Masking with Vegas Movie Studio

For help and discussion concerning Magix's (formerly Sony's) Movie Studio and Vegas Pro editing software.
Dragonia101
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:17 pm
Org Profile

Masking with Vegas Movie Studio

Postby Dragonia101 » Mon Jan 01, 2007 6:59 pm

I have Vegas Movie Studio 7 and I was reading the Vegas Guide for Idiots guide but when I got to the masking part I couldn't find the mask tool. How can I mask with Vegas Movie Studio 7?

User avatar
Minion
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: orlando
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby Minion » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:15 pm

i could be wrong, but i think movie studio is a watered down version of vegas (premiere user)
KioAtWork: I'm so bored. I don't have class again for another half hour.
Minion: masturbate into someones desk and giggle about it for the remaining 28 minutes

Vandelay
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 7:39 pm
Org Profile

Postby Vandelay » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:21 pm

Yea, i think Minion's right. Looks like you might need the full version?

User avatar
Jayn_Newell
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 6:17 pm
Org Profile

Postby Jayn_Newell » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:35 pm

Minion is right. I remember someone saying not too long ago that masking is possible in VMS, but that it was done differently than in the full version. I can neither confirm of deny that though as I've never really looked into it.
<a href="http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members/members_videoinfo.php?v=112826">Image</a>
<a href="http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members/members_videoinfo.php?v=126460">Image</a>

User avatar
Krisqo
Cooking Oil
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 1:22 pm
Status: W.O.A (Waiting on Aion)
Location: Moderating the Adobe Forums
Org Profile

Postby Krisqo » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:44 pm

Jayn_Newell wrote:Minion is right. I remember someone saying not too long ago that masking is possible in VMS, but that it was done differently than in the full version. I can neither confirm of deny that though as I've never really looked into it.


You were probably thinking of <a href="http://www.animemusicvideos.org/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=74537">this</a>
It covers Movie Studio 6, but would be a good place to start your search.
Image

User avatar
Jayn_Newell
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 6:17 pm
Org Profile

Postby Jayn_Newell » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:08 pm

Actually, it was a different thread, but thanks for that link, I'd read that thread but missed the last couple posts. Reading the manual for me tends to be more confusing than helpful, so that wasn't really any help.
<a href="http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members/members_videoinfo.php?v=112826">Image</a>

<a href="http://www.animemusicvideos.org/members/members_videoinfo.php?v=126460">Image</a>

Dragonia101
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:17 pm
Org Profile

Postby Dragonia101 » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:48 pm

I can mask... but it won't show the checkbox for some reason

Dragonia101
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:17 pm
Org Profile

Postby Dragonia101 » Mon Jan 01, 2007 11:10 pm

I also forgot to mention it's the platinum version.

User avatar
sagarajack
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:34 am
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby sagarajack » Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:07 am

There are two kinds of mask, the you plot point one and the color masking one

You plot point---easy to understand, you draw the object and it gets masked

color masking --targets one color and takes it out
Image
KonoE Studio, I will not give good ops because you put in effort. Quality in terms of artistic touch is what I look for.

Dragonia101
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:17 pm
Org Profile

Postby Dragonia101 » Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:44 am

well I can't see the tool I use to plot point
and I know it's supposed to be there because it talks about it in the help thing

User avatar
sagarajack
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:34 am
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby sagarajack » Thu Jan 04, 2007 1:26 pm

it is built into the Pan/crop window, under position timeline, there is a unchecked mask timeline, select that one and on the left side of the window you will see the tools.
Image

KonoE Studio, I will not give good ops because you put in effort. Quality in terms of artistic touch is what I look for.

User avatar
Willen
Now in Hi-Def!
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 1:50 am
Status: Melancholy
Location: SOS-Dan HQ
Org Profile

Postby Willen » Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:28 am

Dragonia101 wrote:well I can't see the tool I use to plot point
and I know it's supposed to be there because it talks about it in the help thing

The help file is for all versions of Vegas: Full and Movie Studio versions (regular and Platinum). It's a giant tease, I tell you.

Krisqo linked a previous thread about this for masking with the Movie Studio versions (4 through 6, I don't know if they added the method of masking that the stickied guide talks about in version 7 of Movie Studio). Here it is again: http://www.animemusicvideos.org/phpBB/v ... hp?t=74537 . Since you have the Platinum version, I believe you have some SpiceMaster plugins available to you.
Having trouble playing back videos? I recommend: Image

Dragonia101
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:17 pm
Org Profile

Postby Dragonia101 » Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:45 pm

oh!
that cleared things up. now I have to wait till I get around $450 to upgrade to regular Vegas

User avatar
sagarajack
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:34 am
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby sagarajack » Fri Jan 05, 2007 9:48 pm

Do the masking in PS...frame by frame works better. Animating Masks accurately takes skills.
Image

KonoE Studio, I will not give good ops because you put in effort. Quality in terms of artistic touch is what I look for.

TaranT
Joined: Wed May 16, 2001 11:20 pm
Org Profile

Postby TaranT » Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:20 am

Dragonia101 wrote:oh!
that cleared things up. now I have to wait till I get around $450 to upgrade to regular Vegas

You don't *have* to spend that much. This deal appears to still be on.


Return to “Movie Studio & Vegas Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests