i got another problem?-_-

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

i got another problem?-_-

Postby carlyxjack » Sat May 08, 2010 7:21 pm

for some reason the timeline from sony vegas is reacting very slowly
when i click on play,the clip reacts very slow,so basically when i am at 10 seconds,i can still see the pictuure from the fifth second
i got so many problems with sony vehas,i should probably switch to pro premiere or after effects
is that a good idea?

sorry guys,for the many questions
User avatar
carlyxjack
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2010

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby Enigma » Sat May 08, 2010 7:30 pm

How is your footage encoded?
User avatar
Enigma
That jolly ol' bastid
 
Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Location: California
Status: Free

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby GH » Sat May 08, 2010 9:05 pm

sounds like a pretty common vegas problem, if you don't have a decent system it will usually react with preview lag after a few saves, closes, and reopens. nothing else can really cause it, except maybe xvid/divx footage, but even that doesn't all the time, that will most likely just result in random absence in the footage replaced with black/red solids. my video preview still lags and i have over 1400mb of RAM, but even with 500 it never lagged that intensely.

maybe closing all other background operations you're using could help. also, you could try restarting your computer.

but no, switching to premiere or after effects won't have much of an alternate result. it will most likely remain to lag. (also, just to add: after effects is much different than sony vegas and adobe premiere. vegas and premiere are more meant for prime editing (like basic cuts, effects, etc.), and after effects is more useful for taking the renders from those two, and adding effects that aren't to simple to produce and finishing them off as a final export.)
User avatar
GH
 
Joined: 03 Jul 2007

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby carlyxjack » Sun May 09, 2010 3:07 am

the point is I rendered these videos in virtualdub as lagarith,so i expected these videos
to play better in sony vegas,but it wasn't
User avatar
carlyxjack
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2010

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby carlyxjack » Sun May 09, 2010 3:14 am

oh forgot to say^^i got only 2 layers in the video that i am making
,so it's really rare to get the video reacting slowly. Mostly sony vegas will do weird,
when it has many layers,right?
User avatar
carlyxjack
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2010

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby Enigma » Sun May 09, 2010 7:47 am

It probably means your PC is pretty bad....Since i run lagarith with pretty good speed.
User avatar
Enigma
That jolly ol' bastid
 
Joined: 07 Mar 2009
Location: California
Status: Free

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby NS » Sun May 09, 2010 8:13 pm

Yah, it's prolly just yer Comp. What are your specs? (Processor, RAM, etc...)
ImageImage
User avatar
NS
I like pants
 
Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Status: Pants

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby Nya-chan Production » Sun May 09, 2010 11:22 pm

The speed of your preview is based on few factors:

The size of your AMV (1280x720 will play slower than 848x480)
Your rig
Whether it's loaded into RAM (make a selection, press Shift + B)
Number of fades and effects showing at the moment

The thing is you need to balance these four out - aka, on bad rig with not preloaded video you can't expect 720p vid in Nikolakis style to play smoothly, OTOH on beast rig with loaded video full of straight cuts and no effects the normal speed is almost ensured ;x
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby carlyxjack » Mon May 10, 2010 8:08 am

i know that my ram preview is 500,is that bad?
User avatar
carlyxjack
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2010

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby Nya-chan Production » Mon May 10, 2010 9:31 am

500 what? Seconds, MB, potatoes?
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby Nya-chan Production » Mon May 10, 2010 9:31 am

500 what? Seconds, MB, potatoes?
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby Nya-chan Production » Mon May 10, 2010 9:31 am

500 what? Seconds, MB, potatoes?
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby Nya-chan Production » Mon May 10, 2010 9:31 am

500 what? Seconds, MB, potatoes?
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby carlyxjack » Mon May 10, 2010 9:50 am

potatoes? MB^^ it's always in mb,isn't?
User avatar
carlyxjack
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2010

Re: i got another problem?-_-

Postby Nya-chan Production » Mon May 10, 2010 9:56 am

Hmmm, your RAM is 500MB or Vegas takes 500MB?

Anyways - if you can try preloading, telling us your frame size or other stuff, it would be more useful. Also if you have low-end PC and the newest Vegas it might be worth a shot to switch to older version (like 78 or 7).
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Next

Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron