The Idiots Guide to Vegas

For help and discussion concerning Magix's (formerly Sony's) Movie Studio and Vegas Pro editing software.
victornyalita
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:40 pm
Org Profile

Postby victornyalita » Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:47 am

LivingFlame wrote:It's a custom mask that person created frame by frame. It's also quite shoddy looking...so try to make something that looks better than that. >_>


how exactly do i do that?? :o

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:23 pm

by reading the beginning of this thread :/

User avatar
AimoAio
Being elegantly...lazy
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Somewhere
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby AimoAio » Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:13 am

ok slight problem lol(again)

when I add a white flash(solid white media generator) it flashes all right but the clip the white flash is supposed to cover,has got its edges showing :\,it doesnt happen with the fade through white transition,but I cant use that cause the flash is too short for a transition.

any help?

Image
Image

Kevmaster
Eisenbahnmörser
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 12:20 pm
Org Profile

Postby Kevmaster » Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:14 am

you have the wrong project settings.

User avatar
AimoAio
Being elegantly...lazy
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Somewhere
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby AimoAio » Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:15 am

^? is that the settings you set at the start of the project?
Image

User avatar
AimoAio
Being elegantly...lazy
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Somewhere
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby AimoAio » Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:18 am

btw it looks totally fine in vegas,just pops up when I render and try to play the rendered .avi file in VLC media player
Image

Kevmaster
Eisenbahnmörser
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 12:20 pm
Org Profile

Postby Kevmaster » Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:29 am

squallxrinoa wrote:btw it looks totally fine in vegas,just pops up when I render and try to play the rendered .avi file in VLC media player


the media generator has to have the same settings as your actual project.

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:34 am

go to pan/crop and change the settings on it change the "stretch to fill" option to "yes"

User avatar
AimoAio
Being elegantly...lazy
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:19 pm
Location: Somewhere
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby AimoAio » Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:53 am

it was already set to fill frame :(

but I figured out how to fix it.lol I just selected

Stretch video to output frame size in the Render window and it works now,thanks for all the help though :)
Image

Zelenia
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Finland
Org Profile

Postby Zelenia » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:38 pm

I've a problem with psd-files:
http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p86/zelenia91/Vegas.jpg
http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p86/zelenia91/PhotoshopCS.jpg

How to fix that? :/ I tried to make edges less grainy in Photoshop without enough good results. That looks even worse aftter rendering so there's probably nothing wrong with the preview window...

victornyalita
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:40 pm
Org Profile

Postby victornyalita » Mon Jun 30, 2008 5:33 pm

I'm trying to do the effect where text/designs falls onto the screen one letter/design at a time.But i figure it out.

EXAMPLE: http://youtube.com/watch?v=Io1FIq41Xts (From 0:00 - 0:07)

User avatar
JaddziaDax
Crazy Cat Lady!
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:25 am
Status: I has a TRU Arceus
Location: somewhere i think O.o
Contact:
Org Profile

Postby JaddziaDax » Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:27 pm

Zelenia wrote:I've a problem with psd-files:
http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p86/zelenia91/Vegas.jpg
http://i126.photobucket.com/albums/p86/zelenia91/PhotoshopCS.jpg

How to fix that? :/ I tried to make edges less grainy in Photoshop without enough good results. That looks even worse aftter rendering so there's probably nothing wrong with the preview window...


you gotta cut out the white line around your images, why chroma out the background if you want it invisible? why not just have a transparent background?

victornyalita wrote:I'm trying to do the effect where text/designs falls onto the screen one letter/design at a time.But i figure it out.

EXAMPLE: http://boochsack.com/watch?v=Io1FIq41Xts (From 0:00 - 0:07)


that looks like it might have been done using several layers if they animated it by hand....

as far as i know most of the text "effects" in vegas are rather limited, however you can do something like that by using separate events for each letter... I'd probably recommend using photoshop over the media generators in Vegas though, seems a bit easier.

Zelenia
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Finland
Org Profile

Postby Zelenia » Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:36 am

JaddziaDax wrote:you gotta cut out the white line around your images, why chroma out the background if you want it invisible? why not just have a transparent background?


I don't know how to explain this... ;) Background is transparent, I just checked picture with the green background. Photoshop doesn't show any white lines, that's the strangest thing. Thanks for the help, I just figured out that masking works for them. :)

User avatar
Vivaldi
Polemic Apologist
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 9:39 am
Location: Petting mah cat..
Org Profile

Postby Vivaldi » Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:30 am

@zelenia:In PS, try to check your mask over several different colour backgrounds instead of only green. In this case, particulerly black, since that'll be what it's over in ther video. I recently found out (to my great chagrin) that what looks fine or at least very inperceptable on one background, can look horrible on another.

And I believe what jaddziadax was saying, was that there's no need to put it on a green background and then use colour keying in your editor to remove it, when you can just delete the background entirly in PS, and then it will just have a transparent background.
Image
Image
<Kenzichu> HAHAHA!!
<Kenzichu> everyone died!

Zelenia
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:25 pm
Location: Finland
Org Profile

Postby Zelenia » Tue Jul 01, 2008 2:19 pm

vivaldiscool wrote:In PS, try to check your mask over several different colour backgrounds instead of only green. In this case, particulerly black, since that'll be what it's over in ther video.


Tried that with several colors. There's something wrong with the psd... I made that same picture in Photoshop Elements with same settings and now it works perfectly in Vegas...

And I believe what jaddziadax was saying, was that there's no need to put it on a green background and then use colour keying in your editor to remove it, when you can just delete the background entirly in PS, and then it will just have a transparent background.

I guess I finally got it right. :) (still I wanted to try that, results were better with a color keying method than with a transparent background. Confusing...).

Sry about my misspelling... I'm really tired so it can't be helped. -.-


Return to “Movie Studio & Vegas Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests