Sony Vegas won't import video

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

Sony Vegas won't import video

Postby Hagaren Viper » Fri Nov 10, 2006 2:36 pm

Over the last few days, WMM has been EXTREMELY frustrating, and I have decided to make the switch to Sony Vegas for good (y'no, unless I'm bored). But the thing is, when I try to import my DVD footage into Sony Vegas, it only imports the audio. I can import WMV, and if I convert the videos into HD-AVI using Windows Movie Maker, they will work inVegas. But WMM has become that unusable.

So, is there some setting I have not done right? Can someone help?
ImageImage
ImageImage
User avatar
Hagaren Viper
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Location: I dont wanna edit
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever

Postby Hagaren Viper » Fri Nov 10, 2006 2:39 pm

(Ack, I posted in the wrong board, sorry.)
ImageImage
ImageImage
User avatar
Hagaren Viper
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Location: I dont wanna edit
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever

Postby Scintilla » Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:49 pm

1. The term you're looking for is "DV AVI", not "HD AVI".

2. Since it's one of the first things to ask on all of these threads: What codec/format did you convert your DVD footage to before trying to get it into Vegas?
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:
User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Status: Quo

Postby Hagaren Viper » Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:11 pm

Eep. With all these HD video players popping up >___>

Anyway, I Xvid, through Auto Gourdian Knot. I thought I had DivX, but it won't let me convert to DivX, so whatever....
ImageImage
ImageImage
User avatar
Hagaren Viper
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Location: I dont wanna edit
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever

Postby Scintilla » Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:24 pm

<a href="http://www.amvwiki.org/index.php/DivX_Editing">Image</a>


God, I love these banners.
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:
User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Status: Quo

Postby Hagaren Viper » Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:26 pm

Well, there is my problem o.o

So, is there a way to convert my videos into....something else while retaining quality?
ImageImage
ImageImage
User avatar
Hagaren Viper
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Location: I dont wanna edit
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever

Postby Scintilla » Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:32 pm

The page I linked to describes two different solutions:

1) cut the clips you need and compress them with something lossless, such as HuffYUV or Lagarith (eats up HD space but offers faster editing)

or

2) serve the offending AVI files with AVISynth's <b>AVISource</b> command (slower editing but no big lossless clips taking up space).
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:
User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Status: Quo

Postby Hagaren Viper » Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:36 pm

Well, Doh. I didn't know that banner was a link, sorry ^^;

Thank you.
ImageImage
ImageImage
User avatar
Hagaren Viper
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Location: I dont wanna edit
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever

Postby Hagaren Viper » Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:05 pm

Ok, this should be the last question, but we'll see.

I'm confused where to place the HuffYUV .dll so AviSynth will reconize it. Looking at that link, seems like I need to make a new folder for it, but i figure I'll ask while I can.
ImageImage
ImageImage
User avatar
Hagaren Viper
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Location: I dont wanna edit
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever

Postby Scintilla » Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:14 pm

Hagaren Viper wrote:Ok, this should be the last question, but we'll see.

I'm confused where to place the HuffYUV .dll so AviSynth will reconize it. Looking at that link, seems like I need to make a new folder for it, but i figure I'll ask while I can.

When you unzipped the contents of the HuffYUV .ZIP file, there should have been a file called "huffyuv.inf". Right-click on that sucker in Windows Explorer and select "Install".
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:
User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
 
Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Status: Quo

Postby Kariudo » Mon Nov 13, 2006 7:45 pm

or if your computer doesn't have the "hide extensions for known file types" option un-checked (control panel-folder options-view)...just right-click one file after another until you see an "install" option on (or near) the top
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby Hagaren Viper » Tue Nov 14, 2006 8:19 pm

Alriiiiiiiiight, I think I have it down now. Thanks for your help, guys!
ImageImage
ImageImage
User avatar
Hagaren Viper
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Location: I dont wanna edit
Status: Just wanna play Persona 4Ever

Postby KWC10 » Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:33 am

you can put a Divx in vegas but if your runing vegas 6 it will have problems

annyway just get Divx pro and it will work

the only problem if your useing vegas 5 is that you lose the peaks on your audio file

but DONT HAVE XVID INSTALL VEGAS HATES IT

this is from an experience vegas user (me :P )
User avatar
KWC10
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2006
Location: Sydney Australia

Postby Kariudo » Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:37 am

you really shouldn't use divx or xvid files in any editing program (regradless if you can or cannot use the footage in that program).
probably the best example of what will happen eventually is in this thread

trust me (and scintilla) on this, there are many very good reasons why you shouldn't use divx/xvid footage. You don't want to loose hours of work because you were too lazy to convert your clips to a lossless codec
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!

Postby KWC10 » Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:50 am

Kariudo wrote:you really shouldn't use divx or xvid files in any editing program (regradless if you can or cannot use the footage in that program).
probably the best example of what will happen eventually is in this thread

trust me (and scintilla) on this, there are many very good reasons why you shouldn't use divx/xvid footage. You don't want to loose hours of work because you were too lazy to convert your clips to a lossless codec


that guy was useing Vegas 6 (i know the problem) vegas 5 handles Divx fine but you are right best to convert the footage 1st but for most begginers that can be kinda hard (took me a while to get it down) and plus most of us dont have the money to get the DVDs

it sucks useing fansubs ><
User avatar
KWC10
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2006
Location: Sydney Australia

Next

Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests