(mod) and(not necessary) AviSynth.
:D I like laughter ;DD
ImageImage
User avatar
Rapture**
 
Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Location: Vilnius , Lithuania

Postby JaddziaDax » Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:52 pm

Image

JaddziaDax wrote:open the video file in virtualdub mod go to video->compression->Huffyuv

then go to file->save

Image
use those to mark the beginning and the end of the "clips" you want so you can save room
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Postby Kariudo » Sun Oct 14, 2007 7:12 pm

divx, xvid and CCCP you say?
sounds like you may need to reconfigure CCCP

Kariudo on configuring CCCP wrote:you go start, all programs, combined community codec pack, video decoder settings
go through the codec list and disable ffdshow for all the codecs you have (click on the boxes that say libavcodec, you should then see a few options, one of which is disabled)

you'll probably be disabling divx, xvid, huffyuv and mpeg2
do the same for audio decoder settings

when you're done with that, you may need to click the CCCP settings icon (in the same place as decoder config)
disable decoding of anything you have (checkboxes, similar to the decoder config)
dsiable avi support for haali media splitter and click re-register all filters

there have been some times where I've messed around with the settings and then not been able to play .mkv files, re-registering filters fixed that.

if you don't configure CCCP you will probably run into problems either in your editing program, or when you playback video (or audio)
I'll spare you the technical details of that unless you want them
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby axcx » Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:47 am

hey guys you all rock! thanks for the help but... can i use another compressor that is not Huffyuv? the files it produces are HUGE! i know i should cut only the parts i need but anyway i ask
wiiiii
check my shared DA account: http://randomguys.deviantart.com
User avatar
axcx
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Location: Here

Postby JaddziaDax » Mon Oct 15, 2007 12:06 pm

you can but complications and quality loss will occur...

if all else fails try lagarith? it also makes large files, but not as large as huffy
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Postby Rapture** » Mon Oct 15, 2007 12:18 pm

JaddziaDax wrote:if all else fails try lagarith? it also makes large files, but not as large as huffy


x2
:D I like laughter ;DD
ImageImage
User avatar
Rapture**
 
Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Location: Vilnius , Lithuania

Postby axcx » Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:39 pm

i used lagarith. and it was working pretty well until... i placed the third clip. This was my timeline: 3 or 4 imgs with effects and text. then one short 3 second clip, then another 3 second clip and then CRASH!!!. i'm sorry to bother so much but i reaaly need help[/img]
wiiiii
check my shared DA account: http://randomguys.deviantart.com
User avatar
axcx
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2007
Location: Here

Postby JaddziaDax » Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:43 pm

stick with huffy then, it's least likely to be buggy...

also save after every clip you add to the timeline, its something i used to do when working with wmm
User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Status: I has a TRU Arceus

Postby Rapture** » Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:23 pm

Oh my,this is a WMM thread,I totally forgot that WMM hates lagarith -.-
:D I like laughter ;DD
ImageImage
User avatar
Rapture**
 
Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Location: Vilnius , Lithuania

Next

Return to Windows Movie Maker

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests