Sony Vegas Where should I start?

For help and discussion concerning Magix's (formerly Sony's) Movie Studio and Vegas Pro editing software.
FlamingMangos
Org Profile

Post by FlamingMangos » Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:34 pm

I'm a complete newb when using sony vegas but i want to start making my own effects and transitions for my amvs. Where should I start?

pacotacoshell
Org Profile

Re: Sony Vegas Where should I start?

Post by pacotacoshell » Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:38 pm

What I did when I started editing was I just messed around with it for a few days and figure out what does what. Google can also help you with cool shortcuts, like the S key splitting one clip into two and so on.

And obviously, obtain anime to edit with :P

Radical_Yue
Org Profile

Post by Radical_Yue » Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:27 pm

http://www.animemusicvideos.org/forum/v ... 64#p838864

^ That helped me a lot with the basic functions of Vegas. It's old but it still applies :3

tipsd9video
Org Profile

Post by tipsd9video » Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:45 pm

When I first got Vegas I just played around with it for a while. If you want to start making effects and transitions, I'd practice masking and explore what different settings and effects look like.
youtube accounts:
tipsd9video for animations and AMVs
animefxnstuff for live action videos

TEKnician
Org Profile

Post by TEKnician » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:11 pm

pacotacoshell wrote:What I did when I started editing was I just messed around with it for a few days and figure out what does what. Google can also help you with cool shortcuts, like the S key splitting one clip into two and so on.

And obviously, obtain anime to edit with :P
Even though I'm a Mac, learning principles are similar. Find a tool and continuously use it on stock footage to burn it into muscle memory.