Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

For help and discussion concerning the Sony Vegas software.

Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby Davis 51 » Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:45 pm

So Krigen is working on an AMV project using footage from "Memories" (Specifically Magentic Rose and Stink Bomb, though with this specific project, it seems source footage does not matter.)

She is editing with Vegas Pro 12 64-bit (Build 770).

Audio renders fine, but during scenes with no effects, when trying to render them, Vegas just outputs a black screen. Just to be sure it wasn't the sources, we tested this with Samurai Champloo and had the same problem. When we put Princess Tutu in there, it worked fine, but that was because the video was rendering at 848x480 and putting black bars on the sides, thus...recompression.

We also tried this on a different computer with similar results. Said second computer had no problem rendering other projects at 848x480. We also tried in Vegas 9 Movie Studio (the only other version of Vegas we have a license for), and said source footage worked fine.

Honestly, the project file seems to be the culprit, but we have no idea what to do to fix it. If you want screenshots, we can provide.

I should note that we are using UTVideo RGB VCM, 23.976 FPS. Aside from matching the resolution to the source, the settings are literally the same for every other project we've done.
Under The Box Productions is my studio.
My youtube page is: http://www.youtube.com/user/UnderTheBoxProduct
User avatar
Davis 51
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Status: Under The Box Productions

Re: Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby Nya-chan Production » Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:14 am

Davis 51 wrote:So Krigen is working on an AMV project using footage from "Memories" (Specifically Magentic Rose and Stink Bomb, though with this specific project, it seems source footage does not matter.)

She is editing with Vegas Pro 12 64-bit (Build 770).

Audio renders fine, but during scenes with no effects, when trying to render them, Vegas just outputs a black screen. Just to be sure it wasn't the sources, we tested this with Samurai Champloo and had the same problem. When we put Princess Tutu in there, it worked fine, but that was because the video was rendering at 848x480 and putting black bars on the sides, thus...recompression.

We also tried this on a different computer with similar results. Said second computer had no problem rendering other projects at 848x480. We also tried in Vegas 9 Movie Studio (the only other version of Vegas we have a license for), and said source footage worked fine.

Honestly, the project file seems to be the culprit, but we have no idea what to do to fix it. If you want screenshots, we can provide.

I should note that we are using UTVideo RGB VCM, 23.976 FPS. Aside from matching the resolution to the source, the settings are literally the same for every other project we've done.

How do you create the source? It might be some minor detail deviating from the source - I'd recommend checking up on the properties (I usually do that in MPC-HC, Shift + F10 while playing it)
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby Davis 51 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:02 pm

Rip from DVD/DGIndex/AVISynth Script/VirtualDub to create a UTVideo AVI. I'll post some properties momentarily.
Under The Box Productions is my studio.
My youtube page is: http://www.youtube.com/user/UnderTheBoxProduct
User avatar
Davis 51
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Status: Under The Box Productions

Re: Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby Krigen » Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:12 pm

Above the break is the source. And below is the render.

Code: Select all
General
Complete name                  : H:\AMV Files\Rips\Memories\MagneticRose.avi
Format                         : AVI
Format/Info                    : Audio Video Interleave
Format profile                 : OpenDML
File size                      : 21.4 GiB
Duration                       : 43mn 35s
Overall bit rate               : 70.3 Mbps
Writing library                : VirtualDub build 30091/release

Video
ID                             : 0
Format                         : RGB
Codec ID                       : ULRG
Codec ID/Info                  : Ut Video Lossless Codec
Codec ID/Hint                  : Ut Video
Duration                       : 43mn 35s
Bit rate                       : 70.3 Mbps
Width                          : 848 pixels
Height                         : 480 pixels
Display aspect ratio           : 16:9
Frame rate                     : 23.976 fps
Color space                    : RGB
Chroma subsampling             : 4:4:4
Bit depth                      : 8 bits
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)             : 7.205
Stream size                    : 21.4 GiB (100%)



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


General
Complete name                  : C:\Users\Bridget\Desktop\SpaceOddity.avi
Format                         : AVI
Format/Info                    : Audio Video Interleave
File size                      : 272 MiB
Duration                       : 45s 462ms
Overall bit rate               : 50.2 Mbps
TCOD                           : 0
TCDO                           : 454620833

Video
ID                             : 0
Format                         : RGB
Codec ID                       : ULRG
Codec ID/Info                  : Ut Video Lossless Codec
Codec ID/Hint                  : Ut Video
Duration                       : 45s 462ms
Bit rate                       : 48.6 Mbps
Width                          : 848 pixels
Height                         : 480 pixels
Display aspect ratio           : 16:9
Frame rate                     : 23.976 fps
Color space                    : RGB
Chroma subsampling             : 4:4:4
Bit depth                      : 8 bits
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)             : 4.979
Stream size                    : 263 MiB (97%)

Audio
ID                             : 1
Format                         : PCM
Format settings, Endianness    : Little
Format settings, Sign          : Signed
Codec ID                       : 1
Duration                       : 45s 462ms
Bit rate mode                  : Constant
Bit rate                       : 1 536 Kbps
Channel(s)                     : 2 channels
Sampling rate                  : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                      : 16 bits
Stream size                    : 8.32 MiB (3%)
Alignment                      : Aligned on interleaves
Interleave, duration           : 988 ms (23.70 video frames)

Krigen
 
Joined: 27 Nov 2010

Re: Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby M'o'l » Sun Sep 07, 2014 2:34 pm

Do those ut compressed files open i vdub? Maybe sv didnt catch utvideo as a codec, check if you can render stuff using it in vegas? Reinstall? Try lagarith D:
GO MAGIC CARP USE SPLASH ATTACK.
User avatar
M'o'l
Strawberry Pie
 
Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Status: Problem, Officer?

Re: Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby Krigen » Sun Sep 07, 2014 7:16 pm

VirtualDub crashes upon opening a "render".
The crash reason was "Access Violation". If there are any programming wonks here, we can post the stack trace, but we found it unhelpful.
Code: Select all
An out-of-bounds memory access (access violation) occurred in module 'utv_core'...
...reading address E07496DA...
...while decompressing video frame 0 (VideoSource.cpp:2155)...
...while using input buffer at 0074c8a0-0077decb (VideoSource.cpp:2154)...
...while using output buffer at 05293080-05420883 (VideoSource.cpp:2153).


Reinstall didn't work either. If we can't get it working, we'll try lagarith, but we'd still like to get UTVideo working.
Krigen
 
Joined: 27 Nov 2010

Re: Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby M'o'l » Mon Sep 08, 2014 9:45 am

Guess vid is damaged (it didnt render properly) or ut video codec is damaged :dino: Guess it has to be re*rendered Anyway just leaving this here http://lags.leetcode.net/codec.html
GO MAGIC CARP USE SPLASH ATTACK.
User avatar
M'o'l
Strawberry Pie
 
Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Status: Problem, Officer?

Re: Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby CrackTheSky » Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:11 pm

Assuming it's a UTVideo codec issue, just switch to Lagarith. Been using Lagarith as my lossless codec for 8 years now with Vegas and I've never had a problem. Re-encoding the affected files shouldn't take more than a few minutes.

Not to usurp the thread, but can anyone explain (in layman's terms, if possible) if there are any significant, obvious advantages to be had with UTVideo? I've always kind of assumed that as long as your NLE can accept Lagarith, HuffYUV, and UTVideo, there's no real reason to prefer one over the other, save perhaps filesize. But the AVTech guide suggests that UTVideo is faster. How is this quantified?
User avatar
CrackTheSky
Fancy Balls
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Status: Maybe editing?

Re: Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby Nya-chan Production » Tue Sep 16, 2014 2:36 am

CrackTheSky wrote:Assuming it's a UTVideo codec issue, just switch to Lagarith. Been using Lagarith as my lossless codec for 8 years now with Vegas and I've never had a problem. Re-encoding the affected files shouldn't take more than a few minutes.

Not to usurp the thread, but can anyone explain (in layman's terms, if possible) if there are any significant, obvious advantages to be had with UTVideo? I've always kind of assumed that as long as your NLE can accept Lagarith, HuffYUV, and UTVideo, there's no real reason to prefer one over the other, save perhaps filesize. But the AVTech guide suggests that UTVideo is faster. How is this quantified?

Might want to ask mirkosp for technical details, but generally speaking, you measure how fast you make a render of a same/similar quality on a single PC. I think it renders and decodes faster, so you can produce it and play it in media player easier.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nya-chan Production
The :< point of view
 
Joined: 15 Nov 2006
Location: Ward 7F
Status: White bracelet

Re: Vegas not rendering "No Recompression Required" Footage

Postby HalOfBorg » Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:12 am

I've had Vegas do the 'render black' thing when I've had several tracks being rendered at once. Had to render a couple as a background then add the upper ones in to that. Don't know if switching to lagarith would have helped.
Help HalOfBorg fight his cancer - http://www.gofundme.com/21ygdk

ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
User avatar
HalOfBorg
 
Joined: 14 May 2008


Return to Sony Vegas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest